We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is on an excellent central street with many options for eating and sightseeing, felt very safe. Basic, clean room, new bathroom, the room at the back was quiet for sleeping. Excellent breakfast in a large French decor room. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybytheSea6280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    604
    208
    40
    20
See reviews for
261
588
56
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a great hotel in a very good location. Straight from the airport you can get on the metro and its 5mins walk from Bolhao station. From the hotel you can walk to anywhere, bars, restaurants and attractions all just a few minutes walk.

The hotel is very central and you can even walk during late nights safely, although is a busy shopping road during the night is very quiet and peacefull.

The breakfast is good and can be enjoyed in a beautiful area as the rest of the hotel.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and was always ready to help.

I highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Porto and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atemoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fabulous hotel. The reception, restaurant, bar, quiet areas are all very grande and immaculate. The bedrooms are small and very basic but superbly clean and quite considering that this hotel is in the heart of Porto itself and on one of the main shopping streets. Very convenient for the metro, buses and trams. We found every member of staff helpful and attentive. They all spoke excellent English. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night as we arrived pretty late. It was so good that we ate their every night. The evening menu is not vast but has plenty to choose from (including those who are vegetarian) The cuisine is similar to ' Nouveau Cuisine' but don't let this put you off. We were absolutely full after every meal and they were very tasty. The restaurant manager and his staff were very attentive and helpful and also would try and cook you something else if you did not like the menus. The cost was unbelievably good value for money and a bottle of house red at dinner was only 6 euros. An average three course meal with wine and coffee for two people was about £35. If i had one minor negative comment it would be that there is a smoking room opposite the bar and that on one occasion there were a few smokers in there and the smoke did drift into the bar a little. That said we could have moved to another area or lounge and the staff would have served us there. The buffet breakfast certainly filled you up for the day and if you wanted lunch then there is a buffet lunch that is pretty awesome. All in all a perfect hotel for a city break and won't break the bank.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devereux2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were pleased to stay some nights in this hotel. It's in the middle of the downtown, it's very convenient (near the metro station) and very quiet. The room was small but extremely clean and cosy. The breakfast was served in a big and spacious elegant room.
Positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobu_MatSuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Enjoyed a recent one-week stay at this hotel. The staff were enormously helpful in accommodating a last minute change in room arrangements during a very busy time, in calling for taxis, etc. Rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast was good--all in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPDVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed there with a 8 month baby. Staff made all in their hands to make our time there nice. Fully recommended if you travel with small kids. It's a little bit far from the river but it's perfectly walkable. Breakfast is ok. Overall, a safe bet.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMurcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The common room area's of this room are very nice and inviting; and very historic in their design. The rooms themselves are more modern in style with relatively large bathrooms. Beds were a bit hard. Breakfast was typical for high-end hotels in Porto. Fairly nice part of the city--but a bit a walk to some sites--as Porto sites are more spread out. English spoken by most staff. Overall--a safe bet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#26 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Property: Grande Hotel Do Porto
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Porto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing