We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden House Hostel Porto
Ranked #28 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The best location in Porto amazing backyard area. Breakfast average. Unfortunately we were on a street side room which had a bit of exterior noise and were rooming with some older Asians which were inconsiderate really loud really early but just bad luck! Would reccomend and stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

Super hostel, perfect location in the city center (big shopping street), clean & beautiful building!! Sunny place (lots of light through the big windows + small green garden). Friendly & open-minded people. Towels, breakfast & lockers are available. Very cheap for what you get! Perfect place to chill out!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IneDebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We two has been to this hostel for two nights in September last year because our favourite one was full on this time so we went to this one.
This hostel is situated at the end of the biggest shopping street of Porto and so it was really not so good for a quiet stay there.
Also the outher guests in the hostel were more party people and respected less the wich of the outher guests to sleep.
The hostel was nice with free breakfast and a nice courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I chose these hostel due to the positive reviews I read on the Internet and for sure I was not disappointed! Really good place and very nice people! :) the position of the hostel is near the center and it's easy to each it by foot!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We came as a large group from the UK in the peak of last summer. The place was amazing, beautiful house with lovely garden/common room to chill out in. The kitchen was great and well equipped, which made the stay quite cheap as we could eat in whenever we wanted. The fridge full of beer was also great for emergencies. The staff made it, such a helpful reception, always there and know just about everything to do in Porto. They have also hooked up with a small touring agency that come round and offer free walking tours and pub crawls which were both a lot of fun. We stayed in the big dorms, and shared the communal bathrooms - they were massive and very clean.. never waited for a shower! Very centrally located aswell, we walked everywhere, and was very nice after a night out. We felt very safe, as the door was always manned and locked, and all the beds had loads of storage space below.

It was the cheapest hostel on our trip and by far and away the nicest. I cannot rave about this place any more, but you will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I came just by chance to This hostel in Porto because I had no reservation But I think, I made a good desition.
Ok, the hostel is situated in the main shoppinstreet of Porto but I have been there only for sleeping in for this it was all right.
Price-value relation was good and the breakfast was included in the ammount for staying.
Staff-rooms and bathrooms, everything Ok.
So folks, come arround And check it out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

It was a nice stay in this hostel even when we stayed only for one night there.
It was a warm welcome by the staff, they gave us two beds in a dorm and we slept like baby`s.
The hostel has everything you need, not everything is new anymore but in relation to the price it was Ok for sure.
The downside is really that the hostel is situated in the main shopping and tourist street so the noise is sometimes a problem.
Breakfast was standard, nothing special and a walk in the was also offert for free.
The other guests in the hostel and specely the guys in our room were fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Liliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#16 of 260 in Porto
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#5 of 260 in Porto
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#35 of 260 in Porto
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#4 of 260 in Porto
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oporto City Hostel
Oporto City Hostel
#41 of 260 in Porto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Hostel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hostel Porto

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 501, Porto 4000-452, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: £16 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Hostel is a new hostel in Oporto. Located in the heart of the old city, in the famous Rua de Santa Catarina, a pedestrian street where you can feel the Oporto essence, visit a wide range of restaurants, shops and cafes, as the well known "Cafe Majestic", an Art Nouveau icon where artists and intellectuals meet for a "cimbalino" (expresso). Also within walking distance are all the museums, Port wine cellars, the Douro River and the cool Oporto nightlife. After a day of walking and sightseeing, nothing feels better than returning to the beautiful 19th century house where the Garden House Hostel is installed. The building has been fully restored and improved, with all the modern commodities, and has a wonderful garden where you can relax, have a glass of wine, read a book... feel at home in a cozy, warm and friendly atmosphere! From the Hostel you can catch the riverside tram to the sea and the beaches at "Foz". With its restaurants, bars and promenade, you can enjoy the sun in one of the iconic places of Oporto. In the summer don't forget to pack your sunscreen and beach towel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Garden House Hostel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing