We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Aliados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aliados
Ranked #69 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights. The location is excellent. Metro, local and tour busses right outside the front door. Easy to get to from the airport and most of the attractions within a few minutes' walk. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are adequate and very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is ok but complimentary tea or coffee making facilities in the room would make this an excellent experience. So would a fridge. Overall good value for money. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here two days and found everything very pleasant. The location was excellent, just metres away from hop-on, hop-off tours, restaurants and shops. The breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. Free wi-fi was a nice feature...more hotels should have this standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilbaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I flew into Porto without a reservation. We took the very convenient modern metro from the airport to the center of the city. Stopped by the welcome center and found there were hotels all around. We saw this one and decided to check it out and ended up spending 8 nights there. It is so close to the metro, bus lines, and the train station; it was a real plus. My husband and I are 60 and could handle the stair issue with ease but if you have a lot of luggage it would be tricky. The folks manning the reception desk were nothing but polite and helpful. WiFi was free and worked great. The weather was unseasonable cool so we didn't have to use the a.c. at all. The breakfast was included in our 55euro per night rate so we thought it was a economical deal. Most folks must not stay so long because my only complaint would be they could vary the breakfast. It did get old for 8 days but there were good choices and if you bought some outside fruit, even better. If you are a light sleeper it might do well to bring ear plugs. This hotel is right on a major street with a lot of city noise. They do sweep the streets around 3 a.m. but this isn't the hotel's fault. The room was very clean and kept that way by housekeeping each day. Plenty of hot water for showers.

Room Tip: room 204 was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Where shall I start. Checking in, you have to park a block away, drag your luggage up a one story ramp, walk the block back to the hotel, drag your luggage up two flights of stairs and then get on an elevator to go up two stories to the reception desk. When you get to the reception desk you meet the rudest and most unfriendly people I have ever met working in a hotel. The air conditioning is woefully inadequate so you open the window and let in flies that bother you all night. The WiFi is a joke. Realistically they don't have any. BTW this hotel is not cheap even for it's location in Porto.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyJimTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We couldn't get the grand hotel paris , so we went to this hotel , but it was no second choice we like the atmosphere and great breakfast . The showers are recently renewed, although the open ing of the small doors of each room maybe an problem , we loved the hotel and crew

Room Tip: don sleep on the side of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights, whilst attending a conference, in one of the three rooms on the 6th floor. Quirky room with a great view. Some might say it was small but you don't live in it! Also lift doesn't go this far but no problem to me. Had the package with free internet rather than breakfast so headed out to various local cafes each morning which was fun. Room clean and provided everything needed. Receptionists all helpful and friendly. Lounge a great place to sit and relax. It was noisy at night but that is hardly the fault of the hotel - noise seemed to be people shouting loudly and persistently in the street below for most of the night - no idea why! Easy to get to various parts of the city and public transport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Carys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Ibarrangelu, Spain
109
Reviewed 31 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#66 of 108 in Porto
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#57 of 108 in Porto
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 108 in Porto
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 108 in Porto
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#45 of 108 in Porto
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 108 in Porto
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aliados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aliados

Address: Rua Elisio de Melo 27 | Avenida dos Aliados, Porto 4000-196, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £47 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aliados 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 2 suites with private bathroom and 41 bright rooms, comfortable and airy with wooden floors, 19 of which have a private balcony with a panoramic view of the city, including a view of Avenida dos Aliados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aliados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dos Aliados Porto
Residencial Dos Aliados Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing