We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in beautiful Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Classic hotel in beautiful Porto”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in standard double room. Basic room with all standard amenities like TV, bathroom, safe was not working, wifi, acceptable bed. Unfortunately on street level so at night sometimes noisy and no view. Hotel is beautiful and recently redecorated as I was told. Very nice interior combination of historical and modern. Good bar en restaurant. Service was good and very friendly. Location excellent. Buffet breakfat included and fine with good choice. Price was excellent. Porto is a magnificent destination hihgly recommended. Will come backt ot this hotel without hesitation bit next time superior room.

Room Tip: Choose superior rooms on higher floors because of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    647
    221
    43
    22
See reviews for
279
643
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Part of a two centre holiday with two friends and wives. All staff were friendly and very helpful, with reception staff always willing to give advice and support. Breakfast good quality and a fine start to the day. Rooms for all were comfortable, with size adequate for our needs.
Only irritant was the fixed coat hangers making hanging some clothes more difficult than needed.

Room Tip: Our friends had a corner suite with terrace, enabling us to join them for a quiet review of our day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The young barman on duty when I was there (4th and 5th Sept) was particularly helpful with very good english. Ask them for good restaurants in the area as they recommended two for me which were terrific.

Room Tip: Room was a bit small, might be worth paying more for a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hôtel is situated at 300m from the metro station and lies in the center of thé city close to all touristical and shopping attractions. Rooms are well decorated and nice set up of hotel. Breakfast very good. Service was delightfull.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We visited 9 years ago, then finding it by car in the pre sat nav days was not easy in the one way, restricted access. This time the 3-minute walk from the metro, down the same street was a joy. Also at a little over 2 euros from the airport, what a bargain!
The hotel retains the same great style in the public areas; very good if you need to meet up with others in the city. Our room was modern and motel like, clean and servicable. We found the staff very helpfull and informative on all aspects of local life, including the wine!
The restaurant has a limited menu but for a short stay we found it fine. The price of the meal and the wine was very reasonable, we ate here several times as we did not find many restaurants in the area; bars many but few restaurants.
The hotel is a very odd mixture of the old elegant ( and sometimes slightly faded) together with the modern. This is a metaphor for much of Portugal. The locals live with the contrasts without discomfort as do I. This is not a sterile concrete hotel, neither is the city; both are a joy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jönköping
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I chose this hotel because of location and how it marketed itself on the Internet. I stayed for three nights and made a good choice in terms of location but a rather disappointing choice in terms of comfort and the anticipation that the hotel's marketing led you to believe. In fact, I would go so far as to say that while I loved Porto, I would not want to be a guest in this hotel again. The building and its interior on the entrance floor is actually quite grand; very end-of-last-century with dark colours and a heavy decor, oak and lots of ornate decoration. So far it lived up to its marketing. When however I found my room on the third floor, I was shocked. Gone was ornate decorations, gone the oak and gone were the colours. I face a long dormitory corridor in brown and white, with faint pong of sewage. My room looked like a prison cell. It was very claustrophobic. I somehow imagined that this is what it is like to live inside a chocolate bonbon. The window barely reachable for someone short, and the beds were very hard. However, worst of all was the fact that I was awakened the third night at 02.00 by my room being completely filled with fumes. The stench from smoke coming from the ventilation was so overpowering I was convinced the hotel was on fire. To make sure, I looked around thoroughly before taking any action. The fumes only came from the ventilation and disappeared after a few minutes, but infested my room which was not breathable for another hour having managed to pry open the window. My conclusion was that it was entirely caused by a chimney exhaust just outside - which I find quite inexcusable, particularly since I specially asked for a smoke free room because of astma. Also, the rooms are anything but sound proof. If your neighbour is conversing or packing their bags you will be part of it

Note however that the hotel is divided into two sections. I would guess that the older section has at least some of the charm that its marketing promises, but the newer section has no charm whatsoever. I also did not know of this and had no option choose.

The breakfast buffet was quite agreeable, however, and I did try the lunch menu once but did not return to have lunch there again a second time. The memory of the ice cold vegetable soup unfortunately lingers still.

In all, I think this a very mediocre hotel whose marketing is quite misleading. If location, some discomfort and adventure are your friends, this is perhaps a hotel for you. But for anyone else I'd recommend another accomodation. When I come back to Porto, I will certainly look for another hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to pick this hotel make sure you get a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FluffyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a very good choice for anyone wanting to stay in the city. Right in the middle of the main shopping street, close to attractions such as the Cathedral, yet a straightforward stroll down to the Douro. Might be a good idea to get the Funicular back up the hill, for less than 2 Euros, particularly if you have lunched by the river! Talking of food, the excellent Albadia is a stone's throw behind the hotel - see separate reviews. Staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and with good English. As other reviews have mentioned, the public rooms are sumptuous, like a mini Ritz. Bedrooms were a pleasant surprise, being modern,  clean and spacious. Essentially the Grande de Porto offers a very good combination of olde world elegance and modern convenience, at a good value price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthseaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.5 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 108 in Porto
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#43 of 108 in Porto
943 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing