We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Good location, modern and nice decorated hotel , good as regards the price/quality ratio, quiet, comfortable and clean room, nice and friendly staff. Good breakfast, even if not very rich. Very comfortable beds, very good cleaned bathroom. Although our room was in front of Batalha Praca, it was a very quiet room - we slept very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,140
    202
    32
    18
See reviews for
352
1,295
93
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Good prices and good location are the hotel's best qualities. Our room was quiet and plainly decorated. Mould in the shower and a leaky door will make your time in the bathroom quick. The breakfast is poor quality, and though cheap it will add ten percent to the cost of your room. Skip it for one of the nearby cafes. Restaurants on the square are poor quality.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This place should not be used! You will catch something nasty! The carpets are a disgrace, and if I had a dog I would not let it sleep on these ones, let alone you walk on them with bare feet. It could be so great but they have cut staff and the cleaning has had to suffer. Stains on the walls, inpacted dirt in the showers etc etc etc. The area outside was frequented by beggars and will put off many people staying there.( This is not the hotels fault I may say.) Air Conditioning does not work on the 5th floor, likewize the extractor in the bathroom. It probably was good hotel when it first opened, BUT they have not kept up the standards. Reception staff helpful but very scruffy like the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stellaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Porto for one week in June. Hotel B&B Porto was the perfect hotel from which to explore the city, as well as explore the surrounding Douro Valley. The hotel is very modern and stylish. Because this hotel used to be an old theatre, the hotel is decorated with black and white images of old actors and actresses. The hallways to the hotel rooms are dark, the floors are lined with lighting- much like in a movie theatre. The bedrooms are very clean. We were delighted to return to our room each evening and see that it had been immaculately cleaned once again. The rooms were also very quiet, and the shower was incredible (you should see the size of the shower head!). As for the location, it is situated near the shopping area at Rua Santa Catarina. From here you can easily reach the water front in 10 minutes (by foot). There is a grocery store within 5 minutes walk, and several nice pastry shops are just a few steps away.The only downsides of this hotel are: (1) it is situated atop a very long, steep street, so I can imagine this might be a problem for older tourists without a car; (2) the hotel breakfast (which is optional) was disappointing and not worth the 6 Euro per day. After we tried the breakfast once, we decided to eat our daily breakfast elsewhere. All in all, we would definitely return to this hotel again if we are in Porto!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Good hotel, nice hotel and good location.the stuff r very nice. I like the decoration and the concept of the hotel.
I like very much the pictures in the rooms and in the lobby. The room r very clean and comfortable.
The pries is faire.
. I will come back.

Room Tip: Good hotel, nice hotel and good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinag744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and found our 5 th floor room to be clean and mostly comfortable. The breakfast was very good but the coffee machine was slow and malfunctioned frequently. Many important attractions were within easy walking distance as were the trams, bus station and train station . Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our room and our neighbours room did not work and was not fixed after 3 reports to the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I lived in Porto until 1968 and this building was an old cinema (Águia d’Ouro) where I saw a lot of movies. So, for me, as I arrive to B&B, I always remember the cinema.
B&B has an excellent location and a good value for money. In case you have a car, there are parking around, even in the hotel, but I did not use it.
The rooms are comfortable (TV is too small) and quiet even those on the front, because of the 2 double glass windows.
WiFi is free and strong in public areas, although not so strong in some rooms.
Breakfast is OK and not expensive.
On the 1 st floor there is a very nice public area where you can relax. Watch TV or work, with a few tables and comfortable chairs.
It is very easy to get a taxi, the 22 tramway (and other public transports) stops at 150 m and Funicular dos Guindais is not far, some 500 m walking in the direction of Teatro S. João.
I’ve mention Funicular dos Guindais because it is “must experience”: it takes you in 2 minutes down to Douro River and “Ribeira” area.
A final word for the staff: I've stayed a few times and have the feeling that they are not as friendly as they should be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMDuarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#30 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing