We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD GO BACK”
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Bolsa
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Purfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOULD GO BACK”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, great location, decent breakfast (including squeeze your own fresh orange juice), very clean albeit small room with tv, nice bar, great value hotel all round, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    303
    86
    16
    4
See reviews for
108
280
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I like a lot this Hotel. All people very nice. All clean and comfortable. Excellent price. Located at a very good historical site with access to center and other places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice hotel & extremely nice staff. Rooms exceptional for a 3 star, very comfy beds & spotlessly clean. Breakfast good albeit limited. Location not too far from the river & quite accessible. Parking average cost in an underground location just down the street.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonydeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Perfect location to visit Porto. Very big room (with two bathroom) with fantastic views to the Douro river (5th floor).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an_sal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Only had 1 full day in Porto and was extremely happy that I booked this hotel. It’s right in the middle of all the sights that I wanted to see. With only a 5 minute walk to the riverfront, and a 15 minute walk to Vila Nova de Gaia (where there are more restaurants and port houses) it was a perfect location.

The staff is friendly enough and gave us great recommendations for dinner. We got one of the handicap rooms, which was great since my husband is very tall and doesn’t enjoy showers in cramped places. The rooms are clean and there is a safe (not that I figured out how to use it… despite directions). Breakfast was good and there was plenty to select from.

Wi-Fi in the lounge was free and the bar was comfy and has a decent selection of drinks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quan_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent two nights at the Hotel da Bolsa.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and check-in was easy.

Our rate was 90 Euro per night for a standard room for two people, and it included the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is centrally located in old town, about two blocks from the river, and we found it to be within easy walking distance to major attractions.

We were in room 303 which had two twin beds. The room was clean and adequate for two people. Good air conditioning. We could hear street noise. It did not bother us, but we were here on a Monday and Tuesday. It might be noisier on the weekend, so be aware. The shower had poor water pressure but plenty of hot water.

We were unable to connect to "free" internet in the room because the signal too weak to be of use. However, it worked fine in the lobby.

Excellent continental breakfast buffet with: coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, a variety of cereals, breads, and meats along with cheese and yogurt.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just spent three nights at the Hotel da Bolsa on a city break. The hotel is situated in the old town of Porto with fantastic views to the river, Dom Luis I bridge, Cathedral and Stock Exchange etc. Our room was not the largest and you had to lift up the toilet seat to shut the bathroom door, but it was spotlessly clean with great views. Our room wasn't huge but as we were only using it as a base it was fine. The buffet breakfast was impressive with everything but cooked breakfast. The croissants were particularly lovely. Each evening we would come in from dinner and have a night cap in the bar. The barman was very friendly and the drink prices were surprisingly low for a hotel bar. All in all a good place to stay for a visit to Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view on the upper floors. We had a side view of the river, but could al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSussexSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#35 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Property: Hotel da Bolsa
Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing