We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,481)
Filter reviews
1,481 results
Traveller rating
462
709
238
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
709
238
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindsor barpublic roomsthe ground floormajestic cafepedestrian streetclassic hotelbolhao metro stationrua de santa catarinamain shoppingmini barlovely hotelcentral locationrooms are smallstandard roomthe riverroof terracefirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 1,481 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Took my 13 year old son for the first time in 18 months he really loves the place, normal high standards, very clean, the staff are biggest asset, always friendly and helpful. food is very good..... the hotel is one of the reasons I go to Porto 4 to 5 times a year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel and its decor are quite dated and tired, not "Grande" as the hotel's name suggests and as many others have suggested in their reviews. Internet access was 10 Euros/day extra. Even the in-room safe, no larger than a small shoebox, was 3 Euros/day extra!

The breakfast offering was of poor quality in terms of breadth of offering and the taste. This was surprising, in that, Portuguese food is quite good, and breakfast buffet offering in most hotels in which I stay in Europe are of high quality.

My bed, a full/double sized bed, was extremely firm to the point of stiff.

For the business traveler (or any serious traveler in general), this hotel option is not for you. The hotel's website has beautiful photographs that do depict how the rooms and common areas appear; however, the photographer must be commended, as he/she made these venues appear much better than they do in person.

Upon my next visit to Porto, I will likely select the Yeatman, Hotel Infanta Sagres, or Hotel Teatro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemuel-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Yes, it's a wonderful place to stay, in main shopping street, close to the very center of the city. The ground floor is magnificent, including the big breakfast room, garage is available and the room rate is not too expensive, in the end.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank LEONARDO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This hotel is in the city center, in walking distance to all main attractions. It has a classic decor (good taste) in the public areas and modern rooms and bathrooms, both very spacious especially considering the old building. We stayed in the -1F, where I was told are the best rooms (no views). There's parking at the hotel.
Wifi costs 10 euros for 24hrs of use.
Breakfast is included and buffet is of good quality with a big selection, making it a good start for the day.
Staff is friendly and helpful, especially the ones in the evenings, suggesting good restaurants off the touristic area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldismyhomeblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here so we could be within a stone's throw of Porto's shops, restaurants and attractions and we were not disappointed. The rooms were sharp and cosy, the corridors extra-wide, and the staff very helpful and friendly. We visit Porto every year enroute to Galicia and will definitely stay longer on our next trip. We had an early flight so were unable to take part in the breakfast, but will review it on our next trip. The only negative was that wi-fi wasn't free. That would have made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews