We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for several nights on a business trip to Porto (my hosts arranged the hotel). It's a basic, clean, modern budget hotel. I slept well. The location was excellent - at the beginning of the major commercial/shopping street, a short walk from the train station (admittedly, uphill from station to hotel), a short walk to the funicular down to the river. Breakfast was simple, but the basics were all there. The front desk staff all seemed to be completely comfortable and fluent in English, Spanish, and French (in addition, of course, to Portuguese). Maybe Italian and German, too, I just didn't hear as much of those languages. They were extremely helpful.

From a business point of view, it had two limitations: The desk space was small and the chair was a basic plastic one -- fine for short sitting, but not so comfortable for long working periods. And I found the free Internet a bit wonky -- sometimes I got a good connection, other times I had to retry or move to a different location in the hotel. I had some trouble with international Skype connections. If I brought my family to Porto I would be glad to stay here again (and most of the other guests seems to be tourists), but if I'm here on business I might try some place else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear PCST,

First of all, let me just thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay, especially for enhancing our location and our staff professionalism.
A practical accommodation, without luxuries but above all comfortable and economic, is what distinguishes us, and that might be what is expected in leisure or on business, as we daily find.
However, we are very sorry to learn that the wi-fi connection did not worked as it should.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was great, especially considering the price. The rooms are small but clean, with comfortable beds. The hotel is in a pretty good location in the center of the city, near one of the main shopping drags in Porto. The one downside is that the Bathroom was pretty bare bones. I was hoping for at least a hair dryer but there wasn't one in the room. The room gets a little stuffy after you shower since the room's pretty small, so we would try to leave the window open when we left to let the room air out a little bit. We were on a higher floor so this was an option, although I'm not sure if you could do this safely if you're on a lower floor (thus the 4/5 stars). The hotel front desk was pretty busy when we checked in and we had to wait for a bit, and the front desk wasn't all that helpful when it came to recommendations of questions, so I would suggest you know what you want to do beforehand or visit a tourist office in the city. In terms of a place to sleep, its great but not for much more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Nina,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
B&B is clearly positioned at the budget segment as we provide a practical, cosy and comfortable stay, at affordable prices in an excellent location. So we give priority to what is strictly necessary (that's why we provide hair dryers on request).
However, comments like the ones you were so kind to post (e.g, regarding the helpfulness of our team), certainly motivate us to always try to do better.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences, so we can try and do our best to make your stay as pleasant as it should be.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

the Hotel B&B Porto Centro, situated where once was the Movie Theatre “Águia D’ Ouro” is well located in the center of Porto. Close to shopping areas, restaurants, river DOURO, public transport .... Rooms are well soundproofed and bedding is comfortable.
Wi-Fi connection is available free of charge in every room and throughout the Hotel.
Private parking allows autotravellers to securely park overnight at 7 euros.
Breakfast buffet at 5,95€ is served from 7:30 to 10:30 am and offers a good selection of dishes.
One piece of advice : have some good walking shoes to discover the pleasures of this city !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear KrisGlo,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was so positive.
The central location of the hotel, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, is indeed very good.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Like other reviewers I was a little concerned by the low price for this hotel. But we are the type of travelers who don't expect to spend a lot of time at our accommodations so have no need for the "amenities" offered by more upscale hotels. This hotel chain's "Econo-chic" concept fit our needs perfectly: a clean room, comfortable beds, good sound proofing (I have good hearing and would have thought we were the only guests in this full hotel), etc.

Another recent reviewer said "somewhat dreary..off beaten path", but I don't know where s/he got that! The hotel is decor is modern and the location can't be beat. The Sao Bento train (and North-South metro) station is a (long) block away, trams and buses literally pass by the front door, The funicular to the Ribiera is a couple of blocks away, an East-West metro station (which you can take to the Casa da Musica) is about 3 blocks away if you don't want to bother with transferring.

It's a 1 km walk to the Ribiera, from which you can cross the lower level of the Ponte Luis I to get to the port wine tours/tasting rooms on the other side of the river, about the same to get to the historic stock exchange building, or even shorter walk to the Se (cathedral). The Aviendia dos Aliados (600 meters) and surrounding area has many nice restaurants.

Actually, the location of this hotel was more important to me than the great value price.

The breakfast was serviceable but certainly not exciting. If you want to give up the convenience of eating in the hotel you could certainly find other cafes in the neighborhood for breakfast.

Room Tip: I expect most rooms are quite similar... if a view or little balcony matters to you then ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear BruceHz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and our "econochic" concept so much and that we succeeded in making your stay so pleasant.
The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was a bit skeptical when booking this hotel as I questioned the quality at this price. I had no need to worry the hotel was everything you need. Its clean, friendly staff, comfy bed and outstanding value makes this an outstanding choice.

Stay here instead of a more expensive hotel and use the savings to buy a vintage bottle of Port :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear SaffaMark,
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel so much and that we succeeded in making your stay so pleasant.
We are delighted to learn that we were able to surprise you in such a positive way with our "outstanding price" for the quality presented, allowing you the extra budget for such nice souvenir from the city!
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had four nights at the B&B Porto in late May. We were two couples and were very comfortable. They accommodated us in adjacent rooms which was very convenient. The rooms were clean and spacious, and had the option for room service daily. We opted in for the daily breakfast (at an additional cost) and although we found it very basic - offering only a few options - it was convenient for us to grab a quick bite and get out the door. The location was fairly convenient, but be prepared to walk as it's a hilly walk up from the Sao Bento station and up from the Ribeira area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Vanessa,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards
Gisela Barros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in May, perfectly acceptable, nice , clean hotel. Not a great location for doing things in the town, especially if you want to eat or walk around the Quai area called Ribiera.
Very dim lighting everywhere, nice blow up movie star photos on the walls. Very nice personnel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#26 of 111 in Porto
1,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing