We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a lovely stay.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A beautiful hotel ideally located to the centre of Porto just 10 mins walk to where it all happens on the Riberia. From the moment we made contact with this hotel to the moment we left after our 4 night stay everything was dealt with so professionally and in a very friendly manner. On arrival we requested 2 more pillows and extra clothes hangers and they were delivered to our room immediately with a friendly smile. We were allocated a lovely quiet room and for the 4 nights we never heard a sound despite this hotel being very busy on 2 nights of our stay over Easter. The cleanliness and ambience is excellent. Really loved the shower could have stayed there for hours!! You just need to put extra towels on the floor for the water that spills out from the shower cubicle. Towels are changed every day with an option of having the sheets changed daily as well. Room was very spacious very well laid out. We loved the dimly lit corridors to the bedroom. We didn't have breakfast here any morning as we didn't want to be tied to time we were on a city break so it was excellent having the option. We had late breakfast/early lunch some days just outside the hotel as there are so many coffee shops and restaurants that cater for that and reasonably priced. Local transport is almost on the door step. Any information we needed was immediatey advised to us by the friendly ladies at reception. We got the metro from the airport to Bolhão and it was just a short stroll down Santa Catarina Street to the hotel on Praca da Batalha square . Would definitely recommend this hotel and if we ever return we will be staying here again. As is says its a "Hotel B&B" very well priced and excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eirlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear MODublin.
What can possibly be said?! THANK YOU so much for your kindness. Your review is so so flattering that I dare to say that you are a perfect client for the concept of a B&B hotel :-)
Your review is probably one of the nicest we ever had! It is undoubtedly a detailed and lovely review which we hope that can help the ones interested in visiting Porto!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or in Évora!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,140
    202
    32
    18
See reviews for
352
1,295
93
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance to the major sites of Porto. Staff are very friendly. Rooms very clean and modern. Definitely be staying here on next visit to Porto - value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa4832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Lisa4832,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We couldn't agree more on the value for money positioning!
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future, here in Porto or in Évora!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a very basic hotel. The rooms are very small, the television is tiny, the bathroom is very small also.

However it is all lovely and clean, fresh and well kept. The prices are extremely competitive and the upkeep of the hotel is second to none. The shower was a rainfall type with superb water pressure.

Lacking a minibar, no extra pillows and the bed was very soft, so bare that in mind if you have back problems.

The central location combined with price and clean rooms make it a great budget stay.

Try the little barbecue restaurant across the street if you are staying here, next to the Mercure Hotel, I have reviewed it also. It is fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are standard class and basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear babsontour,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to post certainly motivate us to always try to do better, although within the budget segment, where we are certain of offerering "a great place for a great price"!
We are particularly happy for your kind words about our location, cleanliness and budget!!
It's a wonderful combination for a city trip, isn't it?
We hope to be able to host you again soon, here or in Évora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We recently stayed four night at Hotel B&B Porto based on reviews from trip advisor that price of the rooms. The location is great. It is a short walk from the E line metro station and convient to all of the tourist sights. The rooms are also clean with comfortable beds. My only complaint is the fact that the rooms do not have a hair dryer available. The front desk does have a few, but when I asked there were none available. I travel frequently and have never encountered a hotel that did not provide hair dryers. I also found the breakfast on the sparse side. Some type of egg would be great. Otherwise, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Susan4226,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the hair dryer, I must agree that we actually do not display it inside our rooms but have some to borrow to our guests. Although it may be very useful, especially for long hairs, we decided not to included in our Essentials.
Also thank you for your observation concerning our breakfast.
Nevertheless, it seems that you understood our goal that is to provide a great place, at a central location, with free wi-fi, for a great price!
And we look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future, here or in Évora, the second Portuguese city, UNESCO heritage, where we will open a second property this Summer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Hotel B&B Porto Centro. This is a beautiful Art Deco building which formerly housed a theatre. Although it's only rated as a 2 star hotel, accommodations are a great value for the money. The rooms are clean and the decorations, minimalist. There is a lounge on the first floor; wifi is free. The hallways are quite dark, like a movie theatre; but, it's easy to find your room as each door is lit. There were two things which, if changed, would make the stay more enjoyable: the pillows and pillowcases were very uncomfortable. The pillowcases were of poor quality and had pilling. The parking garage was horrendous to get into, unless you drive a tiny car like a Smart car! We were in a Peugeot 308 and there was less than 6" of space on either side of the car as we drove in (and we had both mirrors turned in). The staff were quite friendly, however. The hotel is within walking distance to all the major attractions.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear SRQC,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy your stay with us was enjoyable and that our cinema theme was able to please you. The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
Nevertheless, we regret to hear that you had some difficulties with our parking garage and that you did not enjoyed our pillows.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon, here in Porto or in Evora in our next hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I've had the chance to spend 3 days in Porto during a trip to Portugal with my boyfriend and we're glad we visited this amazing city and stayed in this hotel. We were looking for a clean, well located and basically cheap place and we don't regret our choice.
We came by train from Lisbon at the Sao Bento railway station, it was a short walk to the hotel, it is indeed, if not that we had 2 big suitcases and the way was very steep - maybe there's a shortcut to avoid the grind but we didn't know - so we recommend spending a few euro and take a cab.
We were given a warm welcome, our room was essential, cosy, but I regret having requested an higher floor when booking as if on the one hand we got a fourth floor (the building has also a fifth but it is in the rear), on the other it overlooked nothing, I mean, only if we overly leaned we kinda of imagined the square (Praça da Batalha) in front of us. We were behind the hotel façade, and maybe this is the only point against our experience there.
Pros: ideally located, breakfast was healthy and got plenty of choice, friendly staff that assisted us with directions and a cab reservation for 3 am on our last day, comfortable bed, free wi-fi, they brought us extra pillows and a hairdryer, great price.
Cons: on our first morning, there was a power outage, so we had no water and electricity for like 3 hours, the view from the room, the shower stall that you could not close so bathroom floor got wet after each shower, and one thing that is not due to the hotel: the area doesn't look safe after 8 pm, maybe it's because we visited in winter and weather was hostile.

I'd go back to this hotel, though. Thank you everyone for a really nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Bee1216,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments.
We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed Oporto and your stay with us.
We are very sorry for the power outage and for the inconvenient that it may have caused you.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to email us in advance so that we can choose you a room view overlooking our nice garden.
And if you can come in Summer we are sure you will find the downtown area a whole lot more appealing.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or in our next hotel in Evora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

You won't believe the curb view of this hotel. They restored a marvellous Art-Deco front of a building which housed a theatre. We found Portugal very conscious of preserving heritage architecture, although there are a good number of buildings waiting their turn. This front hides a modern hotel, opened in 2011. Very eco-friendly, right down to the dimly-lit corridors to your room. Everything you need for modest prices and impecably clean. We only stayed one night so can't speak for service. We didn't eat breakfast there as we enjoyed walking a few meters to a café in the square just outside but the location is great in the old part of the city. You can't miss with this hotel if you are looking for good accommodation, not luxurious, but with its own charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Sheila C,
Thank you for your review. We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments.
You really seem to have understood our concept! We are also delighted to learn that you have appreciated our rehabilitation of the emblematic movie theatre.
We hope to be able to host you again soon, here or in our second hotel in Evora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing