We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a long weekend in Porto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just come back from a fantastic weekend in the fabulus City of Porto.

This hotel was perfect for our needs, well placed and for the price was excellent value for money. The corridors are dark as others have mentioned, but this is part of the theme as it is an old renovated Cinema.

Very clean and the staff were brilliant, from the receptionists to the cleaners (who provided us with extra hangers - Just ask them if you need them!)

Didn't have breakfast here as we preferred to use the many small cafe bars nearby, though we did have the odd beer in the bar/patio garden which for a euro you cant grumble at : )

Loved Porto and would not hesitate to stay here if we return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coogs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Coogs34,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our city so much and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Modern and clean hotel in excellent location. Great value for money. But a number of things did not work. One of the bedside lights was out of action. Also the window blinds would not stay open and when we did try and open one the apparatus broke. We reported this and were told the technician had gone home for the day and would mend it next day but this didnt happen. The breakfast was good but very chaotic trying to get the food, cutlery etc, all laid out in a corner and then eating it in a fairly dark room. On balance great value hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear CoolCaro,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We're very sorry you have faced some problems with one of the bedside lights and with the window blinds. We regret to hear that it was not solved during your stay. We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon.
Comments like the one you made about the access to the breakfast counter certainly motivate us to do better and we will soon enlarge the room to improve that.
Nevertheless, we are very happy that those setbacks didn't spoil your opinion about our hotel and great value set. Also we could not agree more that the central location is excellent.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We used this hotel for an afternoon base whilst waiting for a late flight home.
We had been at the Quality Hotel opposite and thought this hotel maybe an improvement.

How right we were. The rooms are clean and modern...similar to the Motel One chain in Germany.
The Wifi was free and was easy to get on.

The only problem we could see, was that no hairdryers are provided in the rooms.
You can get one from reception (need to leave a deposit or similar) however when we asked for one, they were all out.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly and spoke good English.

We would certainly consider this hotel for our next stay in Porto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear encodeme,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your afternoon stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro. We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments on our guests' experiences.
You really seem to have understood what strong values really define us in the budget segment and for that we are delighted. We of course regret that you could not borrow one hairdryer.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon, hopefully for a little big longer.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We arrived quite early after a red eye flight from Canada. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that check in is at 2:00 PM and that they would hold our luggage. All very nice. We wandered around for a couple of hours, had some breakfast, and returned around noon. I realize this is before the check in time, but every other hotel that I have stayed at (there are many, as I travel for business) always have rooms that are ready before check in. Perhaps I'm being picky, but they didn't even check when we asked, but stated the standard check in time. There is a lounge area above the reception area, so we wandered up there and relaxed on the sofas. I'm sure we napped as we were exhausted from the overnight flight as we don't usually get much sleep on those.
After 2 PM, we received our room. The room is typical for Europe, being small, but efficient in it's use. What the room is missing is any type of dresser where you can unpack. The clothes rod has 3 hangers, which for us is far too few. The front desk will supply a hair dryer upon request, but they do not have an iron at all. We were told there is a laundry service in the Via Catarina mall, about 500m down the road.
Breakfast is €6 per person, per day. It is a basic self serve continental buffet. There are several small places in the area with a better selection for not much more.
For €46 per night, I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowerPlayNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear PowerPlayNS,
First of all, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
In fact, although we have 125 rooms and check-in time is from 2pm, our staff is committed and used to handling with requests for an early check-in, which they always do if there are available rooms (that might have been the issue). We're sorry this was inconvenient, especially as you have arrived from a long flight.
We also think that our stylishly furnished rooms present all the essential items for a comfortable rest, but of course we appreciate your suggestions regarding the unpack area, number hangers and the iron absence. B&B is clearly positioned at the budget segment and its often rewarded concept is always in motion, so very much value our guests' contributions towards the improvement of our service.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We got a good stay in this modern hotel with the most beatiful facade (old cinema). Modern, clean, quiet, not expensive (with huge pictures of American movie stars on the walls).
Friendly, informative staff.
Placed in the heart of (maybe) the most exciting/beautiful city in Europe. Down and up on the streets and bridges you will get not only unforgetable impressions of the fantastic houses, facades, but also a lot of excercise...
Looking for a good bar/restaurant... Do not look for long: just vis a vis to the hotel is it a bar placed (that one to left...), which is giving the best grilled fishes (robalo...), plus a good local beer for all together c. 10 EUR !
And do not forget a cop of cappucino in one of the most beautiful coffe houses in Europe: Cafe Majestic (perfect Art Neaveau...); It is much cheaper than a cappucino in a trivial caffeteria in other cities in (North) Europe...
We will come to Porto again! And we will stay in Hotel BB Porto Centro.
Beata and Wladimir, Copenhagen

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vova4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Beata and Wladimir H,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro. Thank you so much for your kindness.
We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed Porto and that we have succeeded in making your stay so pleasant.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The room was very clean, modern and quite large. The Hotel is located in the heart of Porto, all places of interests are in walking distance. I recommend to pay the non-included breakfast for EUR 6 - it is a fair offer of bread, juices and fruit. Parking for the car is possible in a garage for EUR 7 a day (300 meters away from the Hotel).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Raphael F,
Thank you very much for posting your accurate comments on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased to receive them, mainly as you have enhanced our cleanliness, location and contemporary decor, as well as our fair offer concerning the breakfast buffet.
We hope that you've enjoyed our city and that we may host you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel with 2 friends and a 3 year old with us, they gave us one of the family rooms (326) and I cannot complain about anything except the damp smell in the bathroom (they seem not to have anything to circulate the air). No problem if you don't leave the door closed. Also, this hotel is at the end of a very nice shopping street and close to the metro. We taught the open buffet, continental breakfast was also the 5 something euros we paid. I would stay at this hotel again when in Porto.

Room Tip: The garden is quite a dire sight, I would suggest to choose the rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leolion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Leolion13,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We regret to hear that you have faced an unusual bad smell. We will certainly check up on that. Thank you for indicating your room number. Anyaway, we're very glad it didn't bother you so much and that you could enjoy our hotel and its great location within walking distance from metro stations, main monuments and shopping streets.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#26 of 111 in Porto
1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,446 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing