We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING VALUE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING VALUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a modern hotel built behind the facade of a classic cinema. It is ideally located next to the main shopping street and a short taxi ride down to the Port Lodges and restaurant area on the bustling banks of the Douro river. The rooms are well designed, clean and functional and priced at just €46 (even less in winter) and as such are remarkable value. We did not have breakfast in the hotel but instead used the local cafes, which were fine. Secure covered parking was nearby and reasonable at €7 per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisDoonVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear LisDoonVarna,
Thank you very much for posting your sharp comments on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding to receive such smart ones.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    1,103
    198
    32
    18
See reviews for
338
1,265
89
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great location. Very clean and new. Comfortable bed. Wi-fi was on and off, so that was a bit annoying. My only real complaint though was that there was no hairdryer. There were about 15 people at the desk when I went to ask for one, and I didn't have the time to wait my turn. Unfortunately, mornings were cool and my wet hair left me chilled. If there had been a hairdryer in the room, my rating would have been 5 stars for this type of lodging.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAquohoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear MAquohoag,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We're very sorry you have faced some problems with the wi-fi service in your stay. It's not usual.
In fact, we do not have hairdryer in the rooms and have a few to borrow on the Reception. We regret that you couldn't have one to avoid your chill.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences, so we can try and do our best to make your stay as pleasant as it should be.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a budget hotel but does a good job of keeping things nice. The location is great, right on Praca da Batalha, next to the Rua da Catarina shopping area and about 10-15 minutes' walk to the waterfront. The good: Friendly staff, clean, stylish modern decor, comfortable beds. Looks more expensive than it is. The less-good: Tiny rooms--not good if you are there to work, little closet space, and the smallest breakfast I've seen in a Portuguese hotel. There's enough food, but it's mostly basic breads, cereal, cheeses, yogurt, and fruit. Other places I've been have had more eye-popping selections--mountains of different pastries, eggs, meats, etc--so this is comparatively minimal. But, it's a basic hotel so this shouldn't be a huge shock--and the automated espresso machine makes surprisingly good cafe au laits. One other thing to watch out for are the steep stairs you immediately encounter when you enter the hotel and head for the lobby--they're a bit of a challenge if you're carrying many bags.

All in all, though, a very good deal. I rarely felt like I was in a low-budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happily_Peripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Happily_Peripatetic,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor, especially for enhancing our cleanliness, our staff friendliness and our comfortable beds. As you've said, as a budget hotel we are, we are always committed to provide "a great place for a great price" as appreciated and highlighted in most reviews.
Comments like the ones you made about our breakfast buffet, about the closet and the stairs, certainly motivate us to do better. In fact, we are already planning a ramp for the main entrance to improve the access with heavy lugagge.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon and from recommending us.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is really all you know for staying in Porto. It is right in the main shopping area with lots of cafes, shops and attractions near by. If you don't mind walking you can pretty much walk everywhere you need to go from here! If not, there are two metros close by (within 10 minutes walking). Careful! Some of the streets are quite vertical around this area... head one street left or right to avoid walking up steep hills! The hotel itself was simple, nothing special to it. However, the bathroom was really nice and the receptionist were very helpful! Breakfast was over priced but was else is expected of a hotel breakfast. It's okay if you need a quick bite before heading off to travel. There is a restaurant called Book Restaurant that was stumbled upon by accident... maybe 10-15 minutes by walk and the food is incredible!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Taylor J,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
We also thank you for the review about the breakfast. However, we must say that for the price of 5,95 per adult and 2,80 per child you find a fair offer of bread, cheese, ham, jam, coffee, milk, juices and fruit and so on.
In fact, having saved your budget with us, with a guarantee of a great place for a great price, you are then able to enjoy the city, and its great offers, like Book Restaurant. That's also part of our B&B philosophy.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

a no-frills hotel, but good and cheap. Room was quiet, bed was comfortable, room cleaning was nicely done, front desk service was friendly and efficient. Location is OK - not too far from Sao Bento metro station (but uphill, so don't drag too heavy a suitcase!). Breakfast is a bit uninspired, but there are a number of reasonable local cafes within 100m where you can fill up cheaply.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear LancasterPaul,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
Let me just take the opportunity and share with you another guest tip : if you are coming on the metro from the airport, your stop is Bolhão. You then do not need to worry about hills.
We also thank you for the comment about the breakfast.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is excellent value. It is very modern in feel and although it might be described as lacking in character, it is clean and tidy throughout. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom spotless and the shower powerful and hot. As mentioned elsewhere, the water from the shower can easily spray the rest of the bathroom, but this is a minor problem.

There is a wall-mounted TV (size is appropriate to the size of the room) with a choice of about 60 channels, several in English and many more with subtitled American or British shows.

In keeping with the cinema theme, the lighting in the corridors is subdued (and also motion-sensitive), but again this is not a problem when you get used to it.

We took breakfast in the hotel on the first morning to check it out and then decided to breakfast there on the remaining days. Although some of the cafes nearby might be a better option, we were happy with the buffet breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty of variety and of course you could take as much as you wanted. Coffee was from a machine, but with a bit of judicious button-pushing it was possible to get a good strong coffee to our taste.

The location of the hotel is ideal, being very close to Avenida dos Aliados, the central square of Porto, and to São Bento, the main train station. If arriving into São Bento, the hotel is up a short but steep hill. I read elsewhere that one should not consider tackling this hill with luggage. If you have wheels on your bags this advice can be ignored!

However if you are coming into Porto on the metro from the airport, your stop is Bolhão. You then do not need to worry about hills. From Bolhão metro station it is a 10 minute fairly flat walk to the hotel, along Rua Santa Catarina, a pedestrianised shopping street. Along the way you pass one of Porto’s attractions, the Art Deco style Majestic Cafe, which is well worth a visit.

The hotel is situated in Praca da Batalha. This square has a number of small cafes and restaurants and a couple of larger hotels, as well as the National Theatre building. While the square does not feel unsafe at night, it is not particularly attractive or inviting either. However it did not stop us having a late-night coffee there every evening.

Apart from one tram ride out to Passeio Alegre, we walked everywhere in Porto. Porto is a hilly city but walking is the best way to explore any city. A walk across the Douro on the Dom Luis 1 bridge to Vila Nova di Gaia will get you an amazing view of the city.

I would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Grth,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
Your review was so flattering and honest that I will dare to post it in our Facebook page!
It makes us truly happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and concept. We couldn't make any repair to your review and can only wish that any traveller may trust your smart words.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a great hotel, I'm thrilled we found it. First off, it's a budget hotel. Nothing fancy. If you're up for that, it's really a perfect place.

First, we paid 46 Euros a night for a double bed room with 2 people. The room (and entire hotel) was clean and modern looking. Bed was good and we slept well. It was quiet both nights (a Friday and a Saturday). Best 46 Euro hotel ever...

As some others have mentioned, the bathroom set up is a little quirky. You *will* get the floor wet when you shower...a bit of an engineering mistake, it would seem. The glass partition just doesn't keep the water in. We threw a towel down and it was fine, problem solved.

Other than that, no complaints about the place. It's centrally located and surrounded by little cafe's. We didn't get the breakfast and tried 2 places within a 5 minute walk...both were great.

If you're looking for a place for a quick stay and don't want to break the bank...stay here. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear BodenseeAustria,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments (about our location, price and cleanliness), and to learn that you've enjoyed our philosophy as a budget hotel we are. We couldn't agree more. Also thank you for your comment about the shower protection issue, which we will certainly correct.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you (and your friends) again soon.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#32 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing