We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost effective hotel”
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The view from the 12th floor was stunning from cemetary to sea coast. The location was close to the Music Hall and the metro and the price was attractive at under Euro 100.

What did not make this hotel super was that it was just about the same as any modern hotel. The breakfast was Ok but not super. The rooms were nice but not unique. A typical conference style hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for as high floor as possible as the view is what makes this hotel. A low floor without view wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

From the outside, seems to be a modern and recebt hotel. But when you get to the rooms, you will find that the hotel is aged. Although, it is a confortable and modest room, but you can easily hear your neighbours.
The standby LED of the TV is so bright that it is almost impossible to sleep unless you cover it.
The hotel has garage, but it is quite expensive.

The breakfast is reasonable.

Well located.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmdsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

It is the second time I stay in this hotel. The location is excellent, the staff is very nice, the breakfast is very good and the room I stayed in was huge but very uncozy. The rooms were once apartments with kitchnette included and now you have a very large room, with two different kinds of floor. On one side you have an old carpet with the beds and a rond table as well as a small maple. On the other side of the room, near the entrance, you have marble tiles where the kitchen used to be leading to a large bathroom.I do not like to walk barefoot on cold floors but I always bring my slippers in the luggage. It could be wonderful but the decoration is so awful, the twin beds have very nasty cushions. old and crumpy but the worst thing was that you could still feel the smell of previous guests on them. I asked for a change and the new pillowcase had no smell. The other problem was that the walls were so thin that you can hear what goes on in the mext room. A good thing is the free wi fi in all areas and that you are so near to two shopping malls, restaurants and Casa da Musica. Parking was 9 euros per day but in a garage and not outside like in nearby hotels. The hotel needs revamping but not by the same interior decorator who transformed the lobby into a fishpond or aquarium, with blue fluorescent lights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Big and clean rooms, comfortable beds(we stayed on the 8th floor). The breakfast offered a big variety on everything. A little bit far away from the city center, but the metro station casa da mysica is just a five minutes walk away! All in all we had a very pleasant stay. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi-traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Very comfortable Hotel, but bear in mind that it is a long walk down to the centre of Porto - and an even longer walk back at the end of the day.If you are arriving by car then this Hotel is very easy to find, the trafic in the centre is congested most of the day
The tourist buses are quite good but you are restricted to the direction of their travel, and it is not always easy to locate the bus stop for the route you have subscribed to. There are plenty of 'town' buses but in a short stay not always easy to work out their routes.
On our last day we used the taxi service and that was by far the best option (5-7 euros to the centre)
Anyway, Hotel is good, breakfast good, staff very efficient, all very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to somewhere else.This was one of the few hotels we could find in Porto that had family rooms. We booked a family room and payed EUR96, with free WiFi and breakfast included. The room was very spacious, a double bed then two bunk beds, as well as a sofa bed. The room was spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was good. The location was not in the old town, but a few metro rides away. However, I would stay here again with the kids and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 117newleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a full week July 2012 while I was at a conference. Overall it was pretty good and a good value.

Pluses: Free WiFi when other Porto hotels are charging up to 20 Euros/day. The breakfast was quite good - besides a good continental breakfast, they had several hot items and a very good coffee machine. While not downtown, the location is good with plenty of restaurants and shopping within a 10 minute walk. We interacted with the staff several times and always got good service.

Minuses: the air conditioning was weak; thankfully it was cool enough in the evenings to just sleep with the window open. Our room (8th) was right across from a health club next door, and the aerobics music got a little old. That will only be an issue for some rooms. No fitness club or pool, but you can use the health club next door at a discount. Not only was there no ironing board, but this was the first hotel ever that did not even have an iron you could borrow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#31 of 108 in Porto
809 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#33 of 108 in Porto
756 reviews
1.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing