We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally Placed Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aliados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Aliados
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideally Placed Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We Stayed recently for a long weekend with family and found the hotel ideally placed for all the local attractions and restaurants/nightlife.
We had booked 3 rooms - two of which were quite spacious but one which had one of the smallest bathrooms we have ever seen! That said, the rooms were very clean and fit for purpose. Yes there is noise from road traffic (it seems that the hotel is on the main route to the hospital - lots of sirens! ) to the rooms at the front of the hotel - but what do you expect in the city centre?
Breakfast is standard continental which is quite adequate.
Unlike some previous reviews we found the staff on the front desk most helpful and pleasant.
All in all a very good experience

Room Tip: room 407 small bathroom and quite noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 267davidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    159
    137
    46
    30
See reviews for
62
198
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel might not be to everyone's liking, but I loved it. The desk is tiny, so are the night tables and tv, but the bed was fantastic, and even with all the street noises (my room, to my delight, was on the corner, with a huge window) I slept like a baby. The location is super central. I hope they don't modify the interior - it's so refreshing to find a hotel with the old times' charm and art deco furniture. Plus, it's surprisingly/suspiciously cheap (so cheap I was afraid my room would have no windows).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is a good price for its central location. I paid for a superior room with a little extra space, but was quite disappointed to learn that the superior rooms did not have outside views. My room had some windows, but you would need to stand on the sofa to see out. The included breakfast was reasonable.
The bed in the room I stayed in was very uncomfortable - way too firm. Well more hard than firm! I was also surprised by some of the hotel rules, like no laundry to be done in the room and if found you will be charged extra. Don't most travellers wash out socks or underpants in their hotels when away from home for extended periods?

Room Tip: My superior/larger room didn't have windows to the outside. I think one of the smaller rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brisgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinderup, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just stayed at Hotel Aliados for a business trip, and it was an experience I do not wish on anybody.
The room was basic to the extreme (bed with extremely hard mattress, a very narrow desk, two tiny night tables, TV, and a closet with a non-functional door). The bathroom was so small it was impossible to use the toilet without hitting your knees, and also impossible to keep any kind of toiletries there.

The constant noise from the very busy street outside the "balcony" made it very hard to sleep, and the bad smells coming from the drain were appalling.

The cleanliness left a lot to be desired: there were long hairs in the shower (my hair is very short, so they weren't mine), and the toilet was certainly not spotless even though it had the "disinfected for your use" banner on top.

The worst of all was the absolute unfriendliness of the reception staff. Not once did they smile or even acknowledge the guests presence unless they were directly addressed.

The location is certainly good, but there are plenty of other hotels nearby, so next time I will definitely stay somewhere else. Be aware that the pictures on the website are misleading, and do not show the fact that the bathrooms are under 2 sq. m., nor that the carpets in the common areas are threadbare in some section, or that there is a table on the breakfast room that has quite a lot of flies flying over it every morning.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTQ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at Hotel Aliados a few weeks ago for a short holiday. Booked here without any knowledge of the layout of Porto, but was really impressed to find out we had found something that cheap, in the center of the city.

The room cleanliness and service are average.The rooms are pretty plain and could certainly use some re-doing, but for the price and location there is nothing to complain about. The mattress could have certainly been replaced, it was very noisy if you moved even the slightest. The people working there always seemed a bit annoyed to have to answer any questions, but all of there answers were helpful.

I would stay here again, but ony based on price and location. Besides, Porto isnt a city to travel to and spend your time in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TS0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Perfectly located hotel ,although some rooms on the front may be found too noisy (especially on Saturday night) . Comfortable and spacious rooms . More thaén decent brakfast .Helpful staff . Good value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel represents good value accommodation right in the heart of Porto. Our fourth-floor room had a balcony with fine views up and down Avenida dos Aliandos. It was noisy with the balcony door open, otherwise no problem.
We had three adults in the room, so space was tight. For a couple it would have been a much more comfortable size.
Our tariff included a continental breakfast, which was fine. There was no shortage of food, though fruit could have perhaps been fresher.
There is a parking garage conveniently located across the road if you are driving.
Staff were helpful, with good English.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-floor room with a view over the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#64 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aliados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aliados

Property: Hotel Aliados
Address: Rua Elisio de Melo 27 | Avenida dos Aliados, Porto 4000-196, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aliados 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 2 suites with private bathroom and 41 bright rooms, comfortable and airy with wooden floors, 19 of which have a private balcony with a panoramic view of the city, including a view of Avenida dos Aliados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Aliados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Dos Aliados Porto
Residencial Dos Aliados Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing