We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Popular da Foz

Popular da Foz
Reserve with
Popular da Foz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #332 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Portuguese cuisine with Mediterranean nature, the flavors and aromas of Portugal. Combined with the good wines, all Portuguese, from different regions, with particular prevalence for Douro wines. Always homemade desserts and Porto's many to follow, just choose between Tawny, Ruby, White, Late Bottled Vintage, 10 / 20 years ... Of various choices, Ferreira, Graham's, Vila Real, Krohn, Quinta Nova, Quinta do Noval, Real Companhia Velha, Blackett etc.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a four day break in Oporto and made our way into Foz and found this great little place. The choice of food is very good and the standard is extremely good, the welcome and the service is splendid and all in all it is difficult to see how you could do better.

The building is tiny but inside it is a treasure trove. The wines look fabulous (we could not drink as we were driving as soon as we got back to our hotel).

The owner could no do more and ordered a taxi for us.

We were so pleased with the Popular da Foz that we did not even notice that the Sopa Verde Legumes we ordered did not come!!! We had simply enjoyed the 'couvert' and when our main course arrived , we did not think about it!!!

And we enjoyed everything so much that it did not matter that we only noticed on the way home that we had paid for it!!

So, if in Foz, be sure to visit!!

Peter and Virginia

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterabbotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPULARdaFOZ, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks Peter and Virginia by your words.

We are sorry that our "small" error and hope to have the opportunity to correct it.

We look forward to your visit.

Accept our greetings
POPULAR da FOZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    61
    20
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
397 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Michelin star service - good food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place has excellent service, but as restaurant it looks more local bar from outside, overhelmed by neighbouring restaurant.
Already, if you dare to enter, the amount wine bottles give you hint that the restaurant has exceptional list.
First don't let the menu set any boundaries. It gives you several fish and meat options, then let the owner/operator recommend the beverages for you. There your journey really begins. We had several different white and red wines with appetisers and main courses. And port wines were excellent.
So trust the wine recommendations, they are excellent, food tastes good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPULARdaFOZ, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
mWrite Thanks for your words of appreciation.

We always try to serve the best way we know, always according to what is suggested to us, and we try to treat customers as if they were family.

We are delighted to know that they liked and would like to count on your visit soon.

Greetings "tripeiros"
David Almeida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best meal and service we had in Porto.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stumbled on this gem of a restaurant during a day trip to Serralves and the surrounding area. As soon as we walked in, we were treated like family. The owner took time to explain all the dishes to us and the best wine to compliment the meal. Depsite it being his lunchtime we weren't hurried out, instead we werebl shown all the lovely dessert available. Of course a glass of port had to finish off the best meal I have had in a very long time. Definitely coming back here first on my next trip to Porto.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPULARdaFOZ, Gerente de relações públicas at Popular da Foz, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dearest lady,
Thank you for your kind words, we want our customers to feel at home, so everything we do to give our best.
We await for your return to port, they will be always welcome.
David Almeida
POPULAR da FOZ
visit us on facebook.com/PopulardaFoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I've really enjoyed my dinner at "popular da foz", it's a welcoming restaurant with excellent service and food, in this place I felt at home. I strongly recommend the bacalhao. My boyfriend loved the "tripas á moda de Porto".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marzia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POPULARdaFOZ, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciation Marzia F.

We are anxious for his return and recommend an entry already hit ... "Amêijoas à Bulhão pato".

Greetings "tripeiros"
David Almeida

P.S.: saluti a fidanzato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popular da Foz also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Popular da Foz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing