We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Days in Oporto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3 Days in Oporto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A very good location, walkable from train station although most streets are cobbled so strong shoes essential. Hotel facilities were good, friendly staff and inclusive breakfast had a good buffet. A pretty garden at the rear with tables and chairs was a bonus. Downside for the less able were steps at the entrance of the hotel, difficult to carry up luggage and steps up to the lift.
Interior of the hotel was full of interesting objects and pictures. The street was noisy at night so not for the light sleeper. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not have a room overlooking the street because of noise at night. Specify room with bath if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    604
    208
    40
    20
See reviews for
261
588
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel, particularly as we value character and old world charm. It is an older style building and the public areas are quite grand. We had booked an "economic" room on the net and were shown the tiniest hotel room I've ever seen, but were able to upgrade for a reasonable price. All the expected facilities were available in our superior double and the staff were courteous and helpful. Location was good, as everything was in walking distance - though the uphill climb home was occasionally challenging.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very nice hotel with great facilities. All the staff was very kind. And the location is also good, it is perfect for a weekend visiting the city. It is a very romantic hotel. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no many shampoo

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a lovely and even romantic hotel in the centre of Oporto.
Grandeur in the lobby lounge and restaurant of this hotel.
Very moderately priced, serving a superb breakfast.
staff is very cooperative and friendly.
With your family or business partners you can have a discrete meeting in the lounges of the hotel.
The Restaurant gives you the impression like if you are in the midst of a private concert hall, wows to nice to be true.
We will be beak before year end for a long weekend to this hotel. we love you all.

Room Tip: a superb place to stay in Oporto rooms are very clean and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernst v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was well located, in a main street, close to amenities. The entrance/lobby and breakfast room are excellent and the staff is very very helpful.

However... Our room was small, the bed is cheap material, the conditions are minimal. The room was clean though! There is a clear difference between the lobby and the room floors (2nd floor is dark & grim)... In conclusion, we were expecting more from a top hotel!! Certainly the rooms are nothing like the pics on their website!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and we were very happy with our choice to stay here. Everyone was very nice and helped with all of our needs. The location of the hotel was good and it was nice and quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked the chepeast room and was a bit small, however the service, breakfast and staff were excellent, therefore I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Regardless the size of the room everything was clean and very tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCarrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#26 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing