We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Sheraton luxury, although a little bit below the standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Typical Sheraton luxury, although a little bit below the standards”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A typical Sheraton hotel, with the luxury you expect. Some details do not follow the standard like the size of the rooms (rather small) and breakfast quality. All in all it is a good hotel, although far from the city centre. Access to the hotel is not that easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vangelis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We would like to inform you that we follow all Sheraton standards, including in what room sizes are concerned, and that the nearest metro station is 5 minutes walking distance from our property.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    642
    120
    40
    22
See reviews for
297
877
68
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel on a tour of Spain and Portugal and enjoyed this very modern hotel. Our room was good sized with a table and two chairs as well as room for two suitcases. The bathroom was large and the water pressure and temperature of the water was just right. It took a few minutes to adjust to the glass wall separating the bathroom from the sleeping area, but we got the hang of the screen that separates the two after a few tries. It is good for a laugh as well.
The service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious. We also ate in the bar area and enjoyed the food there although they did not seem ready for so many customers on a rainy day.
We also found some good buys in the little jewelry shop in the lobby area. If we ever return to Porto we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty65Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent and detailed feed-back, which we will share with our team. We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The rooms and facilities are top notch. Fantastic service from the staff. Breakfast was definitely one of the best I have experienced. Room rates were very reasonable but were perhaps let down by how expensive the bar, restaurant and everything else was. Overall though, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Matthew H,
Thank you very much for your feed-back. We were delighted to know that we have met your expectations, and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Very good service and nice lobby, but the rooms themselves leave a lot to be desired and do not feel very five star. Carpet feels very outdated. Shower stall feels uncomfortable and has cheap flooring--the kind that sinks down as you step about. The curtains look ugly. The hotel also feels a bit too out of the way from center of town. However, I would still stay there again on points or points/cash combo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear B M;
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feed-back. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay, and would like to inform you that we have rooms – Club ones – with no carpet, next time you come and visit us. We would also like to inform you that the nearest metro station is 5 minutes walking distance, and it takes you to the historical center in 10 minutes.
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed 5 nights at this superb hotel with our son aged 5 years.

The only bad point was that the room was not ready in time ( we checked in around 16.30 and were waiting in the lobby since 13.30 ). But we have enjoyed a late check out.

Overall, the staff, the hotel, the rooms, the spa, the restaurant, the breakfast were just great.

As one of the person said : come for the hotel, come again for the service.

Thanks to everyone for making our first stay in Portugal a magical time

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozlem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton and are club members, we were happily upgraded to a beautiful jr suite when we checked in. The room was gorgeous on the 12th floor with a killer view. The balcony was incredible and we enjoyed wine sitting out and enjoying the view. The linens and towels were of good quality and while the décor is a bit dated, it's a beautiful room and extremely comfortable.

We had the bad luck to have poor weather during our stay. We decided to just camp in the hotel room on a dreary Sunday and had a fabulous time. The included breakfast was a really generous buffet with multiple choices American and European breakfasts offerings. I especially appreciated lingering over mimosas! We ate at the restaurant for dinner and enjoyed an easy light meal and wonderful service. The waiter was also kind enough to suggest a great bottle of local wine for a very reasonable 16 Euro.

We had room service twice during our stay. The food offerings were practical. The sandwiches were good, the steaks were not. The food was delivered quickly however and with excellent service. We did not use the onsite spa, bar, or business centers. But those services were offered as well. We were able to use the luggage storage service. The room had free wifi, but the signal was weak and slow. We were not working and so were satisfied to check our e-mail and facebook, but had we been working or in school slow internet would have been a struggle.

The staff service was exceptional, I cannot give enough credit to the staff. No matter if it was the front desk, room service, housekeeping, or the wait staff they were all accommodating, lovely, and helpful.

We travelled by metro into the city. The metro station is quite close and the front desk provided an up to date schedule that was easy to read. We also travelled by taxi to and from the airport for less than 20 Euro a ride.

Overall, while the location was a bit far from Porto proper and the wifi was sluggish, we would return to the Sheraton for a relaxing weekend, excellent service, and a feel of luxury for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you're club members you may want to inquire about an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geminijen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having selected Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa for your recent stay.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback, which we will gladly share with our team to an even better experience next time.
We remain at your disposal whenever you decide to come back to Porto!
Best regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Porto for two nights and have to rate it 5 Stars. The service, starting with Valentina the car, to check in, to the dining room to room service was impeccable. The facility itself is exceptional with outstanding rooms and über modern baths with lots of frosted glass industrial look doors! The Spa is a wonderful way to relax after a day of travel and sight seeing! The water spa and the pool are nice as is the full suite of Spa Services available. I would be happy to stay at a hotel of this caliber anytime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPortoHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful feed-back. It is very rewarding to learn that we have been able to meet, if not exceed, your expectations. We will share your opinion with our team, and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Kind regards,
Joana Almeida
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#10 of 106 in Porto
1,278 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Property: Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing