We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, superb views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The location of this hotel is the very best and the most beautiful you can get in Porto!
This hotel is located directly on the water's edge of the Douro river, and around the Ribeiras area there are numerous bars, restaurants and little shops (street market...).
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is well kept, our room was lovely and up to 4* standard. Very comfy bed and excellent quality of windows. The Ribeiras area is lively and quite noisy, but when the windows are closed you get a divine sleep.
It is a MUST to book a RIVER VIEW ROOM. We had a direct view from our bed onto the river as well as to the impressive bridge - that was superb!
Breakfast buffet was ok, nothing extraordinary, but the possibility of sitting on a river terrace under the blue sky and warm autumn sun made us feel very happy.
There are more luxurious hotels in Porto, but none has such a superb location as this one. You get a lot for what you pay here, and therefore I can strongly recommend this hotel to guests not expecting 5* deluxe standards. It is a good 4* hotel, nothing very ritzy or incredible except the view. For sure I would stay again at this wonderful place...

Room Tip: It is a must to book a room with river views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I cannot speak enough to how much we enjoyed our time at the Pestana Porto. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, the room with the river view was a dream and also very large in size for Europe. The area around the hotel is fun and no shortage of cafe's to choose from, although some can be very touristy. The breakfast was very good with many options and no shortage of hot coffee being offered. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Porto due to staying at this Hotel and would do so again in a heatbeat.

Room Tip: Request a River view room if one is available. The Oro Viva restaurant in the street behind the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveVacation92646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lovely boutique hotel with great location and views. Right in the heart of everything, restaurants, shops ect. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Upon checking in you get a very nice welcome drink. The rooms are a very nice size and very soundproof from the outdoors. Was worried would hear all the noise as its a busy area but heard nothing. They were also very clean. We found the beds too hard. Internet was not always the greatest in your room somewhat better in the lobby. Breakfast was included and it was very good as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

There is no pool or fitness centre just could not get it to edit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We went for a girls weekend to Porto last weekend and stayed in this fantastic hotel. On arrival we received a welcome drink which consisted of port with Tonic and Lime a really refreshing and delicious drink. The rooms are all very spacious including the bathrooms and very very clean. I would definitely stay there again. Fantastic spot as well right on the river with amazing views. All the staff are very friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great even the ones not overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to welcome your group and to have acknowledge that you had a nice experience in the Hotel.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location, on the riverside in the Ribeira district with its bars and restaurants is excellent. We had a comfortable, well appointed room with a small balcony looking out onto the river which was great for watching river activity. The room was well insulated because, although there was a lot of activity on the street below us, we were not disturbed. Staff, on reception, in the bar and breakfast room were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an excellent ' international buffet' served in a nice room overlooking the river. As well as being close to all the riverside tourist attractions the hotel is only about 10 - 15 minutes walk (uphill) to Sao Bento station with trains to Braga, Guimaraes and the Douro valley all of which we would recommend. This would be an excellent hotel for a city break to Porto.

Room Tip: Pay extra for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HattieWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Manager at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel located on a UNESCO listed site in the Rebeira district is perfect if location is important to you. Overlooking the Douro river and the historic port houses, you can wander along the waterfront enjoying the atmosphere or take a river cruise. A 10minute walk away is the funicular and from the top of the funicular you can explore some of the streets where the locals shop for deli items and fancy tarts. Close to the hotel are narrow cobblestoned streets with a variety of restaurants offering everything from seafood to rabbit. Room was fine but nothing special. Buffet breakfast with plenty of variety and opportunity to eat on the terrace overlooking river. There may be more luxurious hotels further into the centre of Porto but none that could offer this location and authenticity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with overlooking the river and a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you had a positive experience at the Hotel and that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy all the attractions of the area on which the Hotel is situated.

We do hope to have the privilege to welcome you in a near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

During our two week trip to Portugal, my husband and I spent 4 nights at the Pestana Porto Hotel. This hotel is situated right on the river, in front of a gorgeous bridge, and right in the middle of restaurants and activity. We chose a river facing room with a balcony whose view was stunning at all times of the day. The room itself was very large with stairs from the bathroom and luggage area leading down to the room itself. The very high ceilings also gave the room a spacious feel. The only criticism I have would be for the low water pressure in the shower. Otherwise, it was perfectly comfortable.

The staff did a great job of answering our questions, providing dinner recommendations, and making reservations. The breakfast was also great and the staff worked hard to ensure cleanliness and to fulfill our needs. Even during an encounter with a particularly rude and obnoxious customer, they continued to be absolutely gracious hosts.

We really liked our location but please realize that to get to the river, one must travel downhill. Many of the sites and large shopping areas are at least 15 minutes of uphill walking. There is a tram you can take for 2 euros and cabs are relatively cheap as well. Despite the hike, we would not have changed a thing! Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Room Tip: The rooms with a river view are definitely worth the extra cost!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snv4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Vintage Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your experience at the Pestana Porto Hotel.

We are very pleased to learn that our services/and facilities are found to be good, and we took good notice of your suggestion reported on your comments.

We do hope to welcome you in a very near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £129 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing