We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, helpful staff, good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HF Ipanema Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HF Ipanema Porto
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, helpful staff, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed at HF Ipanema Porto for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rooms are spacious and well-decorated, staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the restaurant serves very good food at moderate prices. The buffet is a different story but acceptable nonetheless.

We also made use of their events facilities and that was arranged exactly as we needed as well.

An excellent experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    400
    94
    16
    9
See reviews for
186
243
23
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The services: The staff are the real plus here, every one of them helpful and friendly: the sign of a well-managed hotel. Reception provided maps and information very patiently. Bar and breakfast staff were helpful (though we weren't best pleased to be offered Omega 3 when we asked for unsalted butter; in fact the quality of the breakfast wasn't top - reconstituted juices, coffee drips in the tea, self-service but no trays available...). One thing we really appreciated was the tea and coffee provided in reception before a 4.30 am shuttle to the airport. Nice touch, thanks!

The room: Daily cleaning is efficient and checked on, the room was a nice size and the bed was lovely and comfy. But the bathroom, although clean, really needed refurbishment (blackened grouting/sealant, badly-placed loo-roll holder, shower curtain rather than screen...).

For business: It must be a business hotel as there are conference facilities. But the WiFi on the second floor was quite simply unacceptable, even outside of the conference hours. And the room safe in a business hotel really has to be laptop-sized.

For tourism: It is a long way to the centre, and a fair walk to the nearest metro. Still, there are buses literally outside (get a 24-hour ticket for all of Porto's public transport from Casa de Musica), some nice restaurants within metres, and a big local shopping centre. So it isn't necessarily a problem for those spending the whole day away from the hotel. I doubt that it's a very suitable base for families with young children, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I was happy with the hotel and the nice service. Unfortunately, the WiFi was really bad, and at least in 6th floor working was in practice impossible. Really bad, as I need the net a lot for my work. A bit long way from center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jussi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A good hotel in the commercial area so not ideal for tourists wishing to walk. That said, the hop on hop off buses pass by the hotel and they are reasonably priced. We bought a 48 ticket for 22 euros which included a boat trip on the Douro and a guided tour round a port cave. Breakfast was plentiful and with a good variety. Our air-conditionibg didn't seem to do anything and with the windows open there was a lot of traffic noise and shouting from the school opposite. Rooms clean and free wi-fi worked very well. Impersonal and front desk not really interested in answering tourist queries. A few minutes walk from Casa de Musica and indoor shopping centre. 10 mins walk from Crystal Palace park with good views of the Douro.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chirpchinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located about 25 minute walk from downtown, where most touristic attractions are. Subway station is not close either so you must take a cab or bus if you don't want to walk. Nice front desk personnel, average breakfast and bar, lots of tourist groups, which made getting breakfast food a bit challenging as the tourists were quite pushy, cleaning dishes which were not replaced quickly. Hotel does not offer a place to print boarding passes. Room was of a good size for European standards, bed was comfortable, bath amenities were average to poor, cleanliness was not a problem. Lots of conferences at the hotel as well. In summary, an ok hotel away from touristic attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatoColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Can't ask for more from a city center hotel.
Perfect for business trips and well situated
Clean, modern and quiet enough for a good night sleep.
Good size rooms and bathroom. LCD TV and free WiFi.
Good breakfast.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NunoGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It has parking on site. The location is good, as it is a lovely walk down to the river, through the old area of Porto, the cobbled streets and the Ribero houses. On arrival, we were given an upgrade to a suite, which was a lovely. My one criticism would be the bar, the service on a Saturday night was sooo slow. There was no staff, we asked at reception, we actually went outside, walked round the block to find a pub, but eventually came back to the hotel, and still no staff! The reception staff are all lovely, very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: No view from any of the rooms, city centre hotel. Was noisy, but to be expected, as on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#31 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#45 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#37 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eurostars Heroismo
Eurostars Heroismo
#10 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Porto

Property: HF Ipanema Porto
Address: Rua do Campo Alegre, 156/172, Porto 4150-169, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#23 Business Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Ipanema Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is a hotel that matches the city.Like Oporto, this hotel has history and tradition and, like the city, it's renewed, modern and exciting.Just a short walk away, Campo Alegre is home to Casa da Música, the main Museums in the city and the margin of the River Douro. Oporto's modern public transportation network is just steps away from the reception. Alternatively, you may choose to take a ride on the historical tram or using the rental bikes in the hotel.In business or leisure, a day in the city can be very tiring. At the HF Ipanema Porto you are guaranteed to have a relaxing and comfortable place to rest after a long day, with the best you can expect from a 4 star hotel.Families will always receive special treatment, with rooms especially designed to welcome them, including all the comfort and entertainment young children and teenagers could hope for. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.If it's fine cuisine that you're looking for, Rio’s is the best restaurant to taste the traditional Oporto dishes.The HF Ipanema Porto is one of those hotels that people keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your HF Ipanema Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Ipanema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing