We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and Great Standard of Rooms”
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #28 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Service and Great Standard of Rooms”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

While not the most extravagant hotel, the service was exemplary and all staff were very friendly and willing to help.

The bar in the hotel, which is technically separate was also great.

The rooms were adequate with the appropriate facilities and very nice bedding.

Breakfast was varied and nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFS-Events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    567
    144
    37
    19
See reviews for
308
425
22
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've bin here with my girlfriend for a city trip although the hotel fits better for a business trip. We slept well, the personnel was friendly, rooms were clean. Breakfast ok, overall: Price-quality is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington VA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I know, this is a strange title for a review. It refers to the color of the lighting in the lobby and the exterior building lighting. So irritating I closed the black-out drapes. The interiors are very modern and clean. The service was friendly and the rooms were "nice." It's a good place to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aishasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Not our first choice of hotel by a long stretch but it turned out fine. No atmosphere or charm but good modern amenities and a spacious room (business class on the 11th floor). Mistake on the booking meant we had single beds the first night but that was sorted the next morning. In both rooms though we could hear the neighbours to one side; luckily the music/chat did not go on too late. Wifi good, shower strong, loads of hot water, fridge for our own booze, big big bed and all kept good and clean. Location not the best, but we grew to appreciate the nearness of the metro and with Capa Negra II down the road we didn't need to hike into town every night to eat. Being slightly out of the way also meant we did a load of walking, which was just as well after the breakfast we had. We never ate lunch, in fact we never even thought about food again until the evening. The buffet breakfast contains everything you could think of: fresh fruit (eg, melon, oranges, pineapple), bread/croissants/toast/sticky buns, hot cooked sausage/ bacon/ eggs/ mushrooms, cereals, yoghurt, cakes - lots of cakes. How reviewers have complained about it I can't imagine.

Room Tip: Definitely go for business class to get a larger room. Away from the lift probably advisable and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popsical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Old furniture in rooms... Slowest elevator, I had seen... Workers who don't know to read (If I hang "Don't disturb", please "Don't Disturb!", "Don't get into my room!"...)... Very light breakfast and dinners... I don't know prices of other hotels in Porto, but if you will not spend time in Hotel, then preferable just for sleep... (Don't try to work via Wifi, because it is accessable just near door...)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I went for the upgraded Privilege room on the next to top floor. This is supposed to be larger than regular rooms, and as it really wasn't that big, I would certainly opt for the upgrade (only a few euros extra). My view was open, but not spectacular. Wrong side for the ocean which might have been nicer.
Wifi was excellent. Room was clean, although bathroom shower a little hand-held-basic. Breakfast was adequate with items quickly replenished.
There didn't seem to be any restaurant open in the hotel.
Front desk service was excellent: friendly, informed, helpful.
The hop-on/hop-off buses run through an adjacent street, a 48 hour ticket is a good investment. There were always taxis outside the hotel, but often finding a taxi to get back was not so easy.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ifenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The staff is fine, very helpful. Sushi-bar waiter very helpful too. The bedrooms are very wide. The hotel is very close to "Casa da Musica" (Porto Music Auditorium) and very well connected to main underground and bus lines. Good and cheap restaurants nearby. BUT:

- Some rooms (specially the ones opposite to the elevator) are very noisy. I asked to get a more quiet one (there was no problem).
- The bathroom was a bit neglected, the WC cap was broken.
- The breakfast is too limited, tetra-brick orange juice, non 0% fats yogurt and/or milk, bad quality marmalade, not a good wholemeal bread for toasts.
- Only two elevators
- Overall, is a bit neglected hotel from the nineties.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#26 of 108 in Porto
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 108 in Porto
906 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#34 of 108 in Porto
728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Property: HF Fenix Porto
Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Family Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing