We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Internacional
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No frills”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with a group of friends. Excellent location: within easy walking distance of metro, restaurants and attractions. The hotel has character and a very helpful staff (look for Miguel at the reception desk, he will go out of his way to help you with whatever requirement you may have).
Sadly the potential of the hotel is let down by the poor state of maintenance (turning off the shower taps was quite challenging, impossible for the ladies in our party), low standard of cleaning (the mould around the base of the shower tray and tiles was unacceptable) and minor details (lack of shampoo and hairdryer, basic buffet breakfast : only orange drink instead of orange juice, only plain yogurts, no toast).
Without the above mentioned faults the hotel could be real good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giannir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    152
    98
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
172
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Moved to this hotel after staying at a not-so-good one in the same price range just a few metres away. Found this one to be much better. The room was basic but clean with double-glazing. The guy in reception was extremely friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a great location, very central and in a nice area: Aliados Metro station exits onto a large open square with wide streets whereas we found the location of Bolhao station, one stop away, to be really overcrowded and cramped. Two other main stations - Trindade (for Metro connections) and Sao Bento (for national rail connections) - are within walking distance.

If you're looking for somewhere for around €65 per night you could do much worse than this hotel - as we found out through experience! - so on that basis I would recommend Internacional.

  • Liked — Price, central location, friendly receptionist
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wingodav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

For 66 euro/room incl. breakfast, we had a nice room, basic bathroom, good breakfast. Location is good. But... booked in febuary for out holidays in september, and the gave us a room nearby the elevator and the restaurant. This time it didn't bother us, the other guest were very quiet. I'm sure travellers who just passed, got a better situated room...

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_H_Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We would recommend anyone to visit Porto. A really interesting and very different city. Not a holiday for small children though. We stayed at the Hotel Internacional and it was very conveniently situated. We were on the third floor and yes, the staircase with its beautiful old tiling is lovely. The room was small and brown and the bed very hard with a dip in the middle. I felt the need for physiotherapy each morning! The pillows were strange square bags full of lumpy bits of some filling or other. The bathroom worked but best not looked at too closely. The first night was very noisy from the street and the main square so we used the air conditioning and closed the windows for the remaining three nights. We were very unsure of any fire escape possibilities but happily the need did not arise! We were up early each morning because of the discomfort and banging and crashing from building work nearby. The breakfast was poor, the orange juice not worthy of that name, horrid! We didn't eat in but walked down to the riverside each evening, The staff on reception were mostly grumpy.

Helpful?
2 Thank PatnPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We stayed two nights in May but did not eat in the hotel restaurant other than breakfast. The location is very convenient for all the tourist sights in Porto. First impression on arriving in front of the hotel on Rua Almada is that it is in a quite narrow dark commercial street, but once into the reception area this changed - the hotel interior has a lot of character, particularly on the stair landings. Our room on the third floor was quite adequate, though the bed was very hard by our tastes. As others have reported, walls are thin so there is possibility of being disturbed by late night arrivals. However, there was no street noise. Breakfast was pretty basic - the 'orange' juice was disgusting - and choice was limited. Take your own toiletries - only soap is provided. Best metro coming from airport is Trindade (walk downhill) and best for departing is Sao Bento (downhill). The hotel restaurant is closed on Sunday, but the receptionist recommended a place called Papagino about five minutes walk away - simple, but food good and very reasonable prices.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to avoid the big-chain anonymous places that have no character. We will remember our stay here very positively.

  • Liked — Location, hotel decor
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

we stayed at hotel internacional porto in march.great hotel,but very thin walls,so you can hear everyone else.breakfast was fantastic,but hotel staff were unhelpful and spoke little english.
macdonalds is 2 mins away,if you get peckish,would stay here again. this hotel is right in the center,and easy walking from the metro.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank angieswaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol,England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

This is a great hotel. We were there for 2 nights in Feb. Location is great, a few minutes from the main rail station, a 10 min walk down to the riverside where there is plenty of cafe-bars and restaurants. The coast was about 20 mins by bus.
We arrived at the hotel early and our room was not ready but they said it would only be a hour, and they would look after our bags we went for a coffee and on our return our room was ready . It was a nice clean room, the shower was a bit dodgy, only becoause it was really small. It was in a quiet area the only small problem was that you could hear everyone walking about in nearby rooms, but i think this is because it is a old building. Breakfast was really good. plenty of choice, all staff we met were friendly.
I would definatly stay here again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank molly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#25 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#62 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional

Property: Hotel Internacional
Address: Rua do Almada 131 | intersection of Rua do Almada and Rua da Fábrica, Porto 4050-037, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing