We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Last month I spent a night at Sheraton Hotel & Spa. All I can say is that this was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

The building is very modern, and so is the decoration in the interior. The front part of the building is all made of glass, which makes it look amazing from the time you step foot there. Next to the reception there are elevators with glass all around, which adds to the sense of luxury you get in the hotel.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I especially liked the big bathroom, which has both shower and bathtub. It was quite big, and divided into three parts - shower, WC and sink/bathtub- by glass doors which is quite different from what i've seen so far in hotels. Also, the bathroom is separated by the rest of the room by a glass wall which you can cover so as to get privacy in there. The beds are very comfortable too, so it's guaranteed that you will get a good rest there.
I also need to mention that I was satisfied with the cleanliness.

As for breakfast, it has a big variety and excellent quality.

I particularly liked the staff which was very helpful and polite. We made our reservation through the internet, and we got charged for breakfast even though it was included in the price we payed for the room. We explained the situation to the staff, and the problem was solved quickly. Also, the internet connection in our room was not working, so we called the reception desk. Within 5 minutes, there was a technician in our room to repair it.

A downside of the hotel is the location, since it's not in the center of the city, but it's not that bad either as long as you're willing to take a taxi or walk a bit to the nearest metro station.

Overall, I believe the hotel was worth the money we paid for it, and was not expensive for the services offered. We had a very nice stay there and I would definately stay there again next time in Porto!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katerina289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2009

stayed for 3 days for a business conference
my opinion
1-rooms superb ultra modern very clean with all needs for the business traveller
2-food very good varied and extremely attentive staff
2- location a bit out of the way in a district too far from shops and the old city for a leisure break but fine for the purpose which i was there for
4-spa was beautiful but 10 euros for every day you used it even to hotel residents was a bit steep
overall perfect for business not too good for leisure and to see the city
regards straw bear

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Positives: Very nice facility, rooms are top-notch. Breakfast (included) is terrific. Spa/gym are excellent.

Negatives: Several miles from the "fun" part of town, the Sheraton is located in a business district away from the historic riverfront areas. While the price is not outrageous, it is on the high side, and budget-conscious travelers can find cheaper deals at other nice hotels in town. The staff is efficient and competent, but nobody ever taught them to smile.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rogers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

I come to Porto very often i always stay here.
Rooms are excellent and theoverall service couldnt be better.

Porto is a nice city and the hotel's location is in the best part of town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nme-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Stayed here whilst attending an event in the conference centre. Staff were fine, pretty helpful, except in the in the bar. "Can I please have 1/2 litre of freshly squeezed orange Juice? No - we don't sell Orange juice in that size. Can I instead have two 250ml glasses, at the same time? Yes, that would be fine. And can I have an empty 1/2 litre glass so that I can put them together? Yes, that can be done. So why can't YOU do that for me? We don't serve orange juice by the 1/2 litre....."

The room was OK - clean, comfortable, functional, but a bit small. The restaurant sells typically bland international quisine, and the wine list isn't brilliant either. Surprisingly poor choice of Port for afters, and absolutely no chance of getting them to just leave the bottle (though they will do this in the bar if you ask them to).

OK if you're in Porto on business, but I wouldn't recommend it otherwise. Still, at least it's not expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John-L24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

we like to use public transportation and this beautiful hotel is a little out of the way. once you figure it out, it is only about a half mile from a metro stop but it involves walking down one-way streets that seem more like alleys and the staff is not really able to tell you how to do it. (Neither was my TomTom GPS.) Anyway, the spa was the best ever (not that we have seem many), the restaurant was better and less expensive than I was expecting (vegetarians here) and the city truly magical. Staff was helpful...always ready with an answer but of the 4 questions we asked, we got 2 wrong answers (now late does the metro run? Not 2 am. and which train station has the trains to Lisbon...if we had not gone online and confimed, we would have missed the train by being a mile away at the station the hotel told us to use.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sidripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Third time for me at this hotel and again on business. No surprises this time around either. A good all around hotel, but I am wondering if there are better choices around. Sure it is good quality and more than adequate for business traveling. However, the bar is very expensive, as well is the restaurant. The restaurant has small portions and prices are very high. If you want to eat take a cab to the Matosinhos area, there are hundreds of restaurants there. The bar is stylish and has a nice feel to it, but beware of the tab at the end!
Don't bother with the club level if you are expecting a proper lounge or better room, it is not worth the extra money believe me. Apart from a flat screen TV you don't get anything else. The breakfast is very good, one of my favorites, the service is prompt and choices of things to eat are plenty. Although there is plenty of service personnel, coffee replenishing seems a tad slow to me. You have to be active there and wave a little. The omelets are really good, especially the ham,cheese and onion.
The views aren't great either, so head to the beach or go downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcoL9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,090 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Tenente Valadim, 146, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Porto
#3 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £110 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world where fine art, design and comfort blend beautifully at the Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa. Our hotel is a modern wonder of marble, wood, steel, and glass, situated in the heart of Porto. Enjoy the convenience of being only a short walk away from fabulous shopping, art museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Porto Hotel Porto
Sheraton Porto Hotel And Spa
Porto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing