We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Writing this our first day here in Porto and must say that we could not have found a better spot. Right on the river with a great view right above the water, was welcomed once we got settled into our room with a local concoction of white port and tonic water, and the bed is so comfy that my siesta became more of a drawn out nap! The hotel is well maintained and the staff very accommodating (and very fluent in English). Would definitely come back to this city and this establishment!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lilly_from_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Pestana Porto. Our room overlooked the plaza , bridge, and river; it was an incredible view. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The common areas were comfortable and accessing WIfi was easy once the staff gave you the code. Breakfast was bountiful with many options. The best though was the staff. They were warm and helpful; they made you feel welcomed. We only had a small problem with the bar staff, but that was during the night of Portugal playing Spain during the Europe cup and it was crazy! The location is great! We highly recommend the Pestana Porto!

Room Tip: Get a room by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Definitely book a room with a river view ... it is fantastic! The hotel is located on the Praca da Ribeira, and is so convenient to the Douro boats for a 'six bridge' cruise (well worth a relaxing hour) and the bridge to the Vila Nova de Gaia port lodges on the other side of the Douro. (Also, near the bridge is the elevator that quickly transports you to the street near the Sao Bento train station.) The hotel front desk staff is very helpful - made dining reservations for us, checked the train schedules for our planned day trip to Pocinho, and figured out the new locations for the Hop-on Hop-off stops (well worth the cost for transport in this hilly town!). Wifi cost extra (14euro for our 3 night stay). Of note, rooms have double paned windows - so very quiet, even when the national football team finals are being broadcast in the crowed square outside!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write about the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We are very pleased to receive your comments which have been forwarded to the departments concerned.

We hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Pestana Porto Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The location is unbeatable with an incredible view. The staff consistently went above and beyond expectations and really set the tone for a fantastic experience in Portugal. The room was comfortable and clean and quiet (good sound insulation - no disruption from neighbors or street traffic). We could not have picked a better place to stay in Porto!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRM226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your stay with us and for having taken the time to write about the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We were very pleased to receive your comments which have been forwarded to the departments concerned.
We hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great location on the river, easily accessible to walk into the main town square & over the bridge from the wine cellars. The hotel is surrounded by great restaurants & the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The buffett breakfast is abundant and full of variety, one of the best spreads so worth the inclusion.

Room Tip: A river view room would be preferred, but if your budget has you in a room with the alley view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your stay and for having taken the time to write about the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We would like to inform you that we have taken good note of your constructive comments which have already been forwarded to the departments concerned.
We sincerely hope that we wiil soon have the privilege of welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed in Pestana 7 days,
Location: is the best in the city, you are in the center of the old town by the river, if you have the river view you can enjoy beautiful sunsets and view on Gaia and Dom Luis bridge.

Personnel is friendly, helpful, great breakfast but after a while you will not touch a thing, every day the same thing. Clean hotel!!! Recommend because of the location!!!

Is it 4 star hotel?? I would say, NO, it is a 3 star hotel max.
Why?? many things are missing, You do not get robe or hotels pantoffels, Basic things like make-up mirror is not there. Hangers in closets are disaster, overall furniture is brown and old and doesn't look like it should be in a 4star expensive hotel. Beds are quite hard and I belive it is not a proper hotel bed. I do not like the yellow marble in bathrooms but I could live with it, but the worst is the carpet. Carpet is very similar to one in hallways. It is really ugly, feels dirty. Tv is LCD but It would be better if it would not be there. Same applies for Grundig audio System (really worst system I have seen) Electricity switches of when you remove the card, applies to outlets and aircon. So I recommend leave one card in the slot.
Hotel doesn't have own restaurant. It is a good thing, because around you can get really good food. Ask in a Lobby and do not eat in Tourist traps.

My suggestion!! do not stay in a room 503 (5th floor) and near elevators. Very loud, you can hear people talking when in elevator opening and closing doors. We changed the room to 301. all was fine and quite.

Room Tip: in reception, demand a quite room and not by elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imregistered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your stay and for having taken the time to write about the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We would like to inform you that we have taken good note of your constructive comments which have already been forwarded to the departments concerned.
We sincerely hope that we wiil soon have the privilege of welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Pestana at the end of a 10 day holiday in northern Portugal. We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and because of its location. We were not disapointed. We had a corner room on the 4th floor which I reckon gave us the best views in the hotel. We had 3 French windows in our bedroom , one overlooking the square and the other 2 the river. We also had a further 2 French windows in our bathroom overlooking the river. There was a narrow balcony going round the building so we were able to stand on it and watch the commings and goings on the river.When we arrived we were given a complimentary glass of port and tonic. Service was excellent and very friendly. The only minus point was that we had to wait 45 mins to get in to our room despite having arrived after 3 pm. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 402 is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £130 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing