We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - friendly courteous staff - well managed”
Review of HF Ipanema Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HF Ipanema Porto
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here for a conference in July - it is a great hotel. Very clean and well run.

Only constructive observation would be their in-house phone system was poor. (Very small inconvenience overall.)

If you are a jogger you are not far from the waterfront where you can go for a nice run...just be warned it is a steep pitch to get down and back...so save some energy for the return! :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter-harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Well manicured, stylish hotel in the middle of town. I stayed for just a night but I thought the service was great and enjoyed the free glass of Port on arrival. The lush breakfast spread is really wonderful and eliminates the need for lunch!

Room Tip: I booked it online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaleExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

we were part of a pilgrimmage tour that had us touring through Portugal and Spain. Our first two nights of our journey began in Porto and we stayed at this Hotel May 23 and 24th, 2011.

Rooms were very clean, and quiet.
Breakfasts were good, with hot and cold selections.

The location is good, and we took a walk to the local cemetery one day. Amazing to see the monuments erected to those who have gone on.

I have no complaints for the staff or service. There was also free internet in the lobby which I found a plus. the only thing is we had trouble with the keyboard finding the @ sign lol... but we did ok.

Be sure to take a Port wine tour and a mini Douro cruise.. just amazing!

Room Tip: email the hotel ahead for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustysheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Just a bit too far for walking to the centre, but good access from the airport. Modern business hotel with good, spacious rooms. Breakfast and lunch have a quite good and tasteful selection. Bar service on the terrace (that is also at a quite busy street) is a bit slow. Personel very helpful, so no worries at all. Facilities for meetings good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I really have not enjoyed this hotel. It looked worn out and needs renovation. The room was clean, but small and not cozy, looking like those ones from Holliday Inn chain. Customer service is not very good too. They messed up with my workmate reservation (made 4 months in advance) and took forever to solve the problem. I requested non-smoking room and one king size bed and I end-up in a room with two twins and smoking one. There is no great view from any window and the hotel is far way from the touristic hot spots. Last, but not least, in a city known for its amazing food and generous and delicious breakfast, the buffet here really disappoints, full of not fresh and greasy stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marta_martins, Quality & Custumer Relationship at HF Ipanema Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2009

Dear customer,
Thanks for your opinion.
We would like to clarify that we have different kind of rooms and the one you stayed in was probably the standard room. Although, you can always choose a smoking room and a king size bed, but you need to check the type of room, because this requests are not available in the standard rooms.

Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We went for the top level suite and what a let down. FIrstly, we were adamant about non-smoking as I have severe allergies and despite non-smoking floors and four emails back and forth we had a smoking room with ashtrays everywhere. They let us try two other rooms all smoking rooms and just as bad. The carpets were worn and the room could use a good update and thorough cleaning. The space online appeared much bigger than in real life
On the plus it was well located, excellent restaurant and large comfortable beds. EVERYTHING was a charge. They said free Wi Fi but it is not in your room. So you need to lug your computer down to the noisy busy bar to use it. You can not even make 800 calls from your room without a charge. They say parking available for about 30 spaces of 218 rooms and then no one to help with your bags. When we got hit with a $15 parking charge (no advised as such) that was the kicker.
The 10th floor view was of deteriorated roof tops and there was puddles of water in the hall. Two elevators with a capacity of 5 people for 218 rooms.
The other hotels in the chain look much more upscale. For a one night business meeting this might be fine but I would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The friendly and helpful recpetion staff are the best asset of this hotel, though there is no tourist information to speak of available in the lobby. The room was clean and pleasant, but no tea/coffee making facilities and the air-con. didn't work properly, even after maintenance had been. Breakfast was plentiful and varied but the coffee was TERRIBLE - a machine. There were no leisure facilites at all and the only available computer was at a rate of one continuous hour for 5€. There was car-parking (9€ per day) but it was not reservable in advance, so very hit and miss for your arrival day. We emailed the hotel THREE times to ask about car parking before we eventually got a reply.
The hotel is a good 45 minute walk from the centre of Porto. There are buses, but we waited 20 minutes and when a bus arrived, it was full.
I imagine this hotel is OK for business travellers, but not recommended for tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliceCatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#25 of 108 in Porto
1,134 reviews
1.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Porto

Address: Rua do Campo Alegre, 156/172, Porto 4150-169, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Porto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Business Hotel in Porto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Ipanema Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is a hotel that matches the city.Like Oporto, this hotel has history and tradition and, like the city, it's renewed, modern and exciting.Just a short walk away, Campo Alegre is home to Casa da Música, the main Museums in the city and the margin of the River Douro. Oporto's modern public transportation network is just steps away from the reception. Alternatively, you may choose to take a ride on the historical tram or using the rental bikes in the hotel.In business or leisure, a day in the city can be very tiring. At the HF Ipanema Porto you are guaranteed to have a relaxing and comfortable place to rest after a long day, with the best you can expect from a 4 star hotel.Families will always receive special treatment, with rooms especially designed to welcome them, including all the comfort and entertainment young children and teenagers could hope for. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.If it's fine cuisine that you're looking for, Rio’s is the best restaurant to taste the traditional Oporto dishes.The HF Ipanema Porto is one of those hotels that people keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HF Ipanema Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Ipanema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing