We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay in Grande Hotel Do Porto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Hotel Do Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice stay in Grande Hotel Do Porto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with our choice to stay here. Everyone was very nice and helped with all of our needs. The location of the hotel was good and it was nice and quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    591
    205
    39
    19
See reviews for
254
582
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked the chepeast room and was a bit small, however the service, breakfast and staff were excellent, therefore I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Regardless the size of the room everything was clean and very tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCarrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Why on earth stay on a concrete mausoleum like hotel, when you can stay on Grande Hotel do Porto! Old English style, atmosphere as very few hotels in Europe. The nicest staff. Ok and a little plus rooms. Damm sure we will go there again if visiting Porto :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steenkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

For a three star hotel this place blew me away for the price that we paid - the plush seating areas beyond the lobby to enjoy a drink at the bar made for a nice place to start the evening in Porto.

The rooms, whilst nothing special, were clean, had comfy beds and were well maintained and for a city centre location noise was not an issue even though we were on the ground floor.

Breakfast was taken in the stunning dining room and consisted of the standard continental fare and certainly set us up for the day ahead.

If back in Port then I will be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The staff is very helpfull and friendly, from bartender to lobby personel. Our room was fine. Everything was clean. It was a bit difficult to load my phone because all sockets were used for lights. There is free wifi, but sometimes a bit difficult to get a good connection.
The breakfast is just as you would expect. The bar, breakfast room and lobby have an old English touch, which gives the hotel some extra atmosphere. The rooms are modern.
The location is convenient. It's close to a metrostation which has a direct connection to the airport. The hotel itself is located in a busy shopping street not far away from the old city center.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank koen504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff is so helpful, especially Cristina Lemos, at the front desk. I spoke with her on the phone when booking and she had great rooms ready for our stay in lovely Porto.
The hotel is in a great location in Porto, close to shopping, restaurants and sites to visit.
The food is wonderful in this city, you will not be disappointed in this hotel and its wonderful breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is in a central location so it was within walking distance to several sites within Porto. The lobby and sitting rooms on the main floor are very elegant. I was surprised to see that smoking was allowed in the sitting rooms. The rooms are sparsely decorated and nothing in comparison to the lavish lobby. My room was tiny, in fact, the smallest I've ever stayed in while in Europe. I don't expect to have a massive room while traveling, especially since I spend little time in my room while away. However, this room was so small it was uncomfortable. There was NO room for my suitcase anywhere on the floor or in the tiny space at the doorway so I had to put it on the bed whenever I needed to open it. The fridge, which was a very compact size and efficiently situated on a shelf, wasn't working so they replaced it with a much larger fridge that had to be placed on the floor....taking away valuable space and making it even more difficult to maneuver through the very narrow space between the bed and the wall! There was a tiny desk in the corner with a wooden chair but it was very uncomfortable to sit on and really a waste of space. Thank goodness there was a window ledge where I could leave some things. There was a safe in the room but you had to rent the lock on a daily basis. Really???? BUT, my biggest complaint about the hotel was that they didn't have free WiFi in the room OR the lobby. They did have a computer in the lobby you could use but they actually charged 10 Euros for 1/2 hour!!!! Shame, shame, shame. This is 2013, not 1990. This was a HUGE turn-off. The owners really need to start looking at what they need to do to get people talking about how great the hotel is instead of the many things that aren't great. To nickle and dime travelers for things that are now part of regular travel life (like free safes and WiFi access, at least in the lobby) does not make for a good travel story. Nor do the dated rooms. On the plus side, the staff were very nice, especially the porter Nino, and were responsive to getting the fridge issues addressed in a timely fashion. However, this hotel doesn’t have enough pluses to override the negatives. This is nowhere near a palace like the owners seem to think it is (as suggested by their outrageous charges) and unless some major changes are made that include the owners' attitudes about what they can get away with, I wouldn’t stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone who’s considering a stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FromMyWorldToYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#23 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing