We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay!”
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Big and clean rooms, comfortable beds(we stayed on the 8th floor). The breakfast offered a big variety on everything. A little bit far away from the city center, but the metro station casa da mysica is just a five minutes walk away! All in all we had a very pleasant stay. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    540
    140
    37
    19
See reviews for
297
404
21
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very comfortable Hotel, but bear in mind that it is a long walk down to the centre of Porto - and an even longer walk back at the end of the day.If you are arriving by car then this Hotel is very easy to find, the trafic in the centre is congested most of the day
The tourist buses are quite good but you are restricted to the direction of their travel, and it is not always easy to locate the bus stop for the route you have subscribed to. There are plenty of 'town' buses but in a short stay not always easy to work out their routes.
On our last day we used the taxi service and that was by far the best option (5-7 euros to the centre)
Anyway, Hotel is good, breakfast good, staff very efficient, all very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to somewhere else.This was one of the few hotels we could find in Porto that had family rooms. We booked a family room and payed EUR96, with free WiFi and breakfast included. The room was very spacious, a double bed then two bunk beds, as well as a sofa bed. The room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was good. The location was not in the old town, but a few metro rides away. However, I would stay here again with the kids and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 117newleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a full week July 2012 while I was at a conference. Overall it was pretty good and a good value.

Pluses: Free WiFi when other Porto hotels are charging up to 20 Euros/day. The breakfast was quite good - besides a good continental breakfast, they had several hot items and a very good coffee machine. While not downtown, the location is good with plenty of restaurants and shopping within a 10 minute walk. We interacted with the staff several times and always got good service.

Minuses: the air conditioning was weak; thankfully it was cool enough in the evenings to just sleep with the window open. Our room (8th) was right across from a health club next door, and the aerobics music got a little old. That will only be an issue for some rooms. No fitness club or pool, but you can use the health club next door at a discount. Not only was there no ironing board, but this was the first hotel ever that did not even have an iron you could borrow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

we booked for a weekend
bathroom was old, the stench of dump and humidity was pretty hard to bear. but anyway, we paid at a discount price so it was no biggie.

what really disappointed us was probably the worst customer service ever experienced.

we asked explanation about a mistake in our booking and the reason why we've been erroneously charged for almost twice the amount. we got no answer and they quickly dismissed us saying they will sort it out and they'll call us back in the next few days to let us know how to fix it. they did not. we had the call them to later get dismissed again, saying that it was not their fault, it was the tour's operator.

so long story short (I'm not going to get into details about the whole story, I quit struggling for this), to this day we have not received any refund yet.

make yourself a favor, steer away from this, there's plenty of availability in oporto to waste your time and money on this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We’ve trying to reach you in order to understand your complaint and make a double check of the situation referred, however without success.

Therefore, we can only conclude that the hotel charged correctly, once I can’t find any error regarding last bookings.
Nevertheless you’ve referred a tour operator, we recommend to contact them, once the reservation was done by an agency and therefore the contract they have with us, may not correspond with your expectations.

On the other hand I’ll be very glad to welcome once again and so, feel free to contact me in order to manage you a new booking and provide us the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

The Fénix Porto is near the Rotunda da Boa Vista. It is a nice location and a good deal for what it offers: spacious and clean/comfortable room (highest floor possible!), good breakfast, next to Casa da Música and its metro station (same name). You can visit almost all the city spots using the modern and clean metro: downtown, ribeira, Gaia, Matosinhos, international airport, etc. The Douro sunsets are wonderful! Find one of the many views/vistas, they are everywhere! History is also everywhere... Oh, parking is expensive!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiodnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very glad you've had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for posting your comments and hope to be able to host you again in the near future

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
432 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

+ low price
+ not very central, but adjacent to a shopping mall and a metro station a little further, which is direct line to the city center
+ free wi-fi

- desperately old bathroom, stinking of mould and damp
- rooms without a view, sometimes facing the wall
- worst food (room service) I have ever had anywhere in the world - vegetable soup and overcooked pizza
- second worst breakfast I have ever had, worst being the vietnamese breakfast at Dalat, but at least they just liked sushi and noodle for a morning meal, while at Fenix it was only tea and sliced kiwi that was

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at HF Fenix Porto, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion in tripadvisor.com.

We apologize for not achieving your expectation, however allow me to refer that we have very different type of rooms and we’ve made some renovations.
Therefore the Superior, Business and Executive rooms and brand new with modern decoration. I’ll be pleased to introduce you next time and I’m certain you’ll be very satisfied.

We’ve taken good note of your review and send it our Food & Beverage Manager in order to improve our service and consequently meet all our customer expectations.
And so we hope to host you again in a not too distant future.

Marta Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#29 of 106 in Porto
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#37 of 106 in Porto
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#31 of 106 in Porto
703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Property: HF Fenix Porto
Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#18 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#25 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing