We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great price and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Sao Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sao Jose
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A group of us stayed here from 8-10 July in double and triple rooms. Each room was adequately equipped, clean and tidy. We were really pleased with the hotel and found reviews on the third party booking website really helpful. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it! Thanks to the friendly staff for their help prior to and during our stay. Great hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anamariebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sao Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Sao Jose was difficult to find on its one way street, and by the time we found the entrance we had passed the carpark entrance. Paying E15 per day for parking was totally worth it, but don't take a car bigger than a Mini (original) as turning space is very limited.
The room was clean and quaint, although the double bed was a little bit small. The bathroom was modern, clean and the shower worked well. Towels were replaced as required.
The inclusive breakfast was pleasant and catered for a variety of cultural tastes. Lots of bread, cheese, yoghurt and ham. Some cereals with cold milk and a variety of hot and cold drinks.
The best bits about this hotel were the reception staff. They were helpful, friendly and informative. They were competent in a variety of languages and always greeted you with a smile.
Overall, it was perfectly fine for a short city break including a great location for both the city and the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JetSetMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel was impressive in many regards. The staff were professional and friendly and spoke good English. The location was convenient to sightseeing in town and also to several local shops and cafes. The room was small and the shower was very small, with no tub. Also, had to park many blocks away.. The mini bar was great and cheap, but had minimal choices. We did have two waters and a beer for only 3.50 euros! Also the breakfast buffet was included in the inexpensive room price and was good, though choices were minimal (mostly bread, some pastry, and ham and cheese). The free wi-fi and ability to purchase quality Port wine on site was an added bonus! I bought one bottle of Port Reserve 10 anos, in a gift box for only 25 euros! I would recommend!

Room Tip: The key card turns the lights on at the door!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kawargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Arrived for one night only. paid 23 euros from airport using a taxi . The. Hotel is in a good locations close to everything you need in Porto . paid a good price ( under 40 euros) fir one night for two people with bfast in a town centre so I cannot complaint . Good bfast people very friendly. Room could do with some TLC but good tv good shower . Came back by metro ( 2 euros each) station is 5 minutes away and takes 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

To start with: Do not try to use the garage in the hotel if you have a bigger car. We had a BMW 320 and it needed one person at the front and one at the back to navigate the extremely narrow space. There was about an inch on each side. Parking however is difficult in this part of the city as the one way streets are very narrow and hardly a parking space to find.
The rooms were basic but very clean. The breakfast was quite plain, not too much to choose from. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They have free internet service in the lobby.
The area looks a bit run down but so do many streets in Porto. We felt safe because there are bars and restaurants not far from the hotel and many people walking the streets. You can reach the city center by foot and even the Port Wine cellars on the Douro river.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I am not very pleased with the booking of this hotel. Usually I am happy with booking.com but this time I was a bit puzzled by the high rating this hotel was given.
The bathroom was old and not really clean, in the bathtub there were very old anti-slippery stripes very dirty with green-grey spots of dirtyness. The soap was finished and nothing to replace it. There was no shampoo. The bathroom floor was really dirty with dark spots all over the place. The room was old stile but not so bad except for the pillows and the bed that was really hard and made me wake up several times during the night as it was also quite noisy.
The staff of the evening was also not friendly: we have asked to get the breakfast 15 minutes before the opening to be able to reach the airport on time and they said no, without any efforts nor alternative given.
The price is very good but I would not book it again!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valib22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I booked a family room for myself, my husband, our 12 year old son and Oma for one night stopover. The room was clean and tidy and faced away from the main road so quiet. The location was good, close the metro, which will take you directly to the airport, and close to shops and restaurants. We found the staff pleasant and helpful and had no problem getting a drink in the lounge in the evening. Breakfast was continental, adequate nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPaulMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#67 of 108 in Porto
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#63 of 108 in Porto
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#56 of 108 in Porto
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#70 of 108 in Porto
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#64 of 108 in Porto
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#44 of 108 in Porto
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Jose

Address: Rua da Alegria 172, Porto 4000-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sao Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sao Jose Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing