We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel simply doesn't have any drawback. You pay ridiculously low price for a perfect accommodation right in the center of Porto. Receptionists are helpful and speak English well, rooms are not big, but not small either. Both room and bathroom were perfectly clean, plus, the whole interior is quite impressively arranged.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear Petr M,

We are very glad to know that everything went well during your stay with us. We much appreciate the nice comments and your recommendation.

We agree that our location and appealing prices are very distinctive factors of our offer in the city.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    1,171
    205
    33
    18
See reviews for
363
1,330
94
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived by bus from Porto at Casa de Musica and took the metro to Sao Bento, the hotel is just a short walk up the hill past the beautiful old railway station. Behind the nicely renovated facade the interior is clean and modern. Our room was a good size with a view of the plaza and cathedral. The buffet breakfast is well worth the €6, a good way to start the day. The main shopping street is right out front and it is easy to walk to the river and other points of interest.
Overall a good hotel in a good location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear Andrew B,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we have met your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal - we walked to the church and down to the waterfront for dinner. The hotel itself is very quiet inside (contrary to what you think by the front) and the rooms are typical European rooms - small, two twin beds, tiny bathroom, but everything was super clean, fresh linens, lots of outlets to charge all your devices - nothing you don't need.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear PaddlerGurl,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us and also your recommendation.

Our hotel has an "econo-chic" concept and our philosophy is comfort at the best price! We only offer the basics, however we always look at the comfort.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B&B Évora**.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro **
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in the center of Porto not spending too much money, it is perfect. They gave us a spacious room just in front of the church but it was very quiet.
Bathroom is small but it is ok. No amenities.
We didn't had breakfast at the hotel, because there are plenty of cafeterias around.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Teresa P,
We much appreciate the nice comments and we are very glad to know that everything went well during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B&B Évora**.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed for 4 nights - 1st night in a double bed room (306) and then I asked for a room with the view of the main square - so on the 2nd-4th night, I stayed in a bigger twin room (324).

Hotel and Location:
The hotel looks newly restored with a pretty art deco facade. It stands in the middle of a square - with a really pretty blue-and-white tiled church beside it.

The location is unbeatable and absolutely fantastic - every main site in Porto can be covered by foot from this hotel and no transport is needed (which is great for saving transport fares!). You can even get across to the next city Vila de Nova Gaia for wine tasting, where all the port wine producers / warehouses are, by crossing the Luis I bridge, which itself is an attraction and rather scenic to walk across on a sunset evening. The main long shopping street of Rua de Santa Caterina is about 2 mins away on foot just to the right of the hotel, the main road - Rua 31 de Janeiro, which leads to many sightseeing places such as Cais da Ribera waterfront etc is just directly in front of the hotel, and the metro station Balhao, where you will first arrive, is about 5-10mins away (you are not likely to use it again except for arriving and departing).

Very charmingly, the narrow street to the right of the hotel is very local - where you can find some stores and tiny supermarkets where you can get cheap water. Walking further down, you will find the famous Café Santiago where you should definitely try the best francesinha - a huge toast with meat and cheese and egg, drenched with some special sauce and to be accompanied by beer.

3-5mins away on foot, you can also find the famed Cafe Majestic - which is absolutely a must-visit. The art nouveau architecture within and outside the cafe makes it one of the beautiful cafes in the world, and it is here also that Harry Potter was bornt - it was said that JK Rowling had written her first book here.

Price:
The price of 47Euros / night is really value-for-money for the location and the modern, clean and functional rooms. I would consider it one of the cheapest unbeatable rates for a hotel in Europe - given its new, nice, clean, simple but tasteful settings and decor of dark wood panels and black and white photos.

Rooms and facilities:
The rooms are quiet, and they are simply furnished but clean and very functional - with writing desk and chair, hangers and small open wardrobe, TV, and the simple but chic toilet / bathroom. WIFI is free and good.

My only complain is the poor design of the shower place. The small glass panel separating the shower and toilet allows water to splash out from the bath after every shower. The water collects on the toilet floor and does not really dry. The one floor / foot towel provided is not enough - since if you dry the floor with it, the towel remains wet even until the next day. Hence, it was rather annoying stepping into a wet toilet all the time after a shower. Perhaps the hotel could provide more foot towels, or redesign the glass panels or replace them with a sliding door.

Breakfast isn't fantastic and isn't really worth the price. I would rather walk out to the Traveller Cafe nearby or to any of the cafes around to try the different stuff available

Service:
Service was decent. Nothing exceptional but staff was friendly.

Overall, I had a great stay here - everything was very convenient and price is very good!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the square - you can sometimes enjoy a sunset / nice sunset skies from the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Dear Slersh,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us.
We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!

Regarding the shower, we understand your comment and we will try to fix it.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B&B Évora.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location ! Just a few minutes walk from the bus terminal .
The outside of the building - a baroque like style theater building . The inside - a total modern renovation : cozy and inviting .
Obviously the B & B Hotels chain is doing its utmost to create a modern looking ,inexpensive hotel by reducing operation costs : Hence breakfast not included , only 1 pillow per person and a small closet with no doors (though bathroomis spacious},
We stayed 2 nights and decided to have breakfast (self service buffet) in the hotel lovely dining room . Before entering the dining room we were stoped by the front desk receptionist who left other guests in the middle of their checkout process , in order to ask us to pay for our breakfast before entering . Wow . We felt very uncomfortable about the situation : Was it lack of tact or a lack of manpower ? I think the hotel cuts on manpower , because put aside that awkward situation , the hotel staff was very helpfull , polite and friendly .Even the way they ask you to remove your breakfast tray back to the trolly - is polite .
Al in all - we did enjoy our stay : Great location , comfortable room , nice breakfast . friendly staff .
Good choice !

.
.

Room Tip: We tried to move to a room overlooking the square but they were all booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Saul G,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!
We hope you understand that B&B Hotel is a budget hotel which only focus on what is essential like comfortable and clean rooms, great location at the best price.
We look foward for your visit very soon, here or in the historic Hotel B&B Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was hesitant reading the reviews and only booked a few nights and I also skipped the breakfast part. I must say after getting there, checking the breakfast and surroundings. I took action and quickly extended for my whole stay. There are homeless people around the corner yes but nothing strange for the city. No three was no iron to borrow but else perfectly placed in the city. Tame the metro from the airport. 35 mins ride and then 7 min walk. Saves you 20 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you do not hear the construction next door if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterP-Swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear PeterP-Swe,
We much appreciate the nice comments and we are very glad to know that everything went well during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, at the Hotel B&B Évora**.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 106 in Porto
1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 106 in Porto
1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Property: Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Address: Praca da Batalha, 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moov Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing