We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
367
237
49
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
237
49
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roommain buildingsmall chapelrooms builtreal castlehotel catcastle hotelbreakfast roomperiod furnitureno elevatorblue tilesthe rivermarques metro stationdesk clerkminute walkmodern bathroominteresting hotel
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This unusual hotel was an oasis of peace set in lovely gardens and yet was well located as a base to see the city. The hotel staff were friendly, kept the place immaculately clean and the breakfast was lovely, with nice fresh bread, cheese, ham etc. The room we stayed for 3 nights in was near the top of the hotel and was quite small but with a beautiful traditional Portuguese tiled bathroom and doors that opened out onto a small balcony with fantastic views. Great on a hot night to sleep safely with the doors open and the fresh air blowing in although you do need to be reasonably fit to get up there! This isn't the place to stay if you want the Holiday Inn type of facilities - the rooms are quirky due to the style of building but this is part of what makes it so special. The other 2 in our party had a garden room which they loved - it was bigger than our room and in a nice setting but they had to use the air conditioning so it was swings and roundabouts as to which room was best. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes somewhere a bit different. Also there was free parking there which is a bonus on a city break. Porto is a great city and we thoroughly enjoyed out time there. If they put a swimming pool in the gardens, we would gladly spend the full week there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed in the Tower Suite which has fantastic views over the city. Be aware that there are four flights of stairs to climb up to the room. The room was comfortable, with 2 spare single beds, which would have been more useful as a sofa and table, as there were only 2 of us staying in the room. The breakfast in the hotel is great and the hotel is located near to a tube station. Porto's city centre is about a 15 minute walk. The area around the hotel is somewhat run down, though you do feel like you are in a gated development when you enter the castelo. The staff are very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here in early June with a 7 month old baby. We had a garden room and it was surprisingly spacious and led out onto the garden, which was perfect. The hotel even provided us with a cot. A couple of comments have been made here about the shower but we didn't have a problem with ours and it worked well. The bed was so hard though that I couldn't sleep very well and I love firm beds! The Castelo was in a great location and it was wonderful to be able to park there for free. I didn't find the return walk from the city centre that steep, even with a pram to push. The breakky wasn't great but the dining room was quaint! Overall, I thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oztravellersBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary, this hotel is the right pick for you! It is a castle like building with different terraces surrounding it.
A 10 min walk to the city center, this hotel offers cozy rooms with old furniture.
There are two parts of the hotel, one main building and a building what might have been the servants quarter. These rooms are quite small, so try to snatch one in the main building.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here in Porto for one night on May 31. We had excellent driving directions and found the hotel easily. It was a nice warm day in Porto and the grounds of this castle were shaded and charming. It was more of a historical house or mansion, than a castle. The hotel is set off the street just a bit and up a little hill. There was plenty of parking for guests. We were charmed by the room and its character. Our room was located in the main house. The bathroom was covered in beautiful azulejos and it was large and bright, if a bit dingy. There was a TV but the bed was a bit uncomfortable and there was no AC. By the time we went to bed, it had become so hot and muggy in our room. There was a large window we opened, but no screen, and the flies are abundant in Portugal!! I overheard someone else complaining of this same thing to the front desk. So it was hard to fall asleep in this room, if we had been staying there more than one night, I would have asked if there was a newer room (in the annex) that had AC. Great location and beautiful, but I just couldn't handle the heat or flies.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amstaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews