We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value, clean and spacious.. can´t believe it´s a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I went with 4 other friends to Porto for the weekend. Booked the Porto Centro because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and we didn't get it wrong. We were expecting a normal b&b but the price was excellent (47 euros per room per night for double occupancy), rooms were clean and really big. Asked for extra pillows and duvets and we got them the next day without asking twice. Location was difficult to beat and continental breakfast at just under 6 euros was cheaper than the coffee place just opposite the b&b. if i ever go back to Porto (i loved the city so I probably will) I will not hesitate to come back here. I still cannot believe it is a 2*. Only one thing to mention - but it did not change just my opinion just a bit- bring your hairdryer as there is none in the room. Other than that, 5* without hesitation.

Room Tip: we had our rooms at the front of the building because of the refurbishment taking place at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeraValencia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear ViajeraValencia14,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was so rewarding and that we were able to surprise you in such a positive way.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in Mid April 2014. The room was large for European standards and the bathroom fine. We were on the first floor, facing the courtyard, with only 1 window, so it was a bit of a tomb. But it was quiet--no problems day or night. The staff at the desk was helpful and polite. It's centrally located as well. And as all say, it was a good eal for the money. We payed about 45.00 a night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear paulspl,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel. We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Low-priced hotel, centrally located, simple but clean and correct rooms. Very functional but with little charme (except the outside fassade). You see hardly any staff except at the reception (the barman has been replaced by a vending machine) and the breakfast is of fairly low quality and as automated as it can be. Maybe not the best approach for a country with high unemployment. Nevertheless, if you look for a simple place to sleep, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights for 46E per night plus 7 for a car

Room was functional - bed was comfortable with good lighting and lean bathroom

If driving can be difficult to locate as it is on a square so satnav not so good at exact location - once on the street you will see a church with blue tile frontage - just look to the right of this and you will see "b&b hotel" sign - cross over tram tracks to front of hotel - car park is a tight fit but ok with good guidance from co-driver

10 minute walk down to river and 5 minutes back to left of church for shopping etc

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear kiwi-traveller-PS,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor, especially for enhancing our great location and price. Also thank you for the smart tip you are giving to all our readers regarding GPS coordinates and how to reach the hotel by car. It is a very useful explanation and we thank you for that.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in Porto for 3 nights in February of 2014. The hotel room is quite standard, large queen size comfortable bed, clean and quiet. The location is great, walking distance with luggage from the bus station, and walking distance to all the attractions that we enjoyed visiting.
The clerk at check in was excellent and very helpful providing a map and explaining points of interest to visit. Her recommendations were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiseleS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear GiseleS58

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such positive comments.
We couldn't agree more that the Hotel’s location is great. On this area, our guests are able to visit most of the places of interest that are at a walking distance.
We are particularly happy for your kind words about our useful staff's tips.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

i'd booked this hotel based on the reviews here and I wasn't disappointed. We took the metro from the airport and from Sao Bento it's a five minute walk to the hotel. Reception area gives a great first impression, we had a bit of a wait at check in but was efficient enough. There are building works going on at the back of the hotel and as a light sleeper asked for a quiet room. We got a 4th floor room with a very small window.

Room was small, but it was perfectly adequate for what we wanted (sleeping) and well maintained. It had a small flatscreen TV, hanging space for clothes. Bathroom had shower with a huge rain head and wash gel included. I slept well on the bed, but the pillows were a bit flat and saggy.

There's a nice "lounge" mezzanine just above reception, with comfy sofas, TV and vending machine (and wifi) we watched the football here.

We didn't try the breakfast as there are tons of options in the area.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, it's a bargain. The location is great, you are right in the centre of things, it's clean, good value for money and no frills.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adieuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Adieuwa,
Thank you very much for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to learn that you did not get disappointed and that you enjoyed our facilities (the comfy lounge room, the main entrance). We are also very glad that you did understood that in these type of budget hotel, the room space must be optimized.
We also thank you for enhancing our location and our staff efficiency at check-in, our good eco-friendly showers and overall the good value for money you found while staying with us.
Nevertheless, we are sorry to learn the building works nearby prevented you from the perfect resting.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great little hotel. Rooms were spacious enough, and very clean. The rain shower head was super great. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Great central location. Short walk from metro, and easy walk down the hill into old town, or across the bridge into the port houses. The bed was ok, and the pillow left a bit to be desired, but fairly typical for European hotels. We didn't do the breakfast as we could get cheaper and better breakfasts just around the corner (travellers cafe, I recommend). Would definitely stay here again. We you get a 4th floor room, you get a little balcony - no view but fresh air just the same.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Po2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Po2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We regret to hear that the pillow was not so enjoyable as the overall experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially for enhancing our "great affordable price", our central location and our staff professionalism, as well as the room and its rain shower.
The little balcony you've got is indeed very nice and relaxing after a journey discovering the best places in Porto.
We thank you for recommeding us to your friends, and look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future. Also invite you to know our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora .
Best regards,
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#28 of 108 in Porto
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 108 in Porto
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 108 in Porto
1,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing