We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed at the Pestana on our honeymoon and were thrilled! The hotel was very nice and the location was unbeatable. We would recommend staying here to anyone who enjoys being in the heart of the action (make sure you request a room on a floor higher up). We had a wonderful view of the bridge from our room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SandyBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Vintage Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2008

This is a very smart hotel, right on the river front, with a lovely view from your room of the bridge & the port lodges.

You get 50% off the parking fee in the car park round the corner, which is very handy.

The room is luxurious, the breakfasts are excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant, because the river front is full of cheaper restaurants, but I think the food would have been very good if we had done.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Unfortunately I fell badly when we visited the Citania de Briteiros celtic iron-age hill fort near to Guimaraes, and we had to cut our holiday short - so we never got to see the rest of Porto. The staff were great at helping me in and out of the room / car, and they only charged us for the nights we spent there, which was great! (We had intended to spend 5 nights & were only able to spend 2 nights before we needed to go home so I could be operated on).

I would recommend this hotel highly, and am only sorry we could not enjoy our stay in Porto more.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

My wife and I spent five nights in this hotel, probably the best in town. Rooms are big, at least the one we stayed in, facing the river, beds are extremely soft, pillows too. I don't know if this was because of the quiet tourist checked in or because of the building, but this hotel is soundproof. The only problem were the windows because we got a room at the second floor just above the restaurant and for security reasons the windows were locked. We ask the receptionist why, and he told us that the windows being so height people can fall down. After we signed a paper in which we assumed fully responsibility in case of an accident, they unlocked the windows and everything was just fine. The staff from the hotel was very nice and very helpful. I recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to have a nice staying in a superb city.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rockon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed the Pestana Porto 3 nights and had a pleasant time. The hotel is really nice and the full river view is worth every penny you pay. the hotel is located in the historical center of the city (Praça do Reibeira) which is a classified site. Porto is built on a mountain and the hotel is all the way down of this mountain. Therefore you will have to climb all the way up to get to some of the attractions. Also most of them are around the hotel.
We had even river view from the bathroom which is a little disturbing as you are not sure if people can see you or not in the evening as the windows are only protected with curtains (we checked during the day and you can not see inside the bathroom).
The breakfast was really good with a variety of food, including eggs, bacon, sausages, cheese, ham, jam, cereals, croissants, aso....
The real problem is the bed, but that could also come from our habits, it is really soft like sleeping on marshmallows. If you like firm beds this is not the place to go.
All the hotel employees have been really nice and helpful.
Make sure to have dinner at Dom Tonho, the place is magnificent and 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The food is excellent and the services is really nice (we spent 60€ for a starter, entrée and desert, without wine, which is not bad for such a great place).
You also should take a taxi (around 7 EUR) and drive to the sea, the waterfront is really great for a walk and have a coffee or a club sandwich at one of the bars.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Porto was the last city that I visited in a twelve days tour Portugal. Hotel is located at historic part of the town, known as "Cais da Ribeira", in the banks of Douro River. My room (deluxe) has incredible views of river and Vila Nova de Gaia, the city located in the other bank of Douro river, where are the winery's headquarters that manufacture the famous Port's wine.
Hotel is very pleasant. Large and clean room, with big windows that provided great natural illumination all day long. Very comfortable bed. But bathroom seems aged and needs some improvements therefore some equipments (shower, tap, hair dryer) are jaded.
Very friendly and diligent staff. Good bar and average restaurant (great views, once again). No problems with breakfast (included in my rate), but is not so good if you compare with others hotels in Portugal.
There are several good restaurants few steps from hotel. I recomend Don Tonho, excellent portuguese food.
Overall, hotel is a great choice in Porto.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JJuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Great location make sure you book room with river view as it made our stay, staff all friendly and helpful, breakfast was buffet all very good and was topped up continually. Did not have dinner in hotel as there were so many good restaurants in walking distance on river front did not have a bad meal in any place and great for people watching and relaxing outdoors at lunchtime.
Went on hop/off/on bus gave good overview off city on first day, stop just up steep hill at back of hotel!! Went on rickety tram and new metro all so easy to find and use, best trip was river day trip went down by train then back by boat, well worth the money so relaxing. Taxi rank in front off hotel so no walking up steep hill, very handy. Porto takes some geting used to on first impression but really grew on us especially heritage water front. Think the position of hotel made our holiday break would not consider staying anywhere else if returning to Porto.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

The Pestana Porto is a great choice for a couple on holiday. Location is perfect - right in the centre of all the tourist sights, best restaurants, etc and on the opposite bank to all the Port wine companies. Make sure that you get a river view room - fabulous view and plenty of light. Breakfasts are very good although sometimes the croissants run out by about 0945 and you wouldn't want to miss them! Be aware that this is a 4 star not a 5 star so the hotel is comfortable rather than luxurious, but the building is lovely, the staff friendly, the views fantastic, the atmosphere great and location perfect. We went to a number of recommended restaurants and the best (by some way) was Don Tonho which is just 100m from the hotel. Lunch up at the restaurant at Taylor's is also excellent, with lovely views. Do also go to the coast (if you like walking then it's a pleasant hour or so's walk along the river, otherwise get a taxi) and have a drink/lunch/dinner at a cafe such as Praia de Luz - the crashing waves and sea air of the Atlantic is a marked contrast to the calm tranquility of the river by the hotel. Have tea in the Majestic cafe in town, which is one of the classic european cafes of the 1920s, nicely restored. And there are as many churches, museums and monuments as you'd like to see if you are in to those kind of things.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £133 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious areas of Porto, the Ribeira historic district you will find the Pestana Vintage Porto, constructed as a group of 18 buildings that have been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Postcards always feature the hotel right in front of the Douro River, which blends in nicely with the other historic buildings in the area. We welcome you with an atmosphere that is at once vintage and contemporary, luxurious and romantic. The RIB BEEF & WINE restaurant is the place for true connoisseurs of great beef and wine. All rooms have Wi-Fi and some feature views of the Douro River, the Wine Cellars of Gaia and the D. Luís Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing