We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you want to be central - room and amenities not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel and I was quite disappointed. While the location is very central and nice on the river the hotel is dated and the room we had smelt damp and was dark. Checking in was also a drama with no way to drop our bags off due to the road being open only certain times in the day. We had to park in a public park and then drag our luggage through cobbled streets and up and down stairs to get to the hotel - not easy and not fun.

The breakfast was OK but not great. There were no English papers available any day we were there. The best thing about this hotel was being able to use the pool (and sauna) at the Pousada (their sister hotel) which was beautiful. The staff were nice, but in retrospect I think staying at the Pousada would have suited us better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nice20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Vintage Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

I'll be honest and say I didn't stay here. I actually stayed at another hotel based on a friend's advice when I took my family on a 3-day trip to Porto and the surrounding area. But, the reason I am recommending this place is that I found myself near this hotel more than my own as this hotel is near everything you want to visit in Porto. This is just a few feet away from all the Port tasting, restaurants, events, etc. From my hotel I ended up taking taxis back and forth to here and taxis aren't cheap here. Save yourself the hassle of several taxi rides and book your next hotel here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank bluepacificwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Really nice hotel. Very nicely modernised renovation of an old port-side building. Right in the middle of the old Porto on the Douro with access to everything Porto has to offer the visitor. Spent two nights in early September. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Breakfast all you could ask for. Also a few tables on the outside terrace on the river makes for a delightful breakfast experience. On our second night there was a concert/party in the square outside the hotel with some kind of Brazilian theme. Very noisy and cheerful. We were a bit nervous that it might be very noisy till the small hours, but no, they stopped at around 10.30, presumably because the hotel and local residents insisted on a peaceful night!
Best of all was the very helpful and friendly staff. Lots of touristy questions and taxi requests from our party. All dealt with perfectly with smiles and patience. Would definitely stay again if back in Porto

Room Tip: River view rooms desirable
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Pestana Porto Hotel is sited on the corner of the Ribeira square and overlooks the Douro river. The rooms are comfortable, clean and serviced daily. The staff are lovely - they greet you with a smile, are keen to help you, and actually look like they are enjoying their jobs. The road leading down to the hotel has electric bollards to prevent access to non-authorised vehicles, which means private transfare from the airport can be an issue. Taxis are allowed through though. There are no coffee/tea facilities in the room, the minibar is poorly stocked (as seems to be the case in most hotels these days) and the items are expensive (nothing new there either!)
Breakfast is buffett style and is good. Besides meats, cheese, cakes, bread etc they also have scrambled egg, bacon and either mushroom or small pork sausages. The toaster is a pain, takes ages and is switched off when not in use.
As a tea drinker I dont like Liptons yellow label - its too weak and we had to ask for two teabags for the pot!
Having said that I really enjoyed my stay!
They don't have a pool nor a fitness centre - but that didnt bother me!

Porto is a great city with lots of things to see and do - river cruise, cable car, furnicular, old trams and some good restaurants - one in particular was great and is located a few minutes walk away - ODE!!! Highly recommended but not chceap!

Room Tip: Rooms 400, 401 and 402 have a balcony overlooking the square and the river. 402 has square and bette...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

It is a 4 star hotel, and this is basically it. My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights (last weekend). Staff is very kind, breakfast is very good, the rooms are fine but there is nothing extraordinary about them -- except if you have one with a view just like the one we had, bc it is amazing to wake up and realize that you are by the river with the bridge right in front of you. Anyways, the location is what makes the hotel a very good choice. It is fun to stay at a vibrant place and just by the river. I saw some reviews complaining about the noise, but i had no problem with that. It may be for someone who likes to go to bed very early. From our side, the night at Porto seemed to "end" earlier than expected. Ribeira square was almost desert around 1:30am.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 123abc012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Pestana Porto is ideally situated for a visit to Porto. You are on the main waterfront square within walking distance of downtown attractions, the funicular to explore the upper part of the city, the bridge across to the port houses, and the river tour boats that are right in front of the hotel. Our room was clean and very spacious. The breakfast was fantastic and could be taken on the small balcony off the dining room. The bar downstairs also had comfortable seating out front for a bit of people watching or writing postcards. The staff was also very helpful and happily answered our myriad of questions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have a view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingAvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is not only a very comfortable hotel in an excellent location and with beautiful views, as other reviewers have commented, it is also a place where you are treated like a really special guest. We cannot praise the staff highly enough for their kindness, friendliness and helpfulness. We keep talking about when we can go back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river room with a balcony - it is one of the joys of life. I think we had to pa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £133 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing