We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay right on the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Porto for a few nights. We were right on the waterfront and on a plaza where there were lots of festivites happening day and evening. The hotel was very pleasant. The room we had was two stories high, so it felt like an apartment. It had balcony windows you could open up onto the plaza. Just delightful. If you are handicapped at all, this would not be a god room. Other rooms were more typical and would be just fine for anyone with any handicaps. The city of Porto is very easy to navigate, and from the hotel you were in a great location to go anywhere. You were at a bottom of a hill, so be prepared to walk up some hills.

Room Tip: Rooms can over look the water or the plaza, or someones laundry. Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smlclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Vintage Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

No parking, lousy decoration, terribly noisy - up to 1h30 am people singing out loud in the street and vacuum-cleaning at 7h10 am. They offer you a welcome Port wine while you're checking in and have yet to bring your bags up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristinavieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Overlooking the river and in the center of the riverfront restaurants, this is the perfect place for exploring Porto. It can get a bit noisy during the day but by 9 or 10 the street noise has died down and with double paned windows the room is absolutely quiet. The staff is well trained, cordial and efficient. Breakfast is an added treat well conceived and varied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Loved this hotel!! PERFECT location and fabulous view of the river from our room! Gracious and helpful staff. They arranged a wonderful private tour of the Douro Valley and local winery. The included breakfast was delicious.Can't wait to come back. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanC924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Lovely hotel in amazing location along the Douro River. Based on tripadvisor reviews, I paid the extra money to get a room with a river view and it was worth it. Nice breakfast and excellent service. We had to leave early in the morning to catch a train and they opened breakfast 15 minutes early so we could eat before we left. The only negative was that the room was small. My husband and I were traveling with our 21 year old son and the room was extremely tight with the addition of a cot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I know beds are a personal preference but, this hotel has no pillow choice at all, like them or lump them
Our room 512 with its balcony has a wonderful view looking over the river and the Port warehouses, a buzzing tourist area, great to watch over the activity.
Vehicular access to the hotel is limited although the hotel have a pricing system at the nearest car park. The car park is about 250 meters from the hotel, down a steep slope.

Room Tip: River view 512 has a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinghyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Unfortunately, they didn't warn us about all the street construction going on in Porto, so this hotel was actually a pain to get to. Otherwise I would rate it a great hotel. Comfortable, clean, nice staff, decent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balfour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £133 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing