We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location and Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location and Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this B&B two nights ago and can't recommend it highly enough. From the Reception Staff who are ao obliging and helpful to the cleanliness and the provisions supplied (you do have to request a hair dryer from Reception and leave a deposit, but that's no problem).
The location of this B&B was absolutely fabulous. The breakfast buffet was also fabulous. This is the second time we have stayed in a B&B Hotel establishment, the last one was in Evora and because we have been so impressed, we have booked three other sites for our travels to France over the next couple of weeks.
Wifi worked really well and of course it is free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear OzGreyNomads,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us, in Hotel B&B Évora and now in Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations in both hotels.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, in Oporto or Évora.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    1,171
    205
    33
    18
See reviews for
363
1,330
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for several nights while sightseeing in Porto. It was fairly easy to get to the hotel: a 6 euro cab ride from the Campanha train station, and a bit less to get back to the train station on the metro (once we'd got our bearings in the city).
The hotel is nice and new and modern, and a real bargain given those factors plus its excellent location for seeing the old city. The 6 euro breakfast was okay, and it was good to be able to eat on the patio, but nothing to write home about so we subsequently tried our hand at nearby bakeries and restaurants. Super helpful staff, with useful tips on places to eat, do laundry, etc.
I think that a few minor details would make this a 5/5 hotel. For example, a few hooks for hanging towels and clothes on would be helpful. So would a clock radio. And so would some kind of basic piece of furniture (besides the bed or tiny desk) to put one's bags on. Storing the luggage on the floor was a bit odd. It might sound minor, but a tiny bit more effort / infrastructure on the rooms would make the rooms and the hotel perfect. Anyway, we'd definitely come back again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing onto the back courtyard: super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sebastian T,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you definetly will come back.

I hope you understand that this type of budget hotel there is an optimization that we consider essential for a practical place to stay, hence the lack of clock radio or more furniture.

I We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in Évora's historical center, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B & B Évora.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic location in Porto and a very good hotel that provides everything at great value.
If it is your first trip you cannot go wrong here and at around fifty euros a night is a total bargain in the centre of the city.
Smart rooms, comfortable beds, great shower and a quality continental breakfast at E5.95.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Great restaurant just off the square at rear of hotel - 'Aurora' tapas style dishes chef prepared at a very reasonable price - check it out.

Room Tip: 2014 - ask for room at front as building work at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianjan819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear ThijsvanN,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We agree that the location and affordable prices are very distinctive factors of our offer in the city.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B & B Évora.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Top quality hotel for only €49 euro a night!!!!! we have stayed in some nice hotels before, but have paid top dollar for them, and this hotel was up there with the best of them. Great location, 5 minutes walk from Balhao metro station & Sao Bento Train Station, and right next to all the main city attractions. The breakfast was top quality too, usual cereals, toast, croissants, but also lots of traditional Portuguese pastries, and the coffee was very good. The room was very clean, huge shower with rainfall shower head, and the room was very quite. Couldn't recommend more, we will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Porto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Donna G,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We agree that the location and affordable prices are very distinctive factors of our offer in the city and we are very glad to know that you also enjoyed our breakfast so much. We are very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B & B Évora**.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful facade, smart and stylish minimalist interior, friendly staff and very comfortable quiet room. It was SUCH a change not to have naff chocolate box style pictures on the walls and it's hard to believe this boutique style hotel comes at an unbelievingly low price! Although there wasn't any hair dryer in the the room they were available (for a refundable deposit) from reception and on previous reviewers recommendations I opted to eat breakfast out, a good move as the local pastel de nata and good strong coffee came I at under €2 each day at the little spot just outside the hotel! Arriving latish at night from the airport it was a cinch to walk to the hotel from the metro station (no more than five minutes lugging one very heavy suitcase plus a big carry on), cost under €3 and that included the return trip to the airport!!! All in all an excellent find, I did try to get a room with a balcony but no go this time as they were all full, I will be back though!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clasheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Clasheen,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations where it concerns our location, price and facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

...with the -.5 due to no hair dryer. Superficial issue, right?

Great location (one of the most iconic tiled churches of Porto is on its doorstep), modern decor, super clean bathroom with a rain shower head!?! And inexpensive - 47 Euro! Make your reservation now. The front desk was very helpful in giving us a suggested walking tour itinerary, too.

However, if you want a room with a view (which we couldn't care less about), this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaa2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Eaa2128,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we had 3 choices to get to the b and b oporto from the airport. taxi of about 30 euro, take the metro with our luggage or the 7 euro shuttle. We were glad to take the shuttle to our door and the driver was a bit of a tour guide giving us a nice intro to the city. The gentleman at the front desk (and he was) was always smiling, helpful and patient with everyone. The front of the building is very nice and the view from our window was right to the beautiful tiled church. The rooms were modern and clean and the windows were great at blocking out the street noise. The square by the hotel is right at the start of the rua santa catarina shopping street and you are walking distance to many sights and the metro to anywhere else. The map you get at the hotel and the airport is very helpful and a good way of orienting yourself is by the metro stops. You will need the map to learn your way around the street maze to the waterfront. Once you get familiar with the area it is a short (though steep) walk back from the Ribeira's waterfront restaurants via either the stairs or lift by the Pont Luis bridge. It is not far to the old market (not the present veggie market) and it is a nice place to have a drink on the balcony enroute to the Sao Francisco church by the river side.The church is the terminus of the old tram that will take you on a fun waterfront cruise to the beaches at the river mouth. I alternated breakfast croissants and coffees at the 2 snack bars across the street rather than the hotel breakfast. There is a convenience store just up the street opposite the church and restaurants galore just beyond. We went to the flea market initially because it was the right day and i was even happier to go through the tile museum - great intro to what you will see so much of in Oporto. I enjoyed the park of the modern art museum more than the art if you catch a bus there. Park was a beautiful place to cool down. My only complaint about the room was trying to get it to cool to a temperature we were used to sleeping in....otherwise a good stay.

Room Tip: we loved the view of the church from our window and the modern windows shut out street noise but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear fisher_eye_lens,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we met your expectations with our philosophy: comfort and good location at the best price!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro **
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 106 in Porto
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 106 in Porto
1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing