We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms but a little out if the centre.”
Review of HF Ipanema Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HF Ipanema Park
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rooms but a little out if the centre.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and had a good experience overall. Rooms lovely, large bed, great view and nice big bathroom. Pretty quiet (10th floor). Great breakfast and good service. It is long walk to the city, but taxis are cheap, or 10 min walk down to the river and take an antique tram to the city or out to Foz. (24 hour ticket 8€).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBackMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    488
    220
    77
    65
See reviews for
233
447
37
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you believe that ticking the necessary boxes and only the necessary boxes on a list makes a five-star hotel, HF Ipanema Park deserves its rating. If you expect anything above mediocre food and terrible service, it doesn’t in the slightest.

The greatest shame is that this hotel has the potential to live up to, if not all of its claims, then at least some of them. The building is pleasant enough, very spacious and not far enough from the city centre to cause serious trouble. Despite the lack of tea and coffee-making facilities, our Executive Double room was very comfortable and quiet. The bed and shower were both excellent. However, we were ultimately thrown onto a customer conveyor belt, and were treated with laziness that bordered on contempt. More on that in a moment.

The tastiest food provided by the hotel was supermarket-standard. In the breakfast buffet, the croissants were torn in a way that screamed ‘packet’ and the cheese and meat could easily have come from the Lidl down the road. The €9 pizza was indistinguishable from ones I’ve bought and oven-cooked for a third of that price, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they were one and the same. The €3 hot chocolate was identical to the powder-made drink I’d served for myself at breakfast. The food made in the hotel was average at best and inedible at worst: the bacon was tough, the sausages tiny and the vegetables practically inedible. I genuinely believe I could have cooked to that standard at home without any great effort on my part, and that’s not what I expect from a supposedly ‘five-star’ property. On a more general note, I have never pushed that many items of food aside during a buffet. The juice selection at breakfast was poor, and the apple juice absolutely revolting. Throughout the day, drinks and cocktails took far longer to arrive than I would expect. It took us three attempts to order wine from room service (including two wrong numbers provided in the in-room literature) and, when it finally did show up, was completely different to the bottle we had ordered.

The service deserves a rant all of its own. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist did not bother to welcome us. In fact, he glared at us in silence as we approached, and did not get any friendlier in the several times we were reluctantly forced to deal with him during our stay. Despite our booking website claiming otherwise, he demanded that we pay for our full stay there and then, on top of the deposit we had paid that morning. When we explained that it would be one or two hours before that money was available to us, he offered no assistance; in fact, he said absolutely nothing. With no help forthcoming, I offered to pay for that night’s stay just so we could put our bags down and eat breakfast. Begrudgingly, the receptionist practically threatened that we’d better have the rest of the money to him that day. I opened up my wallet. The receptionist refused to even look at me, snatched the money from my hand without so much as a ‘Thank-you’ and stormed off. When he came back, he very intentionally ignored my hand moving to accept -my- change-... and gave it to my boyfriend instead.

I am the last person to cry ‘sexism’, but my partner and I watched this man treat several other female guests in much the same way: walking away from women who approached the desk on their own, or speaking only to their ‘better half’ if they were with company. He treated male guests with only marginally better manners, and it astounded me that anyone would put such a rude, abrasive and unpleasant individual in any kind of customer-facing role. It stunned me even more to realise that this man was the -supervisor- of the front office, and eroded any hope I might have had that my offence would be properly addressed.

On the same day, our evening meal in the lounge was interrupted by the agent of a musician apparently due to perform that night. There was no indication that the table should not be used and we were literally mid-mouthful, having been served our meals not ten minutes previously. Assuming that they wanted to film the performance, we agreed to move once we had finished our meal, but felt rushed and enjoyed our food less as a result. We moved to the upper level once we were finished, only to watch this agent invite two of his associates into our recently vacated seats. We did not receive a word of thanks for our acquiescence, or even a nod of appreciation. During the performance, several groups of guests were ‘hushed’ for holding conversations over their meals in the lounge, and this led to several complaints being taken to the reception - ours included. Although the receptionist apologised for the disturbance and took our room number, we heard nothing more; the complaint was unresolved at best, and completely ignored at worst.

On our last day, we had the dubious pleasure of dealing with the same supervisor who had checked us in. We did not expect a goodbye or a thank-you. Unfortunately, we were not surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

In spite of being a 5 star hotel there are unacceptable details such us a non 5 star room service. The problem is that they have too many clients and don’t bother with some details that make the difference. So why not try another one?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Débora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is actually a fairly good hotel - staff were friendly and helpful, rooms are a decent size, breakfast buffet was good and the dinner buffet was ok on the one occasion we tried it. The downside is definitely the location - it's not just that it's miles from anywhere you could conceivably want to go to in Porto, there's an absolute dearth of options in the immediate vicinity. The only reason we tried the dinner buffet was because we found no eating options near the hotel at all - it was only 8:30pm - not even a mini-mart where we could stock up and take stuff to the room. True, cabs only cost a few euros to get to the centre but its just a bit of a hassle to have no nearby options. And while it is definitely value for money at the rates charged, it's inconceivable that this is a five-star hotel. The dining room is pretty dull and miserable, rooms are bland beyond belief and free wifi is patchy to say the least. So not a bad hotel just probably not the best base for exploring Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I checked in here for 2 nights last week. We had reserved a superior room. We were given room 1416. The room was ok, we went out for a meal, came back, and went to bed. The pool of this hotel is on the 15 th floor, as we knew. However, we were not informed when checking in that there is entertainment in the bar /pool area every evening. Our first night involved a jazz evening, unfortunately this was happening right above our superior room. It felt that we were sharing our room with the band and whoever else was at the party. We contacted reception and asked to be moved. We phoned them 3 times, they offered to turn the music down?? We asked to speak to the duty manager, and the female receptionist informed us that there wasn't a manager on duty, and she really didn't know who she could send to our room?? Really, in a 5* hotel?
My husband eventually went down to reception, and was told there was nothing they could do that evening, but could maybe move us the next morning. So, a very disturbed first night in Porto. Next morning, at 9.30, we were told again, the hotel did not have a manager available! They did allocate us another room at lunch time , to a suite. However, we had to ask several times when the room would be ready, and nobody contacted us to advise us. The staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly, and we got the impressions they didn't care. So we would advise anyone checking into this hotel to be aware of rooms on the 14 th floor, if you want any sleep! We will not be staying here again, but will go back to the Ipanema Porto, just up the road, where the staff our tremendous, especially the reception staff. We usually stay there, but decided unfortunately to try the Park instead. A big mistake.

Room Tip: Avoid superior room 1416, and maybe all rooms on the 14 th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alisrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First of all this would be an "average" 3.5 star hotel, but this is, by no means a 5 star hotel. 5 star hotels characterize by extra staff and extra service (and extra luxury). NONE of them applies to this place
A hotel where the bellboy puts your bagage in a trolley and then disappears, or where you have to serve your own coffee in the breakfast room, where your breakfast table is hardly cleaned or where from the 5 guys sitting at the reception desk, just 1 of them looks bored at you and eventually listens to you is not a 5 stars hotel.
A special chapter deserves the restaurant, if you like cardboard pizzas (like the ones you can buy frozen for a couple Euros at the supermarket) or ridiculously small and tasteless steaks, then the hotel restaurant is the place to be. If not, I strongly recommend one of the restaurats at the river side or some great place in Matosinhos.
On the bright side of the story. The breakfast choice was more than reasonable, nothing spectacular, but certainly worth of a good 4 star hotel, and the pool & bar on the 15th floor were great. Fantastic view & very friendly staff. A shame that on Sunday they closed at 8 PM, but ok there wasn't really anybody else but us.
The rooms were ok, a bit worn down but decent size, good noise isolation for the windows and a quite clean bathroom.
So, all in all a mixed feeling about this place

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days whilst travelling Portugal. From our arrival we felt we received five star treatment. Staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. There was a small problem with our booking and this was rectified within a few minutes.Nothing was too much trouble. Travelling as a family (my husband, myself and 16 yr old son) we had a great room. Big enough for three on the ninth floor. We slept soundly and although not a great view out the window we felt it was a good location. We recommend using the secure hotel parking. We left our car here and walked, hired bicycles from the hotel (7€ a day!) or got a taxi (very cheap). We had half board .Breakfast and dinner was buffet style. Food was plentiful and freshly cooked. Fresh food was continually brought from the kitchen. There is a free gym, used by my husband and son. The swimming pool on the roof (15th floor) is also an experience! Bar and lounge are very spacious and welcoming, on the ground floor along with a paper shop (stocking english magazines and papers as well as portuguese) and other shops. Would i stay here again? Of course, we cannot wait to revisit Porto, which was a lovely place and enjoy the HF Ipanema Park experience again!

Room Tip: Do not be put off by the height of the building. Lifts are quiet and quick and you do not feel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capdan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.0 mi away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#28 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
HF Fenix Porto
HF Fenix Porto
#32 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boa Vista
Hotel Boa Vista
#47 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Ipanema Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Park

Property: HF Ipanema Park
Address: Rua de Serralves 124 | 4150-702 Porto, Porto 4150-702, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Porto
#34 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — HF Ipanema Park 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star hotel for demanding clients.A hotel that connects comfort, a great service, sympathy and quality to a smart choice!Having been for a long time a reference among the hotels of Oporto, the HF Ipanema Park has reinforced its arguments thanks to a recent remodelling process, which has turned it into an extraordinary example of environmental efficiency that is positively reflected in the comfort of its guests.Sophistication is a common aspect between the atmosphere of the rooms and social areas, with an emphasis on the panoramic Top of the Roof bar with a pool and a unique view over the mouth of the River Douro, and the free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the entire hotel. In such a welcoming and comfortable hotel, only its proximity to the most sophisticated and charming area of the city will convince you to go out.At the Jardim d'Inverno restaurant, both the Portuguese cuisine and the exotic flavours are dressed with the refinement of Chef Agostinho Teixeira. At the Coffee-Shop near the Twin Trees bar, our light meals will surprise you.At the HF Ipanema Park you always have more than you think, for less that you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your HF Ipanema Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Park Porto
Hf Ipanema Park Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing