We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel”
Review of HF Tuela Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HF Tuela Porto
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    324
    114
    12
    12
See reviews for
119
215
24
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very nice 3 star Hotel, very well located, friendly staff , good breakfast for a 3 star Hotel, garage, internet available, confortable, nice restaurants nearby, near "Casa da Música" the best Concert Hall of Porto.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed there for a week since it was near the university. The hotel is clean and comfortable - deserving more then 3 stars. It is located perfectly - close enough to the old city (20 min walk) and near shoping centers. It felt very safe to walk at night. This hotel was definitely worth the money. I should also mention the staff which were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel is very well located at Porto. It is close to the historic centre, and next to metro station and shopping center. Besides, the staff and services are great. The city itself is very nice and organized. The access from the airport to the hotel is easy; there are lots of free-ways that facilitate traffic

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icavalcantifilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I past one night at Tuela Hotel and everything was fine.
The guys at the Reception where kind, the room clean and equipped with every confort.
Also it was very fast and easy to get to the city center,
we had a nice little walk and to return we catched a bus which arrived near to the Hotel.
In any case visit Oporto, it's just a wonderful city!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malveira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here last week for a couple of nights.

Rooms were clean! Staff were pleasant!

We booked a room for two persons but were told we would have to pay a premium for a double bed instead of two single beds! Sorry don't get this policy. Needless to say we stuck with two single beds!

Although wifi was free, the quality was patchy. I am an IT tech and it seems to me their routers/internet back-bone were not up to handling a large volume of traffic. I complained about it and the routers were restarted. Quality was alright for a while but soon degraded again. If you are on business or need Internet access, beware!

This hotel is an ideal location for anyone visiting the BoaVista/Casa de Musica area of Porto. However, the Metro is 12 minutes away. There is a good shopping centre nearby and an excellent cafe/restaurant over the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlaventoexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When we arrived at Tuela hotel, we were given a room that did not match our online reservation. We booked for an economy double, and we were given a twin room. When we complained at the front desk, a manager of the hotel refused to upgrade us, even if she admitted they had availabilty.

They claimed that we made our booking on a website that was not their partner, and that the advertised room did not actually exist. That was a plain lie, since we booked the room from www.tuelaportohotel.com which is clearly their website.

It was only after threatening to inform the organizers of our conference about the fact, that the manager proposed us a double room at a discounted rate. We agreed, even if we were still not satisfied since we had to pay more than what established at the time of the booking.

But here comes the worst part. When we asked for the final bill, the manager and the receptionists started to calculate the balance speaking in Portoguese. They presented us 3 different estimates in 10 minutes, all wrong! Their final version of the bill did not consider that we already paid 52 euros at the time of the online booking, under the voice "DEPOSIT". We told them so, and their reply was: "The 52€ of deposit were a booking fee, and we shall not subtract them from the bill".

So, they stole our deposit. We complained vehemently, but there was no way to change their position. Obviously at that point we canceled our booking, left the Tuela hotel and found a room in a nearby hotel.

They even told us they were kind to us because they did not force us to pay the cancelation fee. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank coccoinomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at HF Tuela Porto, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Customer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion with us.
First of all we would like to inform you that our website is www.hfhotels.com and also we do not have the reference "Economy Double".
The only site where we guarantee the double bed, is though our real website, which was not the case.
Also, we would like to inform that we did not take your deposit, because there was no deposit at all. At the reservation moment is asked a credit card, in order to guarantee the reservation, as mentioned in reservation conditions.
The hotel reserves the right to make a pre- authorization in order to verify, if the credit card can really guarantee the first night in case of no show.
However, this is not a charge and it disappears from client extract within 2 weeks at most.
We apologize for all this misunderstanding facts, however, considering the occupancy of hotel, we did our best to provide you a good experience with us.
My best regards,

Marta Martins
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#29 of 106 in Porto
1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#38 of 106 in Porto
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 106 in Porto
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#34 of 106 in Porto
714 reviews
1.8 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#48 of 106 in Porto
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Tuela Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Tuela Porto

Property: HF Tuela Porto
Address: Rua Arquiteto Marques da Silva 200, Porto 4150-483, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Porto
#21 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Tuela Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 1597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saving with quality is at HF Tuela Porto.Paying less does not mean you have to leave something out.This is not a hotel with minimum services but one that adapts itself to the actual needs of its guests. The quality of our services is side by side with the other group hotels and the clients' satisfaction is faced with the same dedication. Even in the South Wing of the HF Tuela Porto, where prices are irresistible, the rooms are equipped with Cable TV and SPORTV, the bathroom is equipped with hairdryer and the towels are changed everyday. The cleaning service is also performed daily and the breakfast service is available as an option. The Wi-Fi Internet is free and it is available in the entire hotel. Its amazing location is priceless: located in Boavista, the HF Tuela Porto has the public transportation network right at its door and it is very closed to Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota, Soares dos Reis Museum, as well as an endless number of restaurants with extended working hours and several night life spots. The HF Tuela Porto is the perfect choice for those who do not want to leave anything out, even saving money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HF Tuela Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Tuela Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Tuela Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Tuela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing