We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$986
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$163
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
US$282
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$342
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$308
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,484 results
Traveller rating
464
710
238
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
710
238
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindsor barpublic roomsthe ground floormajestic cafepedestrian streetclassic hotelbolhao metro stationrua de santa catarinamain shoppingmini barlovely hotelcentral locationrooms are smallstandard roomthe riverroof terracefirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 1,484 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the common areas of the hotel are amazing! Nice breakfast room and a nice little bar for a nightcap. The hotel is in a busy shopping area which is bustling during the day, but very very quiet at night.
The rooms are a little dated. We had a suite in the front of the hotel. The beds are very hard, but they slept well after walking the hills all day in Porto.
We were there during a very hot spell and the room didn't really seem to cool down very much, but I think most places in Porto aren't well equipped for that kind of heat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

On reflection this was an excellent choice for a night in Porto although after an extended journey within Portugal (what's happening with TAP?)the receptionist was less than welcoming. We were taken down in the lift to a small, plain room with small TV....but it was the best sleep we had had for a month. The room was cool and quiet and there was a bath; not like the Grande Hotel do Paris. If you are travelling light it might be worth using the Metro to Bolhao for a 300m downhill stroll to the hotel (watch the cobbles). It is also very close to the Café Majestic, which is well worth a visit. The breakfast is functional, I would recommend a morning stroll back up to the Boloa Market area where there are some splendid cafes and pastellerias.

Room Tip: Do not be put off by the size of rooms or the thought of a room beneath the dining room make the most of a cool place t sleep and enjoy the splendour of the decorations in the public areas.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The public areas were beautiful and well maintained. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. However, the rooms were rather plain and the TV was tiny. We had to pay extra for the internet and the safe, which was irritating. We also wished the roof top deck was a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Having stayed at this hotel before and been very happy with it we decided to spend two nights here again this time with another couple and people who we travel with a lot. Since our last visit the public rooms have been properly renovated with the main bar and lounge area restored to its historical splendour. They have also added a small gym and roof terrace on the 3rd floor. Although we got taxis to the hotel (circa 20euros each way) we could have got the metro as the station is just 2 minutes walk away. Oh, and the Café Majestic, which is a must see and do, is only 1 minute walk away. If you can walk well it is a 10-15 minute walk down the the Ribera area although a bit of a walk back up the hill for the less able like me!

We had rooms on the ground floor which we clean and quite spacious with a mini bar. Very comfortable beds. On our second night we ate in the restaurant having been out all day and I have to say the food and service were excellent and all for a set price which was not expensive. The hotel reception staff were charming and extremely helpful, organising the tour bus tickets for us and our taxi for early the last morning,

Would we go again if in Porto? Definitely as would our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We had a great few days staying here. You couldn't a more central location. Rooms were clean and quiet which air con, which is all we needed. Breakfast buffet in the lovely big dining room. Check out the restaurant in the evening too- very good value, good food. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannieb186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews