We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, but always room for imporvements”
Review of Hotel Aliados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Aliados
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Good price, but always room for imporvements”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at Hotel Aliados a few weeks ago for a short holiday. Booked here without any knowledge of the layout of Porto, but was really impressed to find out we had found something that cheap, in the center of the city.

The room cleanliness and service are average.The rooms are pretty plain and could certainly use some re-doing, but for the price and location there is nothing to complain about. The mattress could have certainly been replaced, it was very noisy if you moved even the slightest. The people working there always seemed a bit annoyed to have to answer any questions, but all of there answers were helpful.

I would stay here again, but ony based on price and location. Besides, Porto isnt a city to travel to and spend your time in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    166
    150
    52
    30
See reviews for
63
218
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Perfectly located hotel ,although some rooms on the front may be found too noisy (especially on Saturday night) . Comfortable and spacious rooms . More thaén decent brakfast .Helpful staff . Good value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,321 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel represents good value accommodation right in the heart of Porto. Our fourth-floor room had a balcony with fine views up and down Avenida dos Aliandos. It was noisy with the balcony door open, otherwise no problem.
We had three adults in the room, so space was tight. For a couple it would have been a much more comfortable size.
Our tariff included a continental breakfast, which was fine. There was no shortage of food, though fruit could have perhaps been fresher.
There is a parking garage conveniently located across the road if you are driving.
Staff were helpful, with good English.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-floor room with a view over the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here based on Rick Steve's recommendations and were not disappointed. We were in Porto for 3 nights of a two-week trip all around Portugal. Hotel Aliados was both nicer and less expensive than the hotels we stayed at in other cities in Portugal. We were very pleased with our room upon arrival, happy with the service and breakfast, and the location was nice. Porto ended up being one of our favorite cities in Portugal and we will definitely visit again. However, while I would absolutely recommend this hotel to other travelers, next time we visit Porto we will probably stay in the Ribiera district instead, since we ended up going down to that area every day anyways.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have been stayed in Aliados for 2 nights. I booked a Deluxe room but the room I get was without even Bathtub neither Window. There was a small window on top but I couldnt even reach it furthermore the room was so dark. The Receptionist Girl was so rude. As someone was pushing her to work. I wish Service could be better, because hotel Location is really so nice. I tried their Restaurant too. it was nice I liked it. Good atmosphere with Piano.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 31st July and the 6th August. On the first night we had a room at the front (I had requested that to see the square). It was lovely and large and had a nice bathroom with curved windows. Unfortunately the windows didn't have double glazing and we were kept awake most of the night with noise of traffic and revellers! When we checked out the receptionist changed our room to one at the back for our next stay. It was a twin but we didn't mind. It was lovely and quiet and the shower was excellent. The breakfast was adequate and the coffee good. What was best about the hotel was it's position. For metro, railway station, river and sites. The staff were very helpful and having to put the sign up stating full on our second visit indicates its very busy.

Room Tip: See my full review. Request a room at the back. Although you don't have a view at least you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68BillP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very good location , a very helpfull and friendly staff speaking 4 different languages. The room is little but vrey clean and functional.
The breakfast is not very rich bot its OK. The rooms are maybee a little bit noisy , because you are in Avenida dos Aliados.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riclan5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 106 in Porto
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#53 of 106 in Porto
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 106 in Porto
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 106 in Porto
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#41 of 106 in Porto
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 106 in Porto
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aliados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aliados

Property: Hotel Aliados
Address: Rua Elisio de Melo 27 | Avenida dos Aliados, Porto 4000-196, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aliados 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 2 suites with private bathroom and 41 bright rooms, comfortable and airy with wooden floors, 19 of which have a private balcony with a panoramic view of the city, including a view of Avenida dos Aliados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aliados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dos Aliados Porto
Residencial Dos Aliados Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing