We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good hotel and great location”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

stayed for 3 nights in early october. Was happy with hotel , staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is very good. Had breakfast the first day and did not think it was value for money, plenty of cafes nearby that were better value. Had a problem with blind in room on which the string was broken reported to the staff and a repairman arrived but spoke no english and loked at blind and left without fixing.But overall was happy with stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wairky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear wairky,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We're sorry for the inconvenient with the blackout string you've experienced, but hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon.
We appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially in what staff are concerned, who are always helpful and trying to make our guests' lives easier.
We hope to be able to host you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    1,158
    203
    32
    18
See reviews for
356
1,319
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Heard about this hotel from our friends who live in Porto. Fantastic location. Love the cinematic theme, which added a lot of character to the place. Staff was really friendly & accommodating. Nice showers. Downside - didn't really think paying an extra EUR 5 for breakfast was worth it. All in all, great value. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Shaheentherani,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
It makes us truly happy we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and that you will recommend us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

First, the good: Very cheap, decent location right behind the National Theater. Not too far of a walk to the nearest metro station. Some decent restaurants nearby (loved Cafe Santiago). Quiet, no-frills, average-sized room. Free Wi-Fi with strong signal.

The bad: Definitely your average budget european soul-less chain hotel, 30-minute wait (with only one person in front of me in line) to check in as they only had one person at the front desk. A keycode system for the door locks, so you have to punch in a series of numbers to get into your room--which is really not a con, just a little different.
Poorly-designed shower enclosure with no door, which makes it impossible to shower without getting water all over the bathroom. Visible mold in the bathroom grout.

As an aside, I did not get a good vibe walking around the area after dark (we're talking 8-9PM here, not 2AM) as a solo female. I've traveled pretty extensively by myself and lived in some big cities including NYC, so I'm not just an indiscriminate wimp--it was nothing I could put my finger on, as there were usually other people around, but for some reason my instincts just didn't like Praca da Batalha. Overall I felt pretty safe in Porto and Portugal, though.

Bottom line--it's perfectly adequate, especially for the very cheap price, but it's nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel and worth staying at. There is no parking at the hotel but there is an associated car park recommended by the hotel a short walk away. It reminded me of the car park in the film Ferris Beullers Day Off so you might not want to leave your dad´s Ferrari there!! The rooms are simple and comfortable. A bit like a posh Travelodge really. Some of the rooms are grouped off so if you are with several friends using more than one room you can seclude yourselves from the rest of the clientele. Eg. we reserved 2 rooms and there was a separate door to access them, kind of like a mini foyer accessed only by using the entry code for either room then you use the access code for your own room. I wouldn´t really recommend using the bar or paying extra for the breakfast. It´s self service coffee and snacks from a dispenser when it is unstaffed. There is a pretty good family run cafe just opposite which isn´t bad. There is one setback about this place. When you take a shower you can´t help but get the whole bathroom floor wet no matter how hard you try as there is no proper screen. The rooms are very spacious though and there are old photos of Hollywood stars hanging on the walls to keep to the cinema theme. Ours was of Cary Grant and Grace Kelly and the room next door had a lovely picture of Ingrid Bergman in it. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they are more secluded from the rest of them and are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatsallthatabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Whatsallthatabout,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments and to acknowledge that some minor setbacks didn't spoil your opinion about our hotel and brand. We are, in fact, delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our budget concept. We have especially appreciated your comments enhancing our cinema theme and our great rooms.
We also thank you for the comment about the shower protection. B&B concept is often rewarded as we also value our guests' contributions towards the improvement of our service. We will definetely correct that issue.
Regarding our parking, we will open our private parking until the end of the year, so you can leave your dad's Ferrari without concerns in your next stay with us :-)
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Seven of us went to Porto for a short break from the heat of the Algarve. The Hotel B&B was chosen because of all the positive reports on Tripadvisor - and we weren't disappointed! Although the rooms weren't the biggest we've stayed in, it didn't matter as we were out all day. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean. The staff were very attentive and extremely helpful.
We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as there were several good cafes in the immediate vicinity.
On the down side, one of our party was a lady on her own who was not impressed with the lack of adequate lighting in the corridor to her room. We realised that this was part of the 'cinema' theme, but couldn't the lighting be improved, even slightly?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear bigboz,
Thank you very much for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor, which may help other travelers. Also thank you for your suggestions concerning corridor lights. They are indeed part of the cinema theme. But as we value our guests' contributions towards the improvement of our service we will certainly consider your suggestion.
We hope to be able to host you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just come back from a fantastic weekend in the fabulus City of Porto.

This hotel was perfect for our needs, well placed and for the price was excellent value for money. The corridors are dark as others have mentioned, but this is part of the theme as it is an old renovated Cinema.

Very clean and the staff were brilliant, from the receptionists to the cleaners (who provided us with extra hangers - Just ask them if you need them!)

Didn't have breakfast here as we preferred to use the many small cafe bars nearby, though we did have the odd beer in the bar/patio garden which for a euro you cant grumble at : )

Loved Porto and would not hesitate to stay here if we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coogs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Coogs34,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our city so much and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Modern and clean hotel in excellent location. Great value for money. But a number of things did not work. One of the bedside lights was out of action. Also the window blinds would not stay open and when we did try and open one the apparatus broke. We reported this and were told the technician had gone home for the day and would mend it next day but this didnt happen. The breakfast was good but very chaotic trying to get the food, cutlery etc, all laid out in a corner and then eating it in a fairly dark room. On balance great value hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear CoolCaro,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We're very sorry you have faced some problems with one of the bedside lights and with the window blinds. We regret to hear that it was not solved during your stay. We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon.
Comments like the one you made about the access to the breakfast counter certainly motivate us to do better and we will soon enlarge the room to improve that.
Nevertheless, we are very happy that those setbacks didn't spoil your opinion about our hotel and great value set. Also we could not agree more that the central location is excellent.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 106 in Porto
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#30 of 106 in Porto
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing