We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... but rather uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location... but rather uncomfortable”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Other reviews are generally spot on in their assessment of this place: nice façade & lobby with good access to the metro, but very small rooms and limited breakfast selection. The hotel does not offer complimentary wifi internet access, which is a serious oversight. The spectacle of guests crouched over a single internet terminal in the lobby is unseemly. Frankly, travelers can probably find an equivalent option that offers free internet and more comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    624
    212
    40
    20
See reviews for
267
614
57
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and the key draw-cards of this hotel are its great central location in Baixa, proximity to the metro, and its beautifully refurbished common areas on the ground floor. The lobby area and the Windsor Bar have been lovingly restored in dark, luxurious fabrics giving it a plush atmosphere, perfect for a nightcap after dining out in Porto. Our room was small but clean and tidy - a bit noisy at night as the walls were paper thin. The service was friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant one night as it was a public holiday and everything else was closed. The food was okay but the dining room seemed under-staffed. We opted for a bakery around the corner for breakfast rather than eating in. Overall, reasonable value and location makes it a good choice for those staying for a few days in Porto for sightseeing, sampling cafes and shopping in the old town.

Room Tip: Would aim for a room on one of the upper floors, not the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DTLC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights during a recent visit to Porto. We came as tourists, and arrived at the airport outside of town. It was a quick and easy train ride from the airport to a station within a block of the hotel, and we were grateful for the accessibility given Porto's hills and our luggage load.

The hotel, like much of Porto, has a beautiful facade and an interior in need of updating. Our room was nothing special, but it was perfectly adequate, reasonably priced, and came with an elegant breakfast in the hotel's magnificent dining room. We slept late, ate a slow breakfast, and walked out of the hotel into the heart of one of Porto's pedestrian districts. The absence of cars around the hotel makes it feel like a hidden gem.

We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go from the hotel, and if I could do it all over again, I would choose the same hotel. I'd also recommend seeking out a nightcap of tawny port in the hotel bar, where the bartenders are kind, helpful, and fun to talk with.

Room Tip: I'd request a room towards the back. The hallways are wide, and it would be annoying to be in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we stayed two nights in the hotel in 2012. the hotel has 3 stars, but even has small gym (four mashines, but you ll be able to go for a run). Breakfast was very limited, but settings of the hotel is very "noble". Staff at reception was helpful and friendly. Location is convenient for a city visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

hi, we stayed here for a weekend. we got a cheep rate for eur 70 per night for 2, including breakfast. the hotel is good located and easy to reach. the rooms in this rate a very small, but sufficient and clean. there is a view from the room to the next wall. but it was quiet. service was nice and breakfast ok.
keep in mind that there are only a few restaurants and bars close by, but within 10-15 minutes, you will find plenty.
we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: we had the lowest rate and therefore a very small room. but it was ok. just don't expect any vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexley park
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A very comfortable hotel in an excellent location ,First floor of the hotel is like stepping back in time ,what a great ambience we all loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millwallBexleyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

TripAdvisor reviews and photos helped me to choose the Grande Hotel do Porto to a 3-day touristic stay (16th-19th February 2012). Through the hotel website, I booked a Romantic Package to me and my wife, that included free upgrade to a suite, a bottle of spakling wine and chocolates in the room, 5 O´Clock tea (tea and scones with jam and butter). A neighbor classic room was booked to my two daughters. Breakfast was included in the rate of the two rooms.
Guilhermina Suggia suite was outstanding: tastefully decorated, with a mix of antique furnitures and modern facilities, very spacious. Bed was comfy. Marble coated bathroom was well equipped. The classic room was also stylish and comfortable.
The rooms faced a bystreet that goes to Rua de Santa Catarina, the pedestrian-only street where the hotel entrance is located. We nev er heard noises from the hotel outer side, but the internal wooden floor, whit its somewhat loose boards, both in the rooms and at the common hallway, although carpeted, caused noisy creaks every time one walked on it. Fortunately, it seemed that there are few rooms on that sector of the 1st floor, so that hallway noises were very infrequent and they didn't bothered us very much.
Ground floor public areas have a particular atmosphere that is very rare in moderately priced hotels. TripAdvisor photos offers an idea of what I am saying and is difficult to express in words.
Buffet breakfast was OK, with lots of options, but fresh fruits choices were few. We didn't tried the 5 O´Clock tea, because we were not in the Hotel at 5 O´clock. We had a dinner in the hotel restaurant (named Pedro II in honour of the former emperor of Brazil, who refuged whit the royal family and entourage in the Grande Hotel do Porto after the fall of the Monarchy in Brazil, in the end of XIX century). The food was very good and reasonably priced, besides served in very nice modern tableware.There are also some other worthwhie restaurants nearby. I strongly recommend "Abadia do Porto", 1 block behind Grande Hotel do Porto.
Desk staff is very polite and professional. Hotel personnel as a whole is very welcoming.
Hotel location is convenient, as well: a pedestrian street in the Porto historical center with lots of shops, near the Bolhao metro station and near various touristic attractions.
It was an unforgetable stay and I indeed would stay again in Grande Hotel do Porto.

Room Tip: Suites in the 1st floor are very very glamourous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 106 in Porto
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#26 of 106 in Porto
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 106 in Porto
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing