We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a superb view of the the river, the Dom Luis bridge and adjacent Praca Ribeira from our bedroom. In addition the room was very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent and sited in a very pleasant riverside room. The
From the hotel you can easily explore both sides of the river. It is well worth taking the funicular by the bridge for another brilliant view of the river (the descent resembles a slow motion roller coaster ride).A short walk in the other direction from the hotel takes you to the riverside tram ride (route 1). For a good value seafood restaurant, try Adega S Nicolau just around the corner but away from the more touristy places.
My only gripe about the hotel was the Wi-Fi charge (€5 for 24 hours). I found you can just as easily log on to the local free Porto Wi-Fi service.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Nice hotel, great situation. Confortable room, great view of the river Douro and the Luis I bridge.

Breakfast was just ok. Nice people at the reception.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms with views to the river are great, you've got your own access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klabra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

There is no other place to stay in Oporto. Right by the Cais da Ribeira, opposite the river cruise embarking point and gorgeous vies of the Douro. The rooms are comfy and well furnished and service was impeccable. Breakfast had an ample selection of food and fresh juices, coffee etc. If it is warm, do not miss the terrace outside the breakfast room- with great views.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marceloglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is right on the river in an historic part of old Porto with wonderful views of the river, the bridge and to all the port houses in Gaia Porto across the river. Fortunately, I was upgraded to a "superior room" when I arrived, as I had mistakenly booked a room with a city view which wouldn't have had the river view, or the sun. The hotel staff were very welcoming and all spoke English. I had a few small problems with the electronics of the room safe and the lights, but both were fixed promptly. My room was a little cramped so it would have been nicer to have a little more space, but all the rooms are different as the hotel has combined a number of very old buildings and I'm sure the exposed stonework through is quite ancient—which all adds to the charm and character. The bed was very comfortable with very high quality down pillows and sheets. The marble bathroom was spotless with plenty of hot water. The breakfast is reasonable and there's a very attractive bar to enjoy a cocktail at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Pestana Porto Hotel and it was the best! It is right on the Doura River so there was lots to see right from our balcony. The city is beautiful and the hotel is within walking distance to everywhere. The service was beyond excellent. We were driving and couldn't quite figure out how to get to the hotel and we called to ask and within moments, one of the employees was out on the street looking for us. From there he helped us park and then walked our huge suitcases to the hotel and when we walked in, they knew we had been kind of stressed, handed us a welcome cocktail. The concierge gave us great recommendations for places to eat - there are many great places hidden away. We loved the city and the Pestana. I would highly recommend both. Just be sure if you are driving that you have specific directions on how to arrive at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni57_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we went there after checking reviews (and advices from friends who had been in Porto) and we were very happy with our stay, This is the most scenic place. So definitely the place to go in Porto.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitvoyageurfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night New Years Break at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We travelled with Tall Traveller, see previous review. Location was fantastic with great views of the river, the bridges and the Port Houses on the opposite bank.
We were a little disappointed with the hotel and would rate it a 3.5 star.
Very helpful reception staff who helped us to book restaurants and gave advice on the local area. The breakfast staff were friendly and attentive. When we returned to the Hotel on New Years Eve, the night porter didn't even look up as we came in which apart from bad service is a bit of a security worry.
The bar and lounge areas were too cold to make you want to linger for a drink-chat and if you want a drink you have to get the reception staff to call someone. Breakfast was average with a selection for all tastes but it wasn't special. Plenty of choices for me though as i'm veggie.
Our room was a cause for embarassment. Tall traveller had booked the Hotel and we each went to our respective rooms. Ours was large with decent decor, two large twin beds put together,which were very comfortable and a large bathroom. The room was very clean. When we visited them later, their room was very small and you had to walk down a flight of steps to get to it. The bathroom was also very small and the wardrobe was at the top of the stairs on it's own. They couldn't ask for a room change as the hotel was fully booked. We offered to swap but they were too gracious and declined.
The mp3 player needs a USB cable to dock your player and as mentioned the tv signal kept dissappearing. Liked the free in room safe and fridge. A nice touch was a gift of Port and New Year cake left in the room on 31st Dec evening.
Porto itself is a great place to visit with lots to see and do. Transport prices are very cheap and food and drink are reasonably Priced. Veggies will struggle as most restaurants only offer meat and fish choices. We would recommend "Pimms"" restaurant a couple of streets above the hotel and "Farol" restaurant about 100m along the hotel terrace at the front. They cooked me a veggie meal off spec. Both are mid priced and food is good.

We went to Braga as recommended by Welsh traveller and it was well worth the trip just to visit Bom Jesus Do Monte. Spectacular!

All in all we had a great time and look forward to next New Year, who knows where?

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe at the back of the lift ie 515 are noisy. The lift woke me at 3am and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £129 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing