We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough, Location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you are comparing this to other Sheraton's, I would say this is an average one. It has a spacious room, it was clean, and the gym is OK. The room was modern, and over all it was a nice stay, nothing spectacular. One thing that did upset me was the maid, around 5 PM, just barged into my room without knocking. Thankfully I was just on my computer, and not coming out of the shower or something. Even more concerning is when I brought this up with the front desk, he really didn't feel it was a big deal, and said they were turning down the beds at that time. I asked if it was customary to knock before entering the room, and he really didn't say much to that, and kind of just shrugged.
As for the location, it does take a little effort to get into town. It's a 10 minute walk to the nearest train station, or a €20 cab ride. There isn't much around the hotel, so you need to venture out to town if you don't want to eat in the hotel.
Lastly, you do have to pay for the internet, which I find ridiculous in this day and age. That being said, it was only €7.50 a day for the two days I stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Sheraton is a great modern hotel in Porto with comfortable rooms, spacious bathrooms and a really fantastic breakfast. We stayed over Easter weekend, which also happened to be my birthday - the hotel was very thoughtful when they delivered us a little box of Easter chocolates that our daughter loved and lovely cake for my birthday. The staff were incredibly helpful on so many levels, but one thing that stands out is when my husband broke a cork when opening a bottle of port - they staff were able to help him open the bottle and even offered him the use of a decanter during our stay. My only minor complaint is there is an extra cost to use the pool / spa. The cost is 10 Euro per person / day, which isn't too expensive, but it wasn't overly apparent when booking that there would be an extra cost. But to be honest - it is worth it, so if you have the time to enjoy then I would do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavares, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We take this opportunity to clarify that the €10 fee is to use all the Spa facilities, and not only the pool.We’re very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and keep such a good souvenir of our hotel.
We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Recently stayed here for three nights during a business trip. Lovely hotel, contemporary without being clinical and excellent attentive service without being irritating. The room was perfect, excellently clean, great size, quirky bathroom. All very good and what I would expect from a Sheraton. the breakfast was very enjoyable and in a beautiful art deco styled room. The only issues were that for my first two nights the security key for my room failed to work and I had to go down 10 floors to tell reception. The room was also extraordinarily hot even with the AC on full, an issue that my colleagues said also affected them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemisstravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATavares, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed-back.
We apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused you, and would like to inform that the procedure in place requires staff to knock on the door prior to entering the room, and that Internet can be accessed free of charge at the Link@Sheraton, next to the Hotel’s reception.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great hotel with ecellent facilities. I stayed in the hotel for business and can highly recommend. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the city centre of Porto is within a fairly short taxi cab ride from the hotel. Wifi was a bit shaky but this may have been caused by the fact that we were with a large group working with the same account. Do not forget to bring your work out clothes since the hotel gym is pretty good with Technogym equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MennodLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very stylish with a stunning foyer featuring glass lifts for those not scared of heights, we found the hotel very comfortable and the staff extremely polite and helpful. It is within a short taxi ride of the cosmopolitan Ribiero district on the banks of the Douro river where there are many restaurants and bars though it is itself in a quiet area. The most astonishing breakfast buffet selection ever !! including freshly-cooked omelettes and caviar. Rooms well equipped beds very comfortable. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and such a nice feed-back, which we will share with our team.
We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa!
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed for a week on a conference in this hotel. The service was perfect, great food and accomodation, I highly recommend this place if you intend to have a confortable stay in Porto. During that week we saw Cristiano Ronaldo and some other starlets staying overnight here, which is a signalmthat the standard there is high. From the top floor you have great panoramic view of the ciry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Sir,


Thank you very much for your nice comment, and for having taken the time to post it.
It is very rewarding to have such wonderful feed-back, which we will obviously share with our team.

Cordially,
Joana Almeida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Porto for a conference for three nights. It's a standard business hotel. Nothing spectacular but comfortable with good services and ammenities. Id recommend if you are in Porto for work and need a full service hotel. If on vacation, I'd consider a more personable option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajithavinnakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having selected Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your stay and for having posted your opinion.

We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,089 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £110 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing