We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Top location, excelllent amenities, large comfortable room, friendly helpful staff - nothing to fault. The hotel is ideally located on the riverside quay, close to tours, transport, restaurants. We had a delightful stay and would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    610
    126
    42
    20
See reviews for
332
1,124
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Cove, AL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

great service, fantastic location and view. excellent restoration as UNESCO site. restaurants on waterfront abound. short walk across bridge to port tasting rooms. we had a fifth floor room overlooking river. well appointed. room came with twin beds pushed together. worked fine as a king. modern amenities in a historical property. breakfast included. staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfehrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POITIERS
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

In 40yrs i can count the number of hotels that don't annoy me at least once during my stay on one hand....i now need to use 2 hands.
We chose a suite overlooking the river....next time we may forget the suite as it was basically just an extra room which was more of an entrance hall - the rooms themselves are a good size and as long as they have a balcony i think we'd have been just as happy.
Breakfast was fine,nothing special but everything was nice.
Service was impeccable,nothing was too much trouble.
Location is the main attraction for this place (unless you're here to shop). Restaurants bars and all the port houses within easy walking distance.Boat trips outside (even in january).
First time in many years i've bought a few drinks at a hotel bar and didn't feel ripped off.
We'll be coming back very soon.
PS.we didn't try the restaurant as went to the trip advisor top 2.....see other reviews

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONOFDRAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Probably the most wonderful location in certainly one of the most romantic cities in the world. Pestana Porto hotel's location is extraordinary, facing the very heart area of Ribeira downtown on Douro river. Everything is walking distance from here, and the hotel is maximum you can get in terms of location and atmosphere.

We have booked the River front view room and received Room no. 306, with a balcony facing the river. Room was huge and very clean, the same with the bathrom.
Breakfast is fine but average, anyway pretty enough if you don't have high expectations or if you are not a feeder.

The stuff is very kind and helpful. Paulo Andrade, the front desk manager, is probably one of the best guy in Porto, extremly helpful and friendly, and due to his attitude we'll try the Pestana hotels chain also in different parts of the world.

Overall, great value for money and certainly the best choice for Porto city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiFilipache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed over New Year for five nights. Main selling point has to be location but this is backed up by excellent staff who are friendly and knowledgable, generally. On advice of reviewers here, booked deluxe double with river view. Good sized room with wonderful view allowing us to watch river and ribiera life.
Good buffet breakfast with fresh food included in price and worth going for.
Minor downsides like no bath robes, no satellite tv etc so not top notch, but excellent location means the price is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We loved our stay at the Pestana Porto. We booked a deluxe room with a great view of the river and the Port houses across the Duoro river. The location could not be better. There are lots of small restaurants tucked in alleyways near the hotel. It is also easy to walk across the bridge to the Gaia district and the Port houses. The Palacio de Bolsa and the Casa Musica are two sites not to be missed. The staff were very helpful in recommending two restaurants for dinner. Finally, the hotel served a very nice breakfast in the morning with fresh bread and a decent selection of fruit, yogurt and meats. All in all this is a great hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Great location on the Douro River. Get a room with a balcony and you'll be happy. Careful though some rooms are priced the same as rooms with a balcony but are much smaller than others. Nice people, friendly service, pretty good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgold24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing