We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Hotel Do Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel location is great, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast has a lot of variety. At first, the room that was destined to us was not very good, and the staff changed it twice until it was at our pleasure. The staff alwyas gave us good tips of restaurants and where to get everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriscaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    591
    205
    39
    19
See reviews for
254
582
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel was far better than we expected for the money. Public rooms were beautifully furnished in traditional style. Reception staff were very helpful and cheerful. Our room was very large, even with three beds in it. Staff adjusted the air conditioning each day. Bathroom was compact but ok. Only downside was slight smell of drains from the washbasin. Not unexpected in the historic quarter. Hotel was conveniently situated to reach all sights/places and close to the metro for easy airport access. Breakfast was buffet style with lts to chose from, hot and cold food with lovely pastries, plenty of fresh fruit and juices. All excellent. We would definitely return again and recommend it unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We enjoyed very much our stay in this hotel. The suite was fantastic, the hotel recently renovated with a very charming athmosphere and we were very close to the centre and to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro13Marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very beautiful hotel (hall bar sitting rooms restaurant - ground floor)
Location --> perfect
Breakfast --> perfect
Service --> perfect
Rate --> perfect
Buffet dinner --> perfect
Room 312--> simple, clean comfortable but it needs some fixing: cracked washbasin, faded yellow damp patches on the ceilling, broken safe, the key/card worked badly. Flat screen tv with programs in many languages. Minibar and toiletries OK.
We got special offer with Douro boat trip 50 min --> OK and water/fruit in room at the place of cellar visit (they forgot to provide).
Small nice gym room and nice roof terrace.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Hotel easy to find. Metro from airport(2euro) Get off at "Bolhao" stop. Come out the station and walk down hill(Rue Do Santa Caterina) not even 5 mins and you are at the hotel. Keep your metro(Adante) ticket as this can be re charged again and again saving you 50 cents and used on other public transport including the funicular during your stay.
Hotel frontage small and easily missed but is next to L'Occitane shop on RHS if you are heading down hill.
Location excellent for sight seeing. Bolhao market nearby was interesting. and was an easy walk to the finicular if you are feeling lazy.
Our room was on floor 3 was small and basically furnished. But was reasonably comfy and had air con. Was fairly clean with brown decoration. I think these may have been the budget rooms but we only paid £61 night.
Breakfast was good and served in the grand old dining room. The bar area comfy and nicely furnished as was the lounge. Bar prices and selection was reasonable. Staff at all times helpful and friendly.
Nice roof terrace.
Almost opposite is Cafe Majestic. In my opinion totally overpriced and pompus. On paying the bill the staff did not even bother to return with the change. I would say avoid there are plenty of other decent cafes in Porto that deserve your business and will not treat you with contempt.

Room Tip: Pay more and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Loskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Perfect Hotel in the best area.
Friendly reception.
Wonderful breakfast.
Suite 200 was were we stayed at.
Porto was such memorable city, being able to stay at a wonderful hotel made it even better. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all_all_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel was in a great location but not so easy to find. It was handy to be able to get the bus from the airport (although the metro would have been easier as we learnt when we returned to the airport by metro!) The ambience was complimented by the gorgeous stylish decor which felt like a tasteful trip back in time with rich carpets, luxury sofas and dimmed lighting.
The staff were very professional and helpful. Our room was comfortable (for 3 of us) and the buffet breakfast selection was superb.
No complaints whatsoever aside from the little matter of our room key not always working!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank bobbysgirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#24 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing