We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but construction works annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Den Haag
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great, but construction works annoying”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great, modern hotel. A bit wear and tear here and there, and aircon not working, but for the price and its location a very good option. Breakfast not much but OK (not included in the price).
A big HOWEVER. Construction works adjacent to the hotel (an extension if I'm right) are underway (and it will take some time I could tell), meaning a lot of noise from 8 in the morning till 6 PM, except on Sundays. So if you like to sleep or relax between these hours, reconsider!
Would recommend when works are over...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilhornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    1,190
    208
    34
    18
See reviews for
375
1,350
95
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This was more than a B&B. Modern but no-frills hotel conveniently located near the central railway station in a restored period building. Clean, tiled bathroom and comfortable spacious bedroom. The multilingual staff on reception were helpful and gave good advice on what do do on a short visit to see the best of Porto. A comfortable lounge area and good wifi service. I only stayed one night, but would definitely come back next time I'm in beautiful Porto. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Likelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

"+":
-good location
-perfect view from balcony
-wifi
-cheap
-clean and comfortable rooms

"-":
-no

Very good hotel, for 49€ it's the best I've ever had.
Very good hotel, for 49€ it's the best I've ever had.
Very good hotel, for 49€ it's the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

In Sept I stayed 5 nights at the B&B Porto, and was delighted to find the staff welcoming and informative. Did not buy the breakfasts since I'd found a number of nearby cafes/bars that offered good value. I definitely would stay at B&B Porto again, and hope to do so next year. Porto is an interesting, well-kept up city with good seafood--especially cod.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a nice looking hotel both on the inside and the outside. It's location is good and within walking distance to pleasant shopping streets - Santa Caterina and the Bolhao market with many nearby cafes and restaurants. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. Only drawbacks were the fact that the wifi was a little dodgy in the room (but very strong in the main foyer); there was no hairdryer in the room, which I thought was very odd and rather basic (I had to ask and go and fetch one from the reception); we had to ask for extra pillows because we were only provided with one thin one each and the loo seat was very wobbly! Otherwise it was a comfy big bed and cool tiled bathroom with good water pressure. If you want some creature comforts like nice toiletries, rather than a big squeezy shower gel and a hairdryer then this would be a little too basic for you. However, it was overall good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroCerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I loved this wonderful gem that is centrally located in Porto! An incredible value in a very cool atmosphere - modern, sleek and so unique (it was an old movie theater). I highly recommend this to visitors of Porto as it is the full package!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

So I booked a b&b and ended up in a hotel from a chain. But in their defense, that's what they offer, no more, no less, and value for money. Quality is good fot these prices and paying in advance takes care of queues at the reception the next day. Just when you think this concept is a bit too mechanic there is the wonderful help at the reception when needed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#31 of 108 in Porto
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#32 of 108 in Porto
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing