We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HF Fenix Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
381
626
152
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
626
152
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshf fenixcasa da musicahotel fenixshopping centre next doormetro stationgreat hotelfree wifitourist busescorner roomking bedspacious roomfood markethistoric areaper dayreception staffthe hotel is cleanthe river
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nice rooms, excellent breakfast, good located (not in the very downtown but a nice neighborhood).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the HF Fenix Porto at the beginning of August. We booked a superior suite and it was wonderful. The room was big and spacious, the bed was huge and very comfortable, with a nice sitting area and a well appointed bathroom, with a plush bathrobe and slippers. The location is great, close to the Bonavista Rotunda, the Casa de Musica and the "Casa da Musica" metro station. Breakfast was good and there's free WiFi in the hotel.
The area around the hotel is very nice, with several shopping centers nearby (one just beside the hotel, with a supermarket that closes at 10 pm), restaurants, etc.
The metro is about 10 minutes walking and we felt very safe walking to and from it at all times.
The Bonavista rotunda (and the hotel) is not right in the downtown/old part of Porto, but thanks to the metro it's easy to get there. This was our second time in Porto and we can definitely recommend the HF Fenix Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank El_Josu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The HF Fenix Porto hotel is full of controversies. It's a good four star hotel, with lots of commodities and services, a great location (center of Porto) and nice staff. But it comes with a price, and i'm not referring to money. The room I stayed in, was very good. It was clean, tidy, spacious, but the bed... well... i don't think i've ever slept so bad in my life. The bed was terrible; awfull sleep really. I can't picture an hotel that serves it's clients with rooms with great TV sets, and such lousy beds. If I book an hotel, i expect to have a great night sleep, The other controversy I noticed was the breakfast. Not so much the hotel's fault but, the room is so noisy that the feeling you get from the first meal of the day is "I gotta get out of here..."

But not everything is bad. In fact, as I said, the location is very good, everything seems to be clean an well preserved. It's not expensive for the value you get so I have to say that it is a good place to stay if you really don't mind the bad night sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the building don't have a view. Choose the ones with windows to the street.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilipeSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I´ve stayed in this hotel for several ocasions, but this time was because i was attending a congress. In fact this hotel Is very well located, a few steps from Rotunda e Avenida da Boavista and just near the exit from the freeway to Lisbon or Braga. Next to it is Shopping Center Cidade do Porto with many shops and restaurants.
The hotel style is modern and simple, however a little datted. from the hotel site online the room pictures looks like very modern, stylish and trendy, but the reallity isnt that good. The rooms are in fact large and spacious, but the general style is still dull, and a little dated. despite all the room the beds are relatively small. there´s a small kitchen and minibar in the room, and the cleanliness is good. Bathroom simple, practical (dated style) but nice with glass door separatting the bathroom from shower. One advice! If you´re staying in the upper floors ask for a room in the side ou corner of the building, or you´ll have a room with a horrible view over the cemitery in front....
There´s a garage with several floors, however the driving space isnt practical. the fee is 9 euros a day....
The breakfirst is nice, with good quality and variety of foods and drinks. General staff nice and efficient. The hotel lacks, free internet, (decent) bar, and perhaps a fitness center or swimming poll/spa.

Room Tip: Ask for the renewed rooms, with a side/corner view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel seems to be a favourite of young ( & very boisterous) Spanish tourists - at least that was the impression gained from the uncomfortable weekend which we spent there recently.
First impressions: Underground parking was cramped & seemingly designed for Fiat Uno owners rather than standard family saloons. Front office staff were friendly enough and check-in was uncomplicated. We had asked for a large double bed but only got a standard sized bed.
Second impressions: The elevator ride up to the 5th floor was tortorous as there was an overwhelming smell of stale body odour in the elevator (and it wasn't from either of us!). The room allocated to us was close to the elevator - "Convenient", we thought! (Wotta-mistaka-to maka!") The room was large but the bed was small. The advertised "free internet access" didn't work. The view from the window was uninspiring (but we weren't there to look out of windows!)
Third impressions: Hungry at 6.30 pm in Oporto? Tough!
This hotel has no restaurant. We were directed to visit their sister hotel Fenix Ipanema down the road. a 10 minute stroll. No problem. Good restaurant there - but it was closed. We were offered a meal in the bar and in hungry desparation duly accepted. It looked good on the menu. In reality it was out of the deep-freeze, into the microwave and then onto the table. It's always a dead giveaway in Portugal if the waiter warns you that the plate is very hot. That means that it has come straight out of the microwave because warming plates isn't a commonly practice.
There are plenty of good eateries in Oporto.....the Fenix group EXCLUDED.
However as most restaurants only open at 7.30 / 8:00 pm so if you want to dine early, you risk being served crap!
Breakfast at the HF Fenix is an experience not to be forgotten. Where else can you expect to be accosted by demented street beggars whilst pouring your orange juice at the buffet?
One thing in this place's favour....it is relatively cheap - but then it needs to be!

Room Tip: Insist on a room which is not close to the elevator - unless you like being awakened at all hours of the night.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstorilEckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCustomerService, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Customer,
First of we would to thank you for leaving us your opinion.
Concerning it, we would like to clarify some issues.
We have very different rooms, from basic to Business or even Deluxe room.
As you can imagine, there's some differences between them, and the size of the bed, is one among others.
Concerning the internet, we're sorry, we've having some problems with connection because of the occupancy of the hotel, however it depends on affluence at the moment. Nevertheless clients can always have good internet connection with pre- paid cards, because it has different connections.
About the food, we would also like to refer that there's different options from snacks to real meals.
We apologize for all the inconveniences that turned your stay less pleasant. However we would like to invite you for a new experience in our Deluxe rooms, for shore you’ll enjoy it.
My best regards,
Marta Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews