We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The staff is very helpfull and friendly, from bartender to lobby personel. Our room was fine. Everything was clean. It was a bit difficult to load my phone because all sockets were used for lights. There is free wifi, but sometimes a bit difficult to get a good connection.
The breakfast is just as you would expect. The bar, breakfast room and lobby have an old English touch, which gives the hotel some extra atmosphere. The rooms are modern.
The location is convenient. It's close to a metrostation which has a direct connection to the airport. The hotel itself is located in a busy shopping street not far away from the old city center.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank koen504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    638
    216
    42
    20
See reviews for
273
627
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff is so helpful, especially Cristina Lemos, at the front desk. I spoke with her on the phone when booking and she had great rooms ready for our stay in lovely Porto.
The hotel is in a great location in Porto, close to shopping, restaurants and sites to visit.
The food is wonderful in this city, you will not be disappointed in this hotel and its wonderful breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a central location so it was within walking distance to several sites within Porto. The lobby and sitting rooms on the main floor are very elegant. I was surprised to see that smoking was allowed in the sitting rooms. The rooms are sparsely decorated and nothing in comparison to the lavish lobby. My room was tiny, in fact, the smallest I've ever stayed in while in Europe. I don't expect to have a massive room while traveling, especially since I spend little time in my room while away. However, this room was so small it was uncomfortable. There was NO room for my suitcase anywhere on the floor or in the tiny space at the doorway so I had to put it on the bed whenever I needed to open it. The fridge, which was a very compact size and efficiently situated on a shelf, wasn't working so they replaced it with a much larger fridge that had to be placed on the floor....taking away valuable space and making it even more difficult to maneuver through the very narrow space between the bed and the wall! There was a tiny desk in the corner with a wooden chair but it was very uncomfortable to sit on and really a waste of space. Thank goodness there was a window ledge where I could leave some things. There was a safe in the room but you had to rent the lock on a daily basis. Really???? BUT, my biggest complaint about the hotel was that they didn't have free WiFi in the room OR the lobby. They did have a computer in the lobby you could use but they actually charged 10 Euros for 1/2 hour!!!! Shame, shame, shame. This is 2013, not 1990. This was a HUGE turn-off. The owners really need to start looking at what they need to do to get people talking about how great the hotel is instead of the many things that aren't great. To nickle and dime travelers for things that are now part of regular travel life (like free safes and WiFi access, at least in the lobby) does not make for a good travel story. Nor do the dated rooms. On the plus side, the staff were very nice, especially the porter Nino, and were responsive to getting the fridge issues addressed in a timely fashion. However, this hotel doesn’t have enough pluses to override the negatives. This is nowhere near a palace like the owners seem to think it is (as suggested by their outrageous charges) and unless some major changes are made that include the owners' attitudes about what they can get away with, I wouldn’t stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone who’s considering a stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FromMyWorldToYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the shopping distance, and it is in easy walking distance of the riverfront and other Porto attractions. It is a venerable institution whose hallways are lined with letters from famous (mostly Portuguese) guests. The lobby and public rooms on the ground floor are lavishly decorated and have a very old English feel.

Our room was small but efficient. The main drawback was poor lighting; it was very difficult to see much of anything after dark. Despite the noise on the street, the room itself was quiet at night. The bathroom was functional, nothing special. Breakfast was plentiful. Wifi has just been instituted in the rooms, and it was free. The fitness room was tiny and very hot. It took multiple attempts to get a maintenance person there to get the AC working.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is situated in the very centre of Porto and was easy to find. The main reception and bar areas were lovely and spotless. Although our room was small it was clean and comfortable so I have no complaints. Breakfast was good and there was enough to suit anybody. The staff were helpful and even sent a bottle of pink champagne to the room on my birthday. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a group tour. The location is excellent for visiting Porto . The public areas are very beautifully decorated and the dining room where we had breakfast very luxurious and breakfast was excellent. The rooms unfortunately do not live up to the expectations. Small, sparsely furnished and horrible views. Ours was a was of rusty currogated wall. It was quiet however so we did get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great location in the middle of the shopping centre and restaurants and within walking distance of most of the old part of town.
Public rooms are sumptuous and quaint, reflecting its past glory. We ate dinner in the dining room and the service was fine and the meal reasonable without being noteworthy. One night we had a picnic on the roof terrace overlooking more roofs but very pleasant.
Our room was spacious, and had three single beds as requested. Bathroom was also spacious.
There was no free wifi but available if a fee was paid. There was no safe in the room.
Staff were helpful.
All in all a pleasant experience over the four days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.5 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#41 of 106 in Porto
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing