We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No honeymoon here”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #73 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    60
    55
    20
    11
See reviews for
35
64
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The hotel is located centrally. Free parking( in a difficult area to find parking)
Rooms are clean, but small.
Staff was friendly and helpful with good English.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork City, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

There were three in our group, and we booked a triple room with a rate that included breakfast. Great value for money!! The room was large with a lovely clean bathroom (even a bath). The breakfasts were amazing!! The location is great, easy to get to the city and metro station. Would advise people on a budget to get the metro to and from the airport if possible, as the cost of a taxi is about 30 euro.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful, Paulo was fantastic and speaks perfect english. He was happy to help in any way and a really great guy. Would tell anyone going to Porto to stay here if they want a great experience!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverseasCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I booked the hotel online and got a cheap deal for 2 nights. On arrival I was shown to a room that smelled strongly of smoke. I asked to change rooms but was told that there were no other rooms. The room was also much smaller than the rooms in the photos on the website. The hotel is on a main road so it is very noisy at night and my partner was not able to sleep at all. It is a shame that they haven't thought to double glaze the windows because otherwise this would be a good cheap no frills hotel. Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly, the manager was very rude and unfriendly. I would not go back to this hotel and I would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisbonAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Booked this hotel for a weekend getaway break.
Hotel is about 15-20 mins by taxi from the airport.
Hotel is in the main centre but is a fair way up the hill from the main shopping, so good location.
Room was excellent, basic, but very clean, powerful shower and was cleaned daily.
We arrived really early and the male receptionist who was the most helpful receptionist the whole weekend, said that we could go and eat breakfast, althoughy officially we were not checking in until 12 oclock.
Breakfast was more than adequate, cereal, juice, bread for toast, rolls, pastries, cake, ham and cheese, yohgurts, and scrambled eggs and sausages. Breakfast was from 7-10am and was frequenlty replenished.
We were also offered a taxi booking to the airport on our departure and also a complimentary port whilst we waited .

Excellent little hotel in good location. excellent for a budget weekend and would recommend and stay again .

  • Liked — LOCATION, PRICE
  • Disliked — Room was a little cold
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

The only good thing was providing hot breakfast in the morning.
The room is quite comfortable and bathroom is above the standard.
BUT:-
No luggage storage room.
Noise in the evening from the raindrop
Even is located in the city- center, but it took me more than 20 mins to the train station.
The catering staff was friendly but not those in the reception.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank enjoy_travelling_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

The main reason of the choice of this hotel is its localization: Street of Santa Catarina.(Rua de Santa Catarina)
You are in the center of the city, in one of the main streets, it is a pedestrian street.
the main and famous store are here close.
It is near of everything.
The hotel is well located same that you arrive of bus or train.
A trip for taxi costs 5 euros, no more.
(From hotel to Porto Airport: 20 euros by taxi)
So, this hotel is for tourist that are not interesting in amenities, like one 5 stairs, or small executive people .
It is the best in the relation the advantage-price.
The reception of the hotel was excellent with us.
The apartment was small but clean. very good shower.
cards of credit are accepted.
Next trip to Porto I will go there again.
It is a bargain for me, I like to go shopping.
Honest, only use the hotel to sleep...

  • Liked — the localization and the shower
  • Disliked — small room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your reservation in advance.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo_Pinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 106 in Porto
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 106 in Porto
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#53 of 106 in Porto
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#62 of 106 in Porto
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sao Jose
Hotel Sao Jose
#57 of 106 in Porto
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#68 of 106 in Porto
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1018, Porto 4000-447, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing