We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautiful outside and wonderful clean lines inside. A fairly recently remodeled theatre decorated with large photos from old movies. Our room was a sweet scene of Jayne Fonda and Robert Redford from Barefoot in the Park. What a great place. We had virtually no view--just looked down on the small courtyard off the dining room. I would suspect there might only be views of the square on the front side. Very, very clean and well kept up, everything worked and was modern. Good WiFi and TV. We couldn't believe it for 42 Euros a night. It was a steep long block's walk up from the train station and everything you want to see in the main shopping area is walkable. The funicular to the waterfront is very close. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are the same basically . Just the view to consider. Most likely if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    1,140
    202
    32
    18
See reviews for
352
1,297
93
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May, and were very happy with the accommodation overall. For cleanliness, this hotel is top notch as the room and bathroom were very organized and tidy, albeit somewhat small and simple as well. Rooms are well sound-proofed also as we had no concerns with noise despite the Batahla square (quite busy) being adjacent to the hotel. The beds were comfortable enough and the room had a good heating and air conditioning system. The shower is also fantastic with tons of pressure and minimal spillage onto the bathroom floor. Only real challenge is figuring out all the light switches but this is very minor. They use keypad entry which is fantastic as you do not have to worry about carrying a key and the codes are simple to memorize. The hallways are also motion-lighted which lives up to the hotels self-billed Eco-friendly focus. The service of the hotel staff was very good, from assistance with hotel-related information as well as advice on sightseeing and eating. The hotel offers a continental breakfast for about 6 euros which I would suggest avoiding due to the availability of more affordable options at nearby cafés. I don't think the location of this hotel can be beat as it is a short walk from the main shopping district (2-3 minutes) and is very near the main sights (10 minutes) and riverfront (15-20 minutes). The hotel is also a short drive from local and regional train stations (10-15 minutes). For the price we paid (around E100 for 3 nights), you could not find a better value in porto in my opinion and I would strongly recommend this hotel for all travellers but particularly for couples or 2 travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Me and 5 colleagues spent 3 nights in Porto and couldn't have wished for a better hotel. Don't let the 2 star fool you. At just over €100 for 3 nights you get a lot for your money. I think it's a converted play house/cinema and from outside it looks very impressive. Inside is just as good. The room doors have keypads on them and you are given a card by reception with the code on. If you can't remember the number don't worry as they have fitted a small light in the door frame for you to see/read it. Rooms very comfortable with air-con, a secure opening window and on speaking to my friends who had rooms in different areas of the hotel, all found it to be very quiet. Big pictures of old movie stars on the walls including in the room. Nice to wake up seeing Gregory Peck snogging some starlet! We didn't eat in the hotel but it was always busy. The location is excellent (beware steep hills to the town and river!). Checkout from the room was 12 o'clock. Plenty of bars for breakfast near by. The building to the right is being renovated and there are a couple of vagrants who sleep in the old doorway but don't bother you. I always wonder how they charge their mobile phones! We found it to be a very safe area when returning late at night. I would compare the hotel to one above a Premier Inn without Lenny Henry if that's any help!

Room Tip: We all had double rooms and all very comfortable. My view was a brick wall but to be quite honest I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68BillP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi 68BillP,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such a detailed and accurate review.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel has a perfect location. very near to metro station (about 10-15min walk) which has a straight line to the airport and the beautiful train station. also situated to practically all the main tourist attractions specially the douro river which is just few walks away.
Comfort level is excellent. frankly speaking it doesnt seem to be a budget hotel. The bed was so comfortable, easily comparable to a 4*/5* hotel. soundproof rooms! Friendly and helpful staff (and yes they are always smiling!!) Lovely modern design. Very original!
For shoppers, there is a free shuttle to the famous El Corte Ingles.
I really recommend this hotel if you are going to visit Porto! A great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Vanesha,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was so nice and that we were able to surprise you in such a positive way.
We appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially for enhancing our location, our excellent level of comfort and our staff friendliness.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Kind regards
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with husband and two children of 13 and 11 years.

Was doubting to stay in this 2 star hotel or in 4 star hotel in Trendade which was more or less equal in price but with breakfast included and metro straight to airport and station in front of hotel. But very very glad to have chosen for this hotel. Location is superb. In walking distance of everything. Shopping center Via Catarina, old station S. Bento, Ponte de D. Luis I, Douro, Se Cathedral etc. In the neighbourhood lots of restaurants, pasteries etc.

We stayed in room 420 with 2 large double beds en 2 tv's and a balcony overlooking the square and a lovely old church. There are lot of children channels so no fight with the kids for tv. Stayed in 4*/5* hotels before but frankly had the best nightrest here. No noise from outside and good curtains that keep the light outside. There is no hairdryer in the bathroom but this can be borrowed at the reception. Wifi is unfortunately limited for just one device but suprisingly we sorted it out. Good beds and pillows.

A free shuttle bus to El Corte Ingles department store makes it very easy to buy lots of stuff at the supermarket.

In one word great stay will stay here definitely again when we are in Porto again: another recommended superpandatravel hotel!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank supertravelpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear supertravelpanda,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We are very glad you have chosen our hotel, enjoyed it so much and that we succeeded in making your stay so pleasant.
We appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially for enhancing our comfortable beds and pillows, great insonorisation, and location.
"Stayed in 4*/5* hotels before but frankly had the best nightrest here" was indeed very flattering!
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future.
Please also check out our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Kind regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
240 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this hotel is absolutely heaven. it is not far from the metro stop from the airport. it has a very ompressive exterior, inviting you in. the staf is very friendly and helpful. they allow you to use their computer to do the online check-in and print boarding pass. breakfast is simple but very nice and more then enough choice. location is ideal to discover Porto city by foot. we had a room at the back (garden side) and we had no noise from the street at all. room was very nice and clean. the rain shower is heavenly and room was cleaned each day. we can ecommend this hotel and will for sure stay there again. thank you to all staff. we love you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Salima,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments.
"this hotel is absolutely heaven" is one of the nicest comment we ever had :-)
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and our city so much and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon.
Also check out our new hotel in the city center of Évora, also UNESCO heritage!
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a great value for money Hotel in a good location. Art Deco front with a faliry modern design inside. We were checked in smoothly however had to prepay for the room during check in. No keys to the room, just a code to enter the room. We were also given a map of Porto and wifi passwords.

Rooms are small but were bright and comfortable. The small window though had no view to speak of. Positives, comfortable beds, work desk, small open wardrobe which was very practical. small LCD TV. Nice shower and bathroom, Rooms are silent. However the ACs conked off on the last evening, Hotel is very thinly staffed so the lady from the reception had to come up to the room to check. However she did ultimately fix it and called up later to check if everything was fine. The same lady was kind enough to track down a delayed tour guide.

We paid for the breakfast and it was reasonable value for money. Continental breakfast with no hot items on the menu. Entirely self serve with some breads, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, cereal etc. with juices dispersed from a machine. Nothing to write home about but fairly good to start the day with. There was a vending machine in the lobby to dispense bottled water, soda and some snacks.

If there were centrally located B&Bs in every city in the world that would be my choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swastikrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear swastikrath,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
I must say it was a detailed and fair review.
We take great pride in our hotel and concept, so, given your last sentence ("If there were centrally located B&Bs in every city in the world that would be my choice of accommodation"), we could not be happier!
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Kind regards
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#33 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing