We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Nice and cosy old hotel. Lobby, living rooms, stairs and the ceiling at the top of the stairs deserve special attention.
Standard rooms at the top floor are quiet, simple, not very large, but large enough.
Very well located for shopping and visiting all possible Oporto's monuments.
Near the subway - Bolhão -, which take you from airport, or Campanhã railway station, and also gets you to Casa da Música, for instance. Bus almost by the door. No need for car or taxi at all.
Five minutes walk to the Guidais elevator (€ 2,80, if you didn't get a "Andante card" before) which gets you in less than three minuts to Cais da Ribeira - the amazing nearby Douro river zone.
I just would have apreciate not to have to ask for my towels not to be exchanged, since I put them where we were told to, if we didn´t want them to be exchanged (it would be a good practice not just for this hotel, anyway).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomana2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We deeply enjoyed the Grande Hotel and its past century athmosphere. We arrived late at night due to the delay of our flight, we were given a standard room, which we wanted to change the day after because our luggage was too big. The hotel staff agreed and upgraded us to a beautiful and large room with our private lobby overlooking Rua S.ta Catalina, which we loved because it looked like old days ones. The breakfast was good and plentiful in a magnificent mirrored hall, we could't keep to pick the fig jam again and again from large jars. We loved our stay and the staff,we would love them to know we appreciated their place and their dedication.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great location for looking around this beautiful city and shopping. Staff were excellent, beds comfortable. Wait staff in the restaurant and bar, very professional and attentive. Lounge and bar areas wonderfully quiet for a read or drink. Wifi very disappointing, you pay top $$ for inconsistent service. Can't get connection in the rooms, everyone stands out in the coridoor to connect, quite funny really. No irons, no safe and no tea/coffe making facilities. They extract maximum $ for basic services that are provided for free elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingfoodie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My first trip to Porto for a business meeting.
The hotel was centrally located and very close to the shops, cafes, bars and restaurants.
The rooms were a little dark but had good bathrooms and were very clean.
The restaurant served a good buffet style breakfast and lunch.
The conference room we used was spacious but a little lacking in natural light.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

First time in Porto I found this hotel very inspiring and atmospherical....Part of the history of the city itself while at the same time -through the way its been rennovated and run- it gives you an authentic insight of the modern city: straightforward, energetic, with a tradition in modernistic design and architecture. Staying there was pleasant in all aspects, educating and inspiring.Prices were fair, location was perfect too...Left with a strong desire to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived, so our room was big and had a wonderful view and balconies onto the pedestrian shopping street below. The hotel itself is really lovely and thoughtfully renovated. Our room was simple and chic, and perfectly clean. The beds and chairs were a bit uncomfortable, but we didn't spend much time there so it wasn't such a big deal.

During the daytime, we were really happy with our location. The street is filled with shops, of both the original and the chain variety, and just down the block from many cafes which are great spots for people watching. Walking down to the old town area is easy, the Ribeira is just 5-10 minutes on foot, but if you prefer you can take the Metro which is just a block from the hotel.

During the nighttime, we felt that it got a little sketchy-- and this is coming from two city folk! We had a group of young guys shouting comments at us from the curb, and I was happy when we made it inside the building. Also on the downside, there was no free wifi-- a strange thing for a city hotel nowadays!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great location, fine breakfst.
Rooms are OK (just ok...).
Very good value for money.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ralph039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#50 of 111 in Porto
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Porto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £49 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing