We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel da bolsa - great location”
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Bolsa
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hotel da bolsa - great location”
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Small rooms. We got one with nice view. Good location to both the river and the city center. One of the men in the reception gave us very good services and had good knowledge. I don't know, for sure, but I got the feeling that another person in the reception recommended his fiends restaurant. We asked for a good beef, but the restaurant didn't served any beef at all...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    306
    87
    16
    4
See reviews for
108
283
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Excellent location, short walk from Sao Bento Metro and Railway Station. Handy for riverside, restaurants and visits to the Port Houses just across the bridge.

Good friendly and efficient welcome. Room sizes were disappointingly small, as was shower room with small bath. However, on request was given a larger (triple) room at no extra cost.

No double beds were available, 2 singles pushed together.
Room has a wall mounted air conditioning unit and there is a small but effective heater.

No minibar, fridge or tea making facilities in the room.

On two occasions there was no hot water available for the shower. Otherwise water was piping hot.

Lifts are small but efficient. Views are unexciting.
Breakfast buffet is good, although in a country with orange groves throughout, the watered down concentrated juice was disappointing.

Staff generally helpful. Wireless internet available €20 for 24 hours use or €1.5 for 30 minutes. Time can be used across many sessions so a 24 hour card could last for the whole stay.

Porto can be wet, hotel provides umbrellas - if guests are thoughtful enough to return them - which generally they are not.

Additional
New Year in the main square was enjoyable until after the fireworks when the Police blocked off the southern exits and forced the crowds to leave by two narrow streets. This led to a terrifying crush, panic and some aggressive behaviour. I was genuinely fearful for my family's safety. We managed to escape but were very shaken.

  • Liked — Friendly receptionist
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I had a pleasant stay in this hotel. Staff were friendly and the location was ideal for touring though the hotel is up an enormous hill where the less mobile may struggle I also found the locals very friendly indeed and helpful.

  • Liked — Good location to most sites
  • Disliked — just very hilly
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nolandamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This hotel is extremely well located in the historic centre of Porto. The staff were very helpful, room was extremely clean, beds very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was good except for the fruit juice which tasted synthetic.

  • Liked — Great location in the city centre
  • Disliked — The bath/shower were a bit cramped
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gizmo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We sayed at Hotel da Bolsa 2 nights. Our choice was based on previous tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is modern but with local style, our 6th floor room (614) had amazing views of the river & the cathedral and was spacious with an excellent & large bathroom. We also found the Englis-speaking friendly staff very helpful. Would be happy to return and stay there next time.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IdoyatJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Budget price hotel with very clean rooms and bathrooms in a great location. 5 minutes walk to the river and its attractions.
The staff were very helpful.
Breakfast continental buffet style more than adequate to start your day.

  • Liked — Cleanlines & Location
  • Disliked — Nothing to not like
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2OPTIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This hotel is in a great location for walking or riding the HoHo bus. The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. Free internext on the computer at the reception desk.

We had a room on the 6th floor in the back. There was no bed frame and so the bed and box springs were directly on the floor.
A little akward getting in and out of bed.

The pressure in the shower was not great, but there was a complete shower door on the tub, unlike most European showers.

The noise level was awful. The traffic was not that bad, but the sqwaking of the sea gulls that were roosting on the nearby rooftops was annoying. They never let up, all night long.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank H2Otstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
1,302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#36 of 106 in Porto
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 106 in Porto
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Porto Douro
Eurostars Porto Douro
#24 of 106 in Porto
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Property: Hotel da Bolsa
Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing